We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Budget Lodge to your Saves list
Budget Lodge
831 N. Ocean Boulevard, Pompano Beach, FL 33062   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Pompano Beach
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not too bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

This motel, I hate to say looked sketchy, but since it was my 1st time in Ft Lauderdale I took a chance. It was a good idea too. The rooms are pretty clean, the location is great (being across the street from the beach), if you have a car you are within a couple miles of some restaurants and a Walmart, the cashier at the motel/mini mart was nice and helpful, and finally it was fairly cheap. I didn't pay $100 more like $70 after taxes. Which after going to a few hotels /motels was actually not too bad of a price. All in all I still have another day and night so we'll see if I'm completely satisfied, but as of right now it's good.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    11
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
11
7
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed in March 2013 for one night and found the place to be dreary. The dark colors in the carpet (and the spread) masked our being able to judge the cleanliness. However, the bathroom door was badly in need of cleaning and/or painting. Also, there was mold along the tile in the bathroom. There are very basic items available in the room - soap and towels. No even a very small packet of kleenex or otherbasic anemities though we didn't think the price of the room was that low. The air conditioning and TV worked okay. However, there are much more cheerful places and we would not stay again. It has been grossly overrated, in our opinion.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed here for seven days over Spring Break. To hotel was really clean, right next to the beach, had an awesome grill to use, a pool, and on top of that, the staff was really helpful and friendly. We even got some great tips on stuff to do in Pompano beach. The convenience store was also a nice bonus for when you forget an item or two. Basically, this place was a fantastic deal, and I'd recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Clean? Affordable? Friendly Helpful Staff? Walking Distance to the Beach?

Yes! Yes! Yes and YESSS!!

GREAT PLACE to STAY!! We took advantage of all the amenities they had......bbq-ing options...nice big pool...good prime location....and even close enough to walk to the beach..it was perfect for us!!...We will def come back next year!! Look No More & Stay Here!

Side Note: The adjacent convenient store...came in vey handy for our family of 4!!

Room Tip: The rooms are clean, nicely appointed and quiet. And when we had any needs the staff were friendly a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budget L, Manager at Budget Lodge, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you Ann for such kind words.
Can't wait to see you again next year!
Take Care, AP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Kentucky
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

There were eight previous reviews and all were good. I don't understand it. We paid $100 for a very inadequate room. Very old. The carpet dark and dreary. Bathroom fixtures obsolete. The shower head fell off while I was showering and the water sprayed out like a bullet, almost flooding the restroom. I was able to cram it back on after getting the water stopped. The water was hard to adjust, very hot, but I finally got my shower taken and then mopped up the water with towels. Coffee in the room would have been so nice. There was no clock to glance at during the night. There were air conditioning issues, either too hot or too cold. I felt as though I did not sleep at all. The only positives I can mention are the flat screen TV and free Internet signal. It was just an old room, old fixtures, dark, dreary and felt dirty. Also, no restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budget L, Manager at Budget Lodge, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
First, thank you for choosing to stay at our motel. Let me start off by correcting some misinformation, the room you had rented was well below comparable motel rates in surrounding areas. You paid $85 plus tax when other others were charging $109 and up. As far as the carpet goes, please understand that the carpet is dark red (maroon) just as they are indicated in the pictures provided in numerous sites. Now as for the shower head, we apologize that the shower head was broken when you arrived in the room. We did not know that was the case or we would have not rented you that particular room. Soon as we read your comment we went to the room, saw it was broken, and within a half hour the shower head was replaced. If you had told us you had a problem we could have switched your room or even given you a refund, it is hard for us to know there is a problem like that when we are not told of it. It is our policy to always do our best to accommodate our guests. As far as the water being "hot"... you are welcome! The a/c has multiple options as in "energy saver " and a digital stroller which allows you to control the temperature of the room. As far as the fixtures goes, all the furniture in the rooms had been replaced in Nov. 2012. If you had asked us about any restaurants there are a couple within walking distance. (10 min walking, 2 min drive). Anyways, good luck on your trip hope you have better stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed three nights after a friend stayed here earlier. The hotel is clean, economical, convient to beach and restaurants. Very warm family run safe place to enjoy Pompano Beach. There is a BBQ available. Plenty of seating outdoors. And parking is so close. I preper to support family run businesses.

Room Tip: We liked room 18. Kitchenette and view of ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budget L, Manager at Budget Lodge, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for the kind words also. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here.
Hope to you see you again!
Thank you Allyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We are a family of four .... It was very clean! Carpets clean, rooms smelled fresh not nasty! The shower was great. Just like if we were home! The ocean was literally across the street! We will come back every year. We are very particular and this hotel was worth every single dollar and honestly I can not stress enough, how clean it was, quiet and never once did we feel unsafe. We strongly recommend to stay here. I read reviews constantly and I am very particular. Outstanding place to stay!! We also used there new stainless grill.. This allowed us to go buy some t bone steaks and burgers--great dinners we had!!

Michaud family
Syracuse ny

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budget L, Manager at Budget Lodge, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Hello Mr. and Mrs. Michaud,
Thank you for the review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Hope to see you again.
Thank you,
AP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Budget Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Lodge

Address: 831 N. Ocean Boulevard, Pompano Beach, FL 33062
Location: United States > Florida > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This cozy motel is located in the heart of Pompano Beach, just steps away from its white-sand coastline. Here you can bask in the warm sunshine on the patio or while relaxing in swimming pool. Enjoy the free Wi-Fi located throughout the property and in each of the oversized bedrooms or efficiencies which also have a microwave, refrigerator, 32" flat screen TV, Satellite TV with over 200 + channels (including HBO). Guest at the Budget Lodge can enjoy the added convenience of the on-site Foodmart. For more exciting adventures, go stand up paddle boarding, jet skiing, parasailing, or windsurfing. This gem is located just minutes away from Isle Casino Racing Pompano Park, Muvico Theaters, and the Pompano Municipal Golf Course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Budget Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.