We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inconsistent” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Zona Fresca

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Zona Fresca
800 N. Federal Highway, Pompano Beach, FL
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #77 of 313 Restaurants in Pompano Beach
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Inconsistent”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Several visits. Service was inconsistent (friendly to not so much). Food was inconsistent - texture of guacamole ranged from flawless to runny. On more than one occasion food was cold or room temp when served. Won't try again.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    11
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LHP
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Clean establishment, user friendly menu, professional staff, delicious food!!! What more can you ask for...oh yeah...reasonably priced...best chips & salsa!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Shiny & new”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I've been enjoying the other Zona Fresca in Ft. Lauderdale for years and I was happy to discover they had opened this location which is actually closer to where I live. It's brand new, very spacious, everything is clean as a whistle and the food is *almost* as good as the FTL location. However; this location is a totally different vibe and it lacks a bit of the soul, charm and good people watching that has kept me coming back to the FTL location all these years. I'll probably still stop by here once in awhile if I happen to be driving by and hungry but I have to say that I'm really more drawn to the FTL restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Totally Fresh & Fast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

The staff is always nice and the restaurant is very clean. The food is always good. I love the taco salad with shrimp and the shrimp burrito with the slaw. Prices are reasonable.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pompano beach florida
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“I had to catch my breath.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Build it - and they will come. Lucky for us in the 'hood, the owners of a truly run down strip mall purged the old and built a'new . . . and guess who came? Zona Fresca. Okay, its not world class but it has - for us grown-ups and recent college grads been a wonderful addition.

I, after 4 bites of the fish taco had to stop and catch my breath. No kidding. it's just the freshest - prepared by folks in an open kitchen. Snappy service at the counter and no mystery at the time of delivery. Two Buck domestic cervesa and $3.50 for south of the border items.

I additionally ordered a bean burrito with add-on beef. Meals for two days. A chicken enhanced large salad that required a half an hour to consume. Can't wait to see what it will be next visit.

Strong men - such as I, can walk there.

TIP: Wear an old tee-shirt.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zona Fresca also viewed

Pompano Beach, FL
Pompano Beach, FL
 

Been to Zona Fresca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zona Fresca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.