We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best seafood restaurant, going back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fish Shack

Fish Shack
2862 NE 17th Ave, Pompano Beach, FL 33064
(954) 586-4105
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 301 restaurants in Pompano Beach
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best seafood restaurant, going back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Was down in Pompano beach several weeks ago. Ate at the fish shack three times. Its the best little seafood restaurant ever. The fish is very fresh and cooked to perfection. The owners are nice and friendly. Am going to be down in Pompano beach in December, we plan on eating there daily. Don't miss out on this great little seafood restaurant. Tim Hoholik..

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    178
    58
    8
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesnowta
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great lunch with no refinement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I do not know how we found it, we spotted it as we pulled in to turn around. It's not much to look at, but we gulped and gave it a try based on trip advisor recommendations. It did not disappoint. We shared a diner and a sandwich, which sufficed nicely for a great lunch. The grilled swordfish steak was nicely grilled and seasoned. The grilled mahi sandwich was delicious. The side salad was basic, but good. We were glad we happened there at lunch, to me it's strictly a guy place for dinner. I would not bring my mother to this place, but the prices were reasonable, the fish was excellent and the place is sort of unique. If you regularly eat out for lunch, and you are not dressed up, it's your meal ticket. Please note that he restaurant does not have outdoor seating, reservations, a view or anything fancy. That's its "charm".

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing, just go ....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is difficult to find and the place only seats like 20 people, but it is AMAZING. The Mahi Mahi was fresh and perfectly grilled. The conch fritters were to die for. Scallops were tender and sweet. Only con is they could use another waitress during busy times.

Prices are reasonable, make sure to try the conch fritters they are better than found in the Keys.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good... but top ranked? No Way..Sorry”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

The place has 4 tables and no bathroom.. yeah the fish is fresh,, so what? It's supposed to be fresh. You really need more than a couple of card tables and a deep fryer to be a restaurant. Is embarrassing that this is one of the higher rated restaurants in pompano.. It's not.. I promise. If it were as good as it's rankings they'd find a bigger location. If there's no wait and you're close drop in for a sandwich.. otherwise, it's not a real restaurant..

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkland, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome fresh food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I arrived to a small place that quite honestly I would never walk into but did as I had heard it was great. Well inside was small and cozy but very tastefully done. We waited for a seat at the small bar as there are only 5 or 6 small tables but the wait was well worth it! We also had a glass of wine while we waited so the wait went or seemed quick. After our seats became available we sat, The food arrived in normal time, hot and amazingly fresh and cooked to perfection. This was one of my favorite meals in a long time. We both thoroughly enjoyed the restaurant and definitely will be back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish Shack also viewed

 

Been to Fish Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fish Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.