We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish fresh off the hook, cooked simply and nice.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fish Shack

Fish Shack
2862 NE 17th Ave, Pompano Beach, FL 33064
(954) 586-4105
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 310 Restaurants in Pompano Beach
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
NEWARK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Fish fresh off the hook, cooked simply and nice.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We found this hidden strip mall with google maps, which actually listed it as an icon, so finding it was no problem. You would never just be driving by and find it, it's a block off the main drag hidden in a run-down strip mall. Read reviews on tripadvisor so we just had to check it out. It's about the size of most people's living rooms, seriously. Staff is friendly and super chatty with the regulars. Decor is silly fish stuff along with many photos of folks who I assume are staff and regular guests. We ordered a fried combo plate, wild caught red trout dinner (one of the specials), and a fried cod fish n' chips platter. Sides included a good and creamy cole slaw, crispy fries (which I liked, don't know why someone panned them before), and a simple yellow rice with the trout. The cod filets were thick and tempura batter fried, while the shrimp and clams had a pepper flavored breading. Tartar sauce was good, didn't see cocktail sauce offered. Everything tasted good. The trout was grilled to be flaky and moist, with a simple salt/pepper seasoning and some fresh lemon. We ordered some beer (Bud or Bud Lite only!) and some ice teas. Dinners cost between $10 and $14 each, which was a deal for the quality and portion size. We waited about 25 min. for our order to arrive (ate at 5pm on a weekday) because so many take out orders were being processed. (one customer hauled off 8 full dinner cartons in one order) We also did some take out Old Bay seasoned steamed shrimp a few nights later and it was cooked to perfection, although a little skimpy on the Old Bay. Next time I'd ask for extra Old Bay and I'm sure they comply. Overall worth the trip. Don't let the exterior discourage you, go for the food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    72
    10
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“The best seafood around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Found this place only due to TripAdvisor's comments. Small hole in the wall off the beaten path but what a great find. Excellent prices on food and drinks. Only seats about 20 people so go during off hours or you will be waiting. Great staff, great food. Their bathroom is in the kitchen!! But food is off the hook!! Literally.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Don't Move - Don't Change a Thing - Pure Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Since my first visit in August 2012, I have been back again and have never been disappointed. This week I have had lunch there twice and I'm still in a prolonged period of culinary after glow. The Chowder is great and the simply grilled or lightly blackened fresh fish couldn't be better. The Mahi is so fresh I swear it was swimming earlier in the day. Had Cobia today and it was a treat. Again, it could not have been fresher unless landed on the deck of your boat. Some diners are turned off by the run down neighborhood, but for me it's a part of the charm and certainly doesn't hurt in terms of keeping prices down. Go and enjoy. Tourists please consider one of the other 100 places in Broward County that claim to be fresh seafood places yet serve frozen Alaskan snow crab or worse. All fans of the 3 D guy of TV fame, head elsewhere....

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont, SC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great food, very casual”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Just like the reviews said, this place is a hole in the wall, if you can find it. The food was delicious. I had the blackend grouper sandwich. Fish was fresh and cooked to perfection. Others at the table had blackened tuna steak, grilled platter, and fried platter. All of which everyone enjoyed, especially the grilled shrimp and scallops (on the platter). Key Lime Pie for dessert - yummy. We will go again!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent fish!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The looks of this place are deceiving. The fish is excellent. I had the combo platter with grilled mahi mahi, shrimp and scallops. The seafood was outstanding...the cook used a bit too much pepper for my taste. My boyfriend had the yellow fin tuna which was one of the specials and also excellent. We both had the coleslaw as a side. This place has a lot of charm, but is very small (seats 21). Expect to wait. Worth it though.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish Shack also viewed

 

Been to Fish Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fish Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.