We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not to die for” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe La Buca

Cafe La Buca
451 South Cypress Road, Pompano Beach, FL
(954) 786-0673
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 301 restaurants in Pompano Beach
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: "This is a tiny authentic Naples-style italian restaurant with no menu but amazing food. You are asked what you'd like: pasta, meat, or fish. Then they tell you what they have available that night. Reservations are highly recommended. This packs up even in non season. (They close in September to return to visit family in Naples, Italy). Everything you eat there is wonderful! Helped along by the wood oven, homemade pastas, and family loving care to each dish".
richmond virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good but not to die for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This was our second time at Cafe La Buca, so luckily we knew the drill and what to expect. We were last there two years ago and due to a communication issue ordered ALL of the appetizers, which worked out to our advantage, as they still seem to be their best offering. For this go around, we ordered the stuffed squash, stuffed eggplant, and the eggplant with mozzarella and balsamic reduction. All were good, but not quite as good as our first visit. We also ordered a pizza which was very good. Nevertheless, $80.00 for 3 appetizers and a pizza is a tad bit expensive if the food is not to die for in my opinion. On the plus side, since they have landed on Tripadvisor's radar, they have expanded and the waitress now speaks perfect English. We will definitely return, especially since we know what to order and not to let them suggest, which amounts to bringing everything to Jack up the bill.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    29
    6
    7
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good, but costs almost as much as a trip to Naples!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I have to agree with the others who wrote reviews about good food, but just too pricey. Read the reviews before you go...we tried to go to the seafood restaurant across the street (I read those reviews), but it was closed. Family suggested Cafe La Buca since we were there. I'm betting she never paid the bill here. As others have written, it is a little hole in the wall in a strip mall. Who cares if the food is good...and reasonable (one out of two here) The appetizers were much better than pasta main course. We were asked if we wanted meat sauce or not...asked for meat, didn't get it. Even though, it was pretty good with huge fresh mozzarella. Would not order it again though We stopped there with lots left over which we took home. Had 4 small cannellonis, very good. I decided to write this new place up, so asked my husband about the bill...writing is my job, paying is his:) I was shocked when he said it was over $25 each, without drinks. We bought our wine at Publix in the center...no corkage fee...good. I just can't in good conscience give a better review...sounds like we actually came out ahead compared to some of the other reviews. Just goes to show, you can't always just "trust" a restaurant without a menu or prices:(

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“High end food and people...in shorts and sandals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Unique place, for sure. Unexpected location in a part of town I normally avoid in a strip shopping mall I wouldn't even notice. The tables and chairs are reminiscent of a bowling alley, but dont let that fool you! Excellent food cooked by he owner and his mother in the kitchen. The gregarious owner will be in the dining room talking with everyone and making you feel truly welcome. 10 tables, bring your own wine, no corkage fee! No menu, or prices either. Everything is home made and exceptional. We had just spent a week in Italy, and this food was just as good. Highly recommend. Expect to spend 50-60 a person.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Italy in Florida”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The most authentic italian meal in Florida. Everything is very fresh and you must share everything. The pesto is to die for, you can smell the wood oven when you are eating the pizza. the pastas are made fresh. We just love to go and have the real thing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Family style Italian. Overpriced. No menu. Be careful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This very small, very friendly Italian restaurant serves family style Italian food. Large platters of whatever they have prepared that day. Appetizers, Pasta, Entrees, deserts are all shared. In general the food was very good. Fresh, well prepared, not too oily. Biggest problem is there is no menu, and no prices. They charge whatever they want, and you have no idea what it's going to be until the end. The end results: $70 per person, for 4 course meal. BYOB. Charge for "pouring".

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe La Buca also viewed

 

Been to Cafe La Buca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe La Buca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.