We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High end food and people...in shorts and sandals” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe La Buca

Cafe La Buca
451 South Cypress Road, Pompano Beach, FL
(954) 786-0673
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 310 Restaurants in Pompano Beach
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: "This is a tiny authentic Naples-style italian restaurant with no menu but amazing food. You are asked what you'd like: pasta, meat, or fish. Then they tell you what they have available that night. Reservations are highly recommended. This packs up even in non season. (They close in September to return to visit family in Naples, Italy). Everything you eat there is wonderful! Helped along by the wood oven, homemade pastas, and family loving care to each dish".
Miami, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“High end food and people...in shorts and sandals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Unique place, for sure. Unexpected location in a part of town I normally avoid in a strip shopping mall I wouldn't even notice. The tables and chairs are reminiscent of a bowling alley, but dont let that fool you! Excellent food cooked by he owner and his mother in the kitchen. The gregarious owner will be in the dining room talking with everyone and making you feel truly welcome. 10 tables, bring your own wine, no corkage fee! No menu, or prices either. Everything is home made and exceptional. We had just spent a week in Italy, and this food was just as good. Highly recommend. Expect to spend 50-60 a person.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    8
    7
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Italy in Florida”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The most authentic italian meal in Florida. Everything is very fresh and you must share everything. The pesto is to die for, you can smell the wood oven when you are eating the pizza. the pastas are made fresh. We just love to go and have the real thing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Family style Italian. Overpriced. No menu. Be careful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This very small, very friendly Italian restaurant serves family style Italian food. Large platters of whatever they have prepared that day. Appetizers, Pasta, Entrees, deserts are all shared. In general the food was very good. Fresh, well prepared, not too oily. Biggest problem is there is no menu, and no prices. They charge whatever they want, and you have no idea what it's going to be until the end. The end results: $70 per person, for 4 course meal. BYOB. Charge for "pouring".

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best southern Italian food in South Florida! Hidden Gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

If you have ever been to the south of Italy, you will appreciate this restaurant! If you have ever been invited to eat at a souther italian family home, this place will remind you of that.This is a family own business who have recently move to the States. I enjoy every single bite: tasteful, magestic, delicious! It is in hidden location. There is no menu, only what they prepare for the day but with different options. You are kind of blind in regards to pricing, but it is worth every penny. Probably an average of $40 per person which is not a bad for excellent food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua WI
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Walk with extra cash and dine tapas style at this place. Don't go beyond the starters!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The food was good at this restaurant, but their strength is in their starters - there is a wide variety of starter size dishes that actually i would be happy with sticking to rather than ordering any of the mains. I had a pasta with mushrooms and truffle oil as a a main that was average. The desert, dont waste your time. The two desserts we had were simply not good.
So, back to the starters, the server recommended two starters for us rather than tell us what was available. She brought brussel sprouts with pancetta that was good, but my friends i was dining with hates brussel sprouts. I was in heaven but she was not impressed. Then i saw starters coming out that she had not offered us like stuffed eggplant, so we kept adding things which is why we ended up paying 80 dollars each for our dinner. Remember this place is byob and is a very modest atmosphere, so that was expensive. Also the server kept forgetting to bring our bottle of prosecco from the freezer, she was the only one on the floor to a full house. Basically, i enjoyed this restaurant but their prices is way way too high for what they offer. That said, the place is always full so clearly people are willing to pay what they are asking. I wouldn't take kids here, its just too expensive. My advice, stick to the starters and dine tapas style at this place. Forget about the desserts!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe La Buca also viewed

 

Been to Cafe La Buca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe La Buca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.