We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very caring proprietors!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Horse Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Sea Horse Motel to your Saves list
Sea Horse Motel
901 N. Ocean Blvd., Pompano Beach, FL   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Pompano Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ann Arbor
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very caring proprietors!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed at this motel based on trip advisor reviews. They are very accurate in depicting the motel as retro-cool, updated and clean. There is a nice little pool and garden area, convenient parking. Short walk to a beautiful beach.

The personal touch provided by Darren and Phillip is something you cannot get while staying at a chain. They knew who I was when I called, checked in etc. They gave advice about amenities in the area. The topper was when my son lost a very expensive personal item. We called the motel from the airport to let them know to keep an eye out. Phillip called us later to let us know it had been found, went to the post office that day and mailed it 2 day air at his expense trusting us to reimburse him. THAT is customer service. THANKS!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    5
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
27
14
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fenwick Island, Delaware
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We just checked out. I wanted to like it. I was in pompano beach for spring break in college in the the 70s I swear these rooms are from that era. They haven't been decorated in many years. There is so much they could do here and need to. I like ice for the rooms, comfortable beds and linens a plug to use in the bath room, shampoo if I arrive late. I do need the room to be inviting. This hotel has non of these things. Yes the pool is nice. The owners are nice, but I want to feel like I am in a hotel.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeahorsePompano, Owner at Sea Horse Motel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at our motel Leisuresusie.
In reference to “These rooms” and “They haven’t”, it bears noting that you stayed in only one room (room 6) and therefore are not qualified to comment on ALL of our rooms. That said, ALL of our rooms have been updated within the past year & are decorated differently, as anyone can see via our website, Facebook & Booking.com.

Concerning “ice for the rooms”, there is a full sized fridge/freezer in room 6 and had you bothered looking in the freezer, you’d have found ice trays full of ices. Even our non-efficiencies have mini-fridge/freezers with ice.

Had you asked for shampoo instead of free vodka, we would have gladly provided it as we keep shampoo and coffee on hand.

We’re sorry you can’t appreciate the eclectic décor of our motel but our intent is to set ourselves apart from the sterile, modern, uninviting chain hotels to which you’re accustomed. Clearly if you need to feel you’re at a hotel rather than a motel, you need to adjust your travel plans accordingly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Cute rooms, small but clean pool, a block from a wonderful unpopulated beach, free wifi, reasonable prices, considerate and available hosts - what more could anyone want? The rooms are super clean. Kitchenette (with toaster) is welcome any time I travel. Daryl keeps asking me if I need anything! If I could rate this place 6 stars I would. So relaxing. Must come here if you are in the area. Adorable. Adequate parking. Close to whatever you want to do.

Room Tip: We were in room #5 which has a double bed, a nice kitchenette, plenty of room, good shower. All goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

To me the only way to experience Florida is by staying at a small motel near the beach. The Sea Horse fit that bill perfectly and then some! My room was more comfortable than any five star hotel and was impeccably clean. The pool was immaculate and surrounded by beautiful landscaping. Darren and Phillip have done an amazing job on the motel and they are most hospitable! I can't wait to get back and stay for a much longer period.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Windsor, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I stayed there last year in March with my husband. and parents. It was the best most charming place in Fla... The owners are so friendly, kind, make you feel like you arepart of their family,and make sure you have everything you need. I can't wait to get back there for another vacation. The property is keep clean, the rooms are awesome. Do to numberous family illnesses we are unable to vacation this year, but next year for sure.. I think there is no place better.. Its a resort of its own. I felt like I didn't have to go anywhere for anything. We can cook, BBQ right there. I really cant express how happy we were to be there.. You guys are the best..

Room Tip: Anywhere at he Sea Horse is quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayslake, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed our week stay at Sea Horse Motel. It was clean, reasonably priced, close to the beach, had a nice heated pool and very accommodating Hosts. The owners made us feel very welcome. They asked us often if we needed anything and they supplied beach towels and chairs if we wanted to take to the beach. You do need to bring your own hair dryer. Our room was the smallest one they have (busy season, book ahead!) but still had a small fridge, microwave and coffee maker. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L'Ange-Gardien, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We came across this quaint motel last year and before we left, made reservations for January / February 2014. The place was clean and the owners were very accommodating and responsive to our needs and requirements and made us feel important and welcome.

Our room included a kitchenette, and had everything we needed to store food and make our own meals. We also had access to a laundry room where we could wash and dry our belongings.

The fence surrounding the heated pool and tropical plants, transported us into a hidden oasis. A short walk across the street, put us on the beach.

Within walking distance we could visit the peer and see people fishing, or walk to one of the great tiki bars in the area, for excellent food and drink, or visit a nearby park to watch the boats coming and going.

Within a short driving distance, we found a wide selection of banks, stores, and restaurants.

For those more adventurous people, access of deep sea fishing boats was close by.

I recommend this motel to anyone looking for a quiet and affordable place to stay to enjoy the sun.

I tip my hat to the owners.

Room Tip: Review the descriptions on the Sea Horse Motel web site.
See more room tips
Green Features: Much attention given to plant life on the grounds.
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Horse Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Horse Motel

Address: 901 N. Ocean Blvd., Pompano Beach, FL
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coin Laundry on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sea Horse Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Horse Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.