We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific small resort motel 1 block to beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Horse Motel

Save Saved
You added Sea Horse Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea Horse Motel
901 N. Ocean Blvd., Pompano Beach, FL   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 35 hotels in Pompano Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Grayslake, Illinois
1 review
“Terrific small resort motel 1 block to beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed our week stay at Sea Horse Motel. It was clean, reasonably priced, close to the beach, had a nice heated pool and very accommodating Hosts. The owners made us feel very welcome. They asked us often if we needed anything and they supplied beach towels and chairs if we wanted to take to the beach. You do need to bring your own hair dryer. Our room was the smallest one they have (busy season, book ahead!) but still had a small fridge, microwave and coffee maker. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    5
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
16
27
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
L'Ange-Gardien, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We came across this quaint motel last year and before we left, made reservations for January / February 2014. The place was clean and the owners were very accommodating and responsive to our needs and requirements and made us feel important and welcome.

Our room included a kitchenette, and had everything we needed to store food and make our own meals. We also had access to a laundry room where we could wash and dry our belongings.

The fence surrounding the heated pool and tropical plants, transported us into a hidden oasis. A short walk across the street, put us on the beach.

Within walking distance we could visit the peer and see people fishing, or walk to one of the great tiki bars in the area, for excellent food and drink, or visit a nearby park to watch the boats coming and going.

Within a short driving distance, we found a wide selection of banks, stores, and restaurants.

For those more adventurous people, access of deep sea fishing boats was close by.

I recommend this motel to anyone looking for a quiet and affordable place to stay to enjoy the sun.

I tip my hat to the owners.

Room Tip: Review the descriptions on the Sea Horse Motel web site.
See more room tips
Green Features: Much attention given to plant life on the grounds.
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling, West Virginia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

My wife and I stayed here on two different nights while on a trip to Key West. This place was a flashback to our times in Florida during the 80's. What a refreshing change from the big impersonable chain hotels. The 9 rooms are of different configuration which should fit most people in choices. Our first night we stayed in a regular size room with bath and the king size bed was the best, most comfortable! After being so welcomed by the owners Darren & Phillip we decided to come back later in the week. Darren gave us a suite room with full kitchen, bath, bedroom and lounge. We felt so at home! The beach is right across the street and stores and restaurants are a short drive away. The pool is right outside the room with plenty of chairs & nice music. We will definetly come back to the Sea Horse as I hope it remains the best kept secret in Pompano Beach! Thanks guys!

Room Tip: 9 rooms with differnet configurations, ask about your choices when making reservations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

This hotel is a refreshing departure from chain hotels. It is intimate, with only 9 rooms, and affords personalized service. There is no daily housekeeping service but clean towels are available, and it is a bring your own hair dryer arrangement. The owners live on premise and are helpful and friendly, the rooms are immaculate. We had a kitchen that was well equipped for making breakfast, and dinner if desired. We were across the street from a public beach access but the hotel has a sparkling pool with lounges for relaxing for those who don't like to lounge in the sand. Rooms offer good wi fi and tv, but still somehow seem reminiscent of a simpler lifestyle. I would return without hesitation.

Room Tip: Rooms vary in size, and some have kitchens, some do not. There is even a pet friendly room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

What a delight it was staying here -- the owners could not have been more accomodating or gracious! The Sea Horse is in an amazing location; convenient and extremely easy to find. Great area to go for walks -- the beach is across the street!! Very clean, cool and comfortable

Room Tip: Room 9 was great because it seemed more private and had a street-side entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Seahorse Motel while she was playing in a softball tournament in Davie and interviewing at FAU. It was a great place in between both locations and easily accessible. But the best part was that it was at the beach! Additionally, Darren and Phillip (the owners) were great. They made sure that we had everything that we needed and made us feel like we were at home. The place is older, built in the 50s but they have done a remarkable job making it a nice quiet oasis. I would much rather stay here than one of the large impersonal chain hotels. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Pompano!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I stayed at the Sea Horse Motel for a little over 2 weeks while looking for a place to live in Pompano Beach. It is truely home away from home. Everything you need is right there. There are 9 rooms to choose from everyone is decorated beautifully. The pool area is just a little piece of paradise. The owners Darren and Phillip are two of the nicest guys you will ever meet.I highly reccommend the Sea Horse Motel if you are staying in the Pompano beach area. Thanks again Darren and Phillip for a wonderful Stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sea Horse Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Horse Motel

Address: 901 N. Ocean Blvd., Pompano Beach, FL
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 hotels in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coin Laundry on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sea Horse Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Horse Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.