We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay and wonderful owners!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Horse Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sea Horse Motel to your Saves list
Sea Horse Motel
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   901 N. Ocean Blvd., Pompano Beach, FL   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Pompano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing stay and wonderful owners!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We, and another couple, stayed at the Sea Horse Motel from October 28 to November 1st 2012, after returning from a transatlantic cruise. We chose this motel based purely on TA reviews and from my first contact with Phillip, one of the owners, to check on rates and availability, I knew it was the right choice because by the time I got off the phone with Phillip I felt more like I was going to visit friends than just checking into a motel.
We arrived early on Sunday, Oct. 28th and were checked in by Darren, Phillip's partner. We were immediately impressed with both his friendliness and the motel grounds.. The love and care that Darren and Phillip had put into decorating the rooms and the grounds was obvious. Our rooms were spotless and charming, each with its own unique style, a king size bed and a fully stocked kitchenette. The pool was right outside our door. It was crystal clear and clean and surrounded by comfy lounge chairs and beautiful tropical plants. There was also a BBQ on the other side of the pool that we used to cook steaks and burgers at night. We spent many hours sitting out there socializing with our friends and others who were staying at the motel. Best yet, their was a beautiful white sandy beach only about 50 yards away!

Shortly after we had arrived we received a call from from another couple we had been traveling with advising us that because of Hurricane Sandy their flight to NY had been canceled and that they were stuck at the airport. After a quick conversation with Darren and Phillip they were able to make arrangements for our other friends to join us and stay until they could reschedule, which wasn't until the following Thursday. Now, this is what makes Darrin, Phillip and the Sea Horse Motel so special to us: Monday, the 29th we received a call from our daughter in NY advising us that we had lost our home and all our possessions to Sandy. Needless to say we were devastated but what was so amazing and comforting was Darrin and Phillips response. They offered us free and unlimited access to their computers, phones and whatever else we would need. They advised that they would make arrangements so that we could all also stay as long as needed. Their kindness and support was endless. By the time we were finally were able to fly home we felt like we were leaving old friends. We all hugged and promised to return sometime this year. This is a great place to stay. No, it's not a 5* hotel with all the pomp and frills but it is spotless and is the most warm and comfortable place we have ever stayed and we have stayed in many hotels over the past 25 yrs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    8
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
27
41
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Have discovered the place to stay in Pompano! Already planning to go back. It was just what we were looking for. The rooms were clean and charming. The owners were lovely and welcoming. The pool and yard were relaxing and wonderful to sit around and enjoy the weather. The ocean was mere steps away. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kongens Lyngby, Denmark
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I was here in Nov./Dec. and now I am here Again staying for 12 weeks. All the rooms - some with kitchen - are so clean that you can eat on the floor. The rooms are surronded by a Little wonderfull tropic garden with a pool in the middle. The two owners, Darren and Phil, take care of you as a Family. They are two amazing persons and they will do anything to make your stay comfortable. If you need the Beach, you just has to cross a Little road. So if you don't want to stay at a big onpersonnal hotel, Sea Horse Resort Motel is the place. You won't regreat it, and I can recomment it with all my Heart.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

It is a quaint, lovely place to stay. Darren and Phil are great hoteliers who make their guests feel welcome and at home. The Seahorse was built in the early 60's and is beyond charming. It is one of few remaining "Mom & Pop" places to stay. The rates are reasonable and the coffee maker is always used by us. For me, the only downside is the mattress' do need updating. I just booked our 4th stay with them. They are close to Dandee Donuts (the best donut shop) and Nelson's Diner is worth passing another diner. I am from Pompano Beach and am grateful Darren and Phil have maintained the sleepy seaside feel Pompano was once known for. When we come to town we won't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: I love the corner room because it is so roomy. It has a kitchenette and is nicely decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Over the past 3 years I have visited South Florida about 8 times for holiday. I started with stays in South Beach, I can say that I've done that and found it expensive, crowded, a bit crazy and a bit dirty. I wanted to find a less expensive and less "hustle" South Florida experience and what I found was Pompano Beach and The Sea Horse Motel. Since September of 2012 this is my 3rd visit and has everything I could ask for in a South Florida visit. Flying into Fort Lauderdale and renting a car is an easy off season expense and The Sea Horse Motel rates are a true value making a week here oh so affordable. The Motel is one of the cleanest places I have stayed, the rooms are older... 50's beach style but the care these guys put into this place is special. They have full kitchens, each time I come here the kitchens look as if they were just renovated, they are that well cared for. Right outside my door is a relaxing pool / patio area surrounded by lush tropical plants and landscaping with relaxing low music surrounding the pool. I walk across A1A (very light / slow traffic) and past a condo and I'm on a great clean beach on the ocean, if you love relaxing on the beach as I do, you wont find much better. With your car you have lots to see close by, shopping, great half day trips to air boats on the everglades, Lauderdale Water Taxi and even a trip to see South Beach if you want. Pompano is great and The Sea Horse Motel is a perfect place for a clean, well maintained relaxing stay. Thanks again Guys... A+++

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

What a jem! We loved our stay at the Seahorse~Philip and Darren (owners) were so gracious, friendly and warm. The location could not have been more convenient, the beach across the street-such easy access! And thank you for the use of the beach chairs and umbrella! Our room was awesome, we tend to be home-bodies, so being able to make our own meals and snacks was fantastic! And they have a gas grill which made our Sunday dinner AWESOME! If you do like to eat out, you are just a few blocks away from some great restaurants. We definitle left feeling calm and relaxed-just what we needed. We will definitley be coming back and will highly recommend this jem to our friends and family. Thank you for everything...see you again soon!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The Seahorse Motel is owned and operated by Darren and Phillip, two of the greatest guys in the world. They go above and beyond to make sure you have everything you need to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. My husband and I stayed in Room 9 with our 20 pound dog. Room 9 is their only dog friendly room and has a small kitchen equipped with everything you need. There are 9 rooms in the motel and each room is unique and beautifully decorated. We felt right at home. The motel also has a laundry room which is so convenient. The property is emaculate and so well taken care of. You could eat off the floors they are so clean!! Thank you Darren and Phillip for being so kind to us. We have new friends in Pompano Beach!! David, Lisa and Watson

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pompano Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort in Pompano Beach, Florida
0.2 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 mi away
Royal Flamingo Villas
Royal Flamingo Villas
#2 of 36 in Pompano Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
#6 of 36 in Pompano Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 981 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront
1.2 mi away
Budget Inn Ocean Resort
Budget Inn Ocean Resort
#13 of 36 in Pompano Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Horse Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Horse Motel

Address: 901 N. Ocean Blvd., Pompano Beach, FL
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea Horse Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coin Laundry on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Sea Horse Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Horse Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.