We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A DIAMOND IN THE ROUGH” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Horse Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sea Horse Motel to your Saves list
Sea Horse Motel
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   901 N. Ocean Blvd., Pompano Beach, FL   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Pompano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Manchester Township, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A DIAMOND IN THE ROUGH”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

JIM & MARIE new jersey 3/9/13
Best find on east coast. Very cozy - only nine units - each with a little different theme.This place
is owned and run by two of the greatest guys you will ever meet. Darren & Phil run the whole
show - from booking to cleaning and landscaping.My wife is an EXTREMELY clean freak - she
drives me crazy - but even she could not say enough about the cleanliness of this motel.It is a
older motel but very well kept. It has a heated pool and is about a thousand feet from the beach.
We had an efficiency unit which has a microwave - refrigerator and stove - unit had plenty of closet space. Sorry but NO BREAKFEST - But guys recommended COSMO'S diner and a great
donut place called DANDEES DONUTS - both places are located on ATLANTIC ave. about a
mile and a half from motel and are located almost beside each other. You MUST try the DONUTS
they are great. If you plan on a jan. feb. or march vacation for next year you better apply as soon
as possible - we got lucky and were a to get our stay booked because of a last minute cancel.
ONCE AGAIN YOU WILL LOVE THIS PLACE.

Room Tip: Just book early - rooms go fast
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    8
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
27
41
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shawnee, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Just got home from the Sea Horse, and we're ready to go back! The rooms are very clean, and are the best value in the area! The pool area is just a few feet from each room, and the beach is directly across the street. It sure beats dealing with the hassles of a high rise hotel! The owners do everything they can to make sure your stay is enjoyable, and they allow you to keep to yourself, they aren't intrusive or paranoid like some other motels i've stayed at. The hotel is very quiet and peaceful, but its only a short cab ride from wild Fort Lauderdale, if that's what you're into. We didn't have a single complaint from the whole stay! Highly Recommend.

Room Tip: Room 6 is the biggest. Not very many restaurants within close walking distance, so if you don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleview, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We would reccomend. I made last minute phone reservations. As luck would have it- we got the last room! A little more than we needed with a kitchenette- but it met our needs. An old Fla building but had some renovations and was very clean! Thanks to Jarron and Paul.

Room Tip: Room #9 is a pet friendly kitchenet- but outside the fenced pool area. Clean. Needs a padded mattres...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
122 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Secluded swimming pool not more than 15 feet from your room's door, surrounded by high privacy fence and plants. Several rooms with kitchenettes. May use the grill near the pool. Very clean. Only negatives are: although comfortable, bed mattresses need updating;  no hair dryers in rooms; no shampoo provided & relatively small towels.  We will come back ... with our own hair dryer & shampoo. :-)

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I stayed at the Seahorse motel in pompano beach this wknd! What a wonderful clean and quiet motel in a safe neighborhood! Beautiful courtyard and heated pool! I found the owners to be very involved and will bend over backwards to make sure your visit is beyond your expectations! I will definitely stay there again and again! And extremely close to the beach! Only pool courtyard that gets sun all day long! Check it out for yourself's! You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This is the most charming little santuary! We stumbled upon it two years ago, and although we like to try new things each year, we came back. The owners provide the perfect balance of being engaging, yet respectful of your down time if that's what you're there for. The rooms are clean, quaintly decorated, and have many of the comforts of home. Instead of the crowds of a large scale hotel, it's refreshing to mingle with just a few other guests. The location to the beach is fabulous, and many other things are within walking distance. The owners are truly dedicated to their guests and business and seem to always be updating and maintaining their investment. This is truly a hidden little gem!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I grew up going to Florida every spring to visit my grandma, who lived a few miles down the A1A, and am all too familiar with the usual Florida fare - the daunting condominium high-rises that litter the beach and the small, run-down motels where the stale smoked air chokes your lungs.

My grandma is now in her 90's, and my husband and I went to care for her for week determined to find a place in Pompano that we could actually enjoy -

The Sea Horse Motel fit the bill perfectly. Our room was a suite so clean we could have eaten off the floor. A few other reviewers have used the word "charming" - and I'll use it as well. It's charming. If you're a building geek, you'll recognize all the architectural details from that delightful period in the 30's and 40's where folks loved colored bathroom tile (we live in San Francisco; it's all over the place here) - and Philip and Darren have appointed the apartments beautifully.

It's just enough Florida kitsch to feel fun and welcoming - and the property outside is immaculate, with a pool and plenty of room to lie in the sun.

Moreover, the ocean is right across the street - and speaking as one who's stayed inland and spent her weight in quarters paying for meters at the public beach parking lots, this was infinitely more preferable.

Last, but certainly not least, the hosts are incredibly warm and welcoming. The time and care - the true pride in ownership - that they take for the place is abundantly clear, and that alone is worth the price of admission.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pompano Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort in Pompano Beach, Florida
0.2 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 mi away
Royal Flamingo Villas
Royal Flamingo Villas
#2 of 36 in Pompano Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
#6 of 36 in Pompano Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 981 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront
1.2 mi away
Budget Inn Ocean Resort
Budget Inn Ocean Resort
#13 of 36 in Pompano Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Horse Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Horse Motel

Address: 901 N. Ocean Blvd., Pompano Beach, FL
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea Horse Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coin Laundry on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Sea Horse Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Horse Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.