We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect balance of solitude and hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Horse Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Sea Horse Motel to your Saves list
Sea Horse Motel
901 N. Ocean Blvd., Pompano Beach, FL   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Pompano Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect balance of solitude and hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This is the most charming little santuary! We stumbled upon it two years ago, and although we like to try new things each year, we came back. The owners provide the perfect balance of being engaging, yet respectful of your down time if that's what you're there for. The rooms are clean, quaintly decorated, and have many of the comforts of home. Instead of the crowds of a large scale hotel, it's refreshing to mingle with just a few other guests. The location to the beach is fabulous, and many other things are within walking distance. The owners are truly dedicated to their guests and business and seem to always be updating and maintaining their investment. This is truly a hidden little gem!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    5
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
27
14
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I grew up going to Florida every spring to visit my grandma, who lived a few miles down the A1A, and am all too familiar with the usual Florida fare - the daunting condominium high-rises that litter the beach and the small, run-down motels where the stale smoked air chokes your lungs.

My grandma is now in her 90's, and my husband and I went to care for her for week determined to find a place in Pompano that we could actually enjoy -

The Sea Horse Motel fit the bill perfectly. Our room was a suite so clean we could have eaten off the floor. A few other reviewers have used the word "charming" - and I'll use it as well. It's charming. If you're a building geek, you'll recognize all the architectural details from that delightful period in the 30's and 40's where folks loved colored bathroom tile (we live in San Francisco; it's all over the place here) - and Philip and Darren have appointed the apartments beautifully.

It's just enough Florida kitsch to feel fun and welcoming - and the property outside is immaculate, with a pool and plenty of room to lie in the sun.

Moreover, the ocean is right across the street - and speaking as one who's stayed inland and spent her weight in quarters paying for meters at the public beach parking lots, this was infinitely more preferable.

Last, but certainly not least, the hosts are incredibly warm and welcoming. The time and care - the true pride in ownership - that they take for the place is abundantly clear, and that alone is worth the price of admission.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

everything was perfect (Thank you Darren and Phillip) - very clean and everyone was extremely friendly. Nice safe neighborhood and easy access to everything. Wonderful little quiet motel with a very nice pool and courtyard. Basic rooms had a little microwave and fridge with comfy beds and easy parking. Beach accross the street was very nice and not touristy or crowded.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gluegirl7
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I stayed here in November this year for a few weeks. I stayed in room 2 which is one of their standard rooms for a few days and then moved into room 5 which was larger and had it's own kitchen and sitting area. I found both the rooms very clean and Darren and Philip the owners extremely helpful and kind. If you are looking for somewhere quiet but close to the beach you can't go wrong.

Room Tip: If you are staying more than a few days pay the extra money and go for one of their efficiencies.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

My husband and I booked this property very last minute and late in the evening. The owner was very kind and made sure we had everything we needed. We booked a basic room with a king size bed. They also have larger rooms with kitchenettes but we opted for the least expensive. The room was very clean and had a charming look and feel to it. The bed was comfortable, the A/C was cold, and we had a great stay! I'm not sure what other people were talking about, but we received prompt housekeeping service during our stay. The pool area was nice although we didn't actually use it. It appeared that the beach was right across the street (on the other side of some condos) but we never walked over to it so I can't comment on the beach either. If we ever find ourselves in Pompano Beach again, this will definitely be where we stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Co
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Sea Horse as we wanted to visit the Ft Lauderdale area prior to the departure of our cruise. We were looking for a well mantained, no frills place at a resonable price with access to ocean, dining and relatively close to Criuse port. We found all of this here.

The facility is well maintained both inside and out, the owner/operators live on site. You can contact them the old fashioned way if you wish. Knock on their door!

Facility is retro 60's with original tile fixtures etc. Renovated where it was needed. Owners gave us a tour of a couple of unrented rooms. Each is slightly different and it was neat to see the different period decorating themes etc.

It was refreshing to find a neat quirky place with very helpful people running it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The Sea Horse is perfectly located to the beach and restaurants. Beach access is just across the street. Pompano's ocean front walk has been updated and is just beautiful: restaurants, a bit of shopping, and Razzleberry's Ice Cream are all within walking distance. The motel's rooms are perfect: clean, updated, full kitchens, fantastic showers, and a great pool. The grounds are super nice and there is a feeling of openness because the property is not [yet] surrounded by highrises. Darren and Phillip are great hosts; accomodating and attentive. It's all about comfort and value and truly vacationing here. This will be our second home, so glad to have discovered it. See you next year, hopefully!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4 which was bright and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Horse Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Horse Motel

Address: 901 N. Ocean Blvd., Pompano Beach, FL
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coin Laundry on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sea Horse Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Horse Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.