We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, modern and clean rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Horse Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sea Horse Motel to your Saves list
Sea Horse Motel
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   901 N. Ocean Blvd., Pompano Beach, FL   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Pompano Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great location, modern and clean rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My father has stayed at this hotel several times when he has come down to visit, so I've seen several different rooms at the hotel. The rooms are very clean and look like they've been completely renovated. The rooms have wood floors and full kitchens with the necessary utensils. The grounds are well-kept, and the pool is heated (useful for the few months a year where it needs to be). The owners are incredibly nice and gracious. And best of all? You cross the street and you're at the beach. Although I've never rented a room to know the cost, my father says that it's a great value, and he'd recommend this hotel to others, as would I.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    8
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
24
38
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I came across this wonderful quaint little motel by chance, and I am so happy that I did! What a breath of fresh air... The rooms are adorable and clean. The owners were so friendly and helpful - I felt as if I stepped back on time! If you are looking for a quiet, affordable and home like environment that is steps away from the ocean and close to all the eateries of the Fort Lauderdale and Pompano area - this is it! It was so clean and well maintained, that I felt as if I was staying at a friend's home!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

If you are traveling in South Florida or looking for a wonderful weekend get-a-way, the Sea Horse Motel in Pompano Beach is a hidden gem! The owners are personable, friendly, and fun. The rooms are impecably clean - each room has it's own personal style (like a B&B). It is within steps of the beach and close walking distance to wonderful places to eat and visit. It is a small and quiet place to stay, and very safe. I immediately felt "at home" and was impressed by the other courteous and friendly guests staying here.

If you want to be nearby Fort Lauderdale, but away from the noise and chaos - this is the place you need to stay! This is my second visit to the Sea Horse, and I cannot think of another place where I have truly felt "at home". A little slice of paradise!
BB~~~

Room Tip: I stayed in Room #1 - ithas an "Asian" theme, along with a kitchenette. Beautiful and comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Owner was friendly even though we did not meet him, it was a shame we were there for 2 days and did not get clean sheets or towels , I have stayed in many hotels in Florida and everyone offers room service except for this one I guess they did not mind charing my card. Woody Rusinovich

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeahorsePompano, Owner at Sea Horse Motel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
First, thank you for choosing to stay at our motel. It is our policy to always do our best to accommodate our guests, especially when arriving at difficult hours. While you reserved a room for 2 days, you did not arrive until day 2. Numerous attempts to complete your registration in person failed. Due to the number of calls made, our expectation was that if something was needed, you would have returned our calls & stated as such. We received neither calls nor requests in person requesting anything, nor any attempt to resolve registration issues. We apologize that our service was so deplorable that it required you to post your first review though you state you’ve stayed in many hotels in Florida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We had a fantastic time here. The hosts were friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean, comfortable and well decorated.

It wasn't on the beach, but you can just cross the street and be there, easy peezy.

Room Tip: They all seemed fine, we were in rooms 3 and 4, in the middle of the strip and they were quiet and e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorne, FL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

If you want to stay at a place that is clean, friendly, close to the beach, close to stores, etc. This is it...the two fellows that run this place are so courteous, helpful, and upbeat that you feel like you have stepped back in time to when people cared about each other. I loved staying here and would recommend to anyone who is not caught up in 5 star B.S. and is not traveling with any "prince or princesses" that are "high maintence" and wants to have a vacation that feels like you are with friends. It is a flip-flop kick back place that is small, well kept, and safe. Loved it. Hope to get back there some day soon.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

The Sea Horse Motel is a gem that seems to be kept a secret from many travelers, especially the gay travelers. Odd, considering the Sea Horse's proximity to Ft Lauderdale. What a great way to get away from all the madness of Ft Laud / Wilton Manors!

The motel is a 50s style roadside motel that's been there for many many years. The bathrooms show the age, but only in the tile (it must be original to the building). Don't be fooled, though. The motel is lovingly cared for and it's obvious! The decor in the rooms is up-to-date and the furnishings seem to be new within the last year or so. The rooms are immaculate and if there is such a thing as a brand-new smell ... well, then, these rooms have it!

The kitchenette is more than adequate and allows for ample storage of food, which was great for both early morning coffee and late-evening drinks by the pool. There is a wall-mounted window-style air conditioner that pumps out enough cold air to refrigerate the entire room - we were very comfortable! Hot water is ample, so much so that it shouldn't be turned up all the way, lest one turn themselves into a lobster during their shower. The water pressure is adequate.

Darren & Phillip are exceptional hosts. They live on the property and treat motel guests just like old friends being welcomed home. The neighborhood is quiet and clean and returning to the Sea Horse at the end of a day's adventures really feels like coming home. They're well-heeled in the area and will give you an honest and dependable recommendation on any dining or recreation about which you're curious.

If you're looking for a place to stay where you'll really be welcomed as friends, then the Sea Horse is the spot!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Horse Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Horse Motel

Address: 901 N. Ocean Blvd., Pompano Beach, FL
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea Horse Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coin Laundry on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Sea Horse Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Horse Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.