We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a TimeShare Hotel, Not a Resort.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Santa Barbara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Santa Barbara to your Saves list
Wyndham Santa Barbara
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   1301 South Ocean Blvd, Pompano Beach, FL 33062   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It's a TimeShare Hotel, Not a Resort.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

We stayed at this timeshare resort during Fourth of July week. Having been in the world of timeshares for awhile, there are some things you expect, and some things you don't. The Wyndham Santa Barbara was okay. I wouldn't call it a resort, however, and those looking for such an experience should look elsewhere.

We have two kids, and we had one of the smaller rooms. One kid slept on the pull-out couch; the other slept on an air mattress on the floor. Our queen bed seemed more like a double. Still, the unit was clean when we arrived, and it was nice that they didn't expect us to clean the place up (though we mostly did) like most timeshare properties. Kitchen, microwave, fridge, and all the amenities. (Just remember that this is Florida, so put away your food. We had little bugs in the sink my the second day, and not because we are slobs, either.) The bathroom was rather cramped, and the shower curtain rod kept falling down and despite stuffing towels in to make it stay up, it did not. Thus, we had wet floors in the bathroom daily. There's a jetted tub in front of the bed, but we did not use it, so I can't review that. Glad that there's a safe in the room. We've been to timeshares where you had free use of a washer/dryer. Here, it's $1.50 per wash/$1.50 per dry. Annoying.

Also, the walls are not too thick. Every night, I was treated to the sound of the people above us, apparently rearranging their furniture.

The front desk was nice. They had to give us regular towels instead of the pool towels; they never seemed to have enough pool towels. (This was fine, however, as they didn't give us enough towels in our room in the first place, so we needed them.) They give you bracelets so that you can swim and use the facilities at the Wyndham across the street and down the block; we never used them. We simply crossed the street and used the nearby beach access., which was rather convenient. The Santa Barbara's pool was very small, and the little bar next to it had smokers, which made the experience rather unpleasant. Who wants to sit in a hot tub or pool while immersed in secondhand smoke?

But OH MY GAWD! How they pressed for us to go to a breakfast meeting to talk about time shares. DON'T DO IT! We once had a vacation ruined the first (and only) time we ever fell for the "We'll give you a Visa gift card if you come and take our survey" and we don't do it now. It eats up your vacation time and they're eager to sell you more stuff. Staff called and left messages for us daily, and when we didn't respond, they left us written notes under our door to join them for the survey. SHEESH. GIVE. IT. UP, Wyndham! It's OUR VACATION.

As an aside, It's a little sad to look out the windows and see the remnants of tennis courts where there must have been other properties.

So, in short: a decent launching place for your South Florida plans, but don't expect this place to provide you with a resort experience. Resort, it ain't. And don't agree to take the survey or you'll be sucked into the vortex.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    81
    18
    8
    6
See reviews for
91
88
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

I loved, loved this resort. I arrived early so, quite naturally, my room wasn't ready, but Norman at the front desk quickly remedied the situation and got me a really nice one bedroom on the 9th floor. It was exquisite! ALL of the employees were very, very nice. I was asked to sit through a presentation/survey and politely declined. I was not asked anymore, nor did I receive any annoying sales pitches by phone or otherwise. The weather was perfect every day except on the day of my departure (which suited me just fine), although it rained every night (not a problem, I slept through it all!) Since it was July 4 weekend, the hotels had a firework display on the beach -- beautiful, beautiful, beautiful. There was always something to do, but I was there simply to relax and work on my tan!! I DEFINITELY recommend this resort!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

I was planning a girls get away with a friend celebrating her 50th birthday this year. We wanted a place that was nice, updated decor, clean, good beach location, affordable(I'm conservative), and safe(husbands request). We found all these and more at the Wyndham Santa Barbara. The entire place is ultra clean and the very spacious suites (we had 1 BR) has everything you could want from a full kitchen with all the extras in small appliances, to being modernly decorated complete with updated electronics consisting of flat screen t.v.'s, DVD player, nice sound system, and free wi-fi. We also enjoyed our 5th floor view from both balconies-front of building is ocean view and side was pool /waterway view . The friendly staff started at the front desk and included the housekeeping ladies greeting us on the elevator and hallway to the poolside maintenance man offering to snap a group photo. The pool was great ,,,, perfect tempature and noodles for our floating pleasure, also lots of lounge chairs and a nice shaded cabana for our enjoyment. The beach access was a sidewalk directly across the street, so convient. Safety of two women coming to and fro was never a concern due to the door lock policy and well lit free parking lot and garage. This is a time share owner resort and we were invited to a presentation on our last day and a no-thank-you was accepted without any pressure at all. The worse part of our trip was.... how time flies when you're having fun!

Room Tip: higher up, front of building, wrap around balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

Just returned from a week stay here and this is a very nice property. We didn't travel with our husbands so there was no time share pressure because we cant sign without them! All of the staff were freindly and helpful. All of the areas of the hotel I saw were in perfect pristine condition. The beds in our unit should probably be replaced because both the bed and the pull out were a little sagging and not very comfortable. The blankets were "pilly" and definately need to be replaced but at least smelled clean. The unit had everything you would need for a stay of any length. The pool is small but large enough for all the guests during our stay. This is a very quiet hotel and doesnt offer many activities like some of the larger time shares. We had use of the sister property Royal Vista across the street which was much bigger, busier and louder. I was glad we were staying here. This is a very nice quiet place with easy beach access thru the Royal and our room on the south side of the 8th floor had a beautiful view the ocean, waterway and pool area. Ask for a room as high up as possible for the best view as the lower rooms views will be blocked by other buildings.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

We had an amazing time at the Wyndham Santa Barbara. The rooms were amazing, very comfortable and spacious. The staff had truly helped to make the trip! Thank you to everyone at the resort, especially the front desk staff, and Patrick at the concierge you helped to make our trip extra special! We were asked to do a survey at the other resort as well and found it to be a very informative trip, the gentleman we spoke with was very kind to us and did not try any high pressure sales tactics, he merely explained what Wyndham was all about and answered all of our questions, not to mention we received a great gift!! Thanks again to everyone we will be coming back very soon!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland, Fla.
Level Contributor
167 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

This is a Wyndham "Hotel" that is really a time share. If you are not already an owner, the main purpose of the concierge/info. desk staff is to get you to sign up for a free breakfast or a tour of this property and the "sister property" across the street. DON'T DO IT ! We said no, no again and again and again. Their main job is to sell you a Time Share, and they are very persistent.( We unfortunately had our first trip to Cancun in 1981 ruined by "signing up" for a free breakfast & tour of a Sheraton, and had NO idea it was a T.S. presentation, that lasted all day! That has helped us to say NO! to all subsequent invitations for "free stuff"-it is a ploy.)

The Wyndham property across the street is right on the beach, and Santa Barbara guests are given a beach towel and wrist bracelet so they can use the pool and beach area there if desired. Sounded great, except the pools at both hotels are very small. They do not have a sit down restaurant, and I had to wait in line with about 15 other people, for over 30 mins., to get two grilled fish sandwiches. The nice woman behind the grill needed some help, and she just couldn't keep up with all of the orders. I felt very sorry for her. The tiny deli has a very basic , cheap selection of mayonnaise & cabbage(slaw?), mayonnaise & potatoes(pot. salad?), chips, cookies, and ice cream.
The Tiki Bar was on the beach, and it was nice to get a drink and take it down to the beach. We had our own chairs, but they had chairs, umbrellas,and jet skis for rent. We enjoyed walking on the beach-the water is beautiful.

The room itself was decorated nicely, had a wonderful kitchenette, as well as a couch, coffee table, oversized tub, and small balcony with 2 chairs & a table. The problem was that the air-conditioner cycled all night long. When it came on it was very loud, and the air blew right on us. Then, after a few mins. it went off, and stayed off for about 15 mins. If there had been a fan that would continue to blow when the AC was cycling on & off, or if the rooms had overhead ceiling fans, it would have helped keep the room cool and cut down on the noise. Needless to say, we did not sleep for two nights.

To sum it up, the employees of both properties were very nice and friendly, the location of the hotel is good, and the rooms are nicely decorated. We liked the in-room safe, and having a frig. and sink. Also a big plus-free parking.

This is not a resort however, it is Time Share apartments, and unless you are just having a 1-2 night stayover, I would go elsewhere for a vacation. It is a good place for just a few days. Don't forget to bring a floor fan and ear wax.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

beautiful view right across the street from the beach very friendly staff
would come again
Norman with the staff was dedicated to make our stay even better with his unbelievable willingness to go out of the way for us
Thanks Norman

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pompano Beach
1.9 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort in Pompano Beach, Florida
5.7 mi away
Royal Flamingo Villas
Royal Flamingo Villas
#2 of 36 in Pompano Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Wyndham Sea Gardens
Wyndham Sea Gardens
#15 of 36 in Pompano Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 462 reviews
4.2 mi away
Wyndham Palm-Aire
Wyndham Palm-Aire
#12 of 36 in Pompano Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 715 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
#7 of 36 in Pompano Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Santa Barbara

Address: 1301 South Ocean Blvd, Pompano Beach, FL 33062
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Santa Barbara 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Wyndham Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Santa Barbara Hotel Pompano Beach
Wyndham Hotel Pompano Beach
Wyndham Pompano Beach
Pompano Beach Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Santa Barbara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.