We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for family stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Native Sun Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pompano Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Native Sun Resort
Save Saved
You added Native Sun Resort to your Saves list
1950 S. Ocean Boulevard, Pompano Beach, FL 33062   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Pompano Beach
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for family stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We have stayed at this hotel twice (2010 and 2014). Staff is wonderful and very helpful. Appartments are clean and right up the beach. Pool is also clean. Perfect for a family stay. We had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    15
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
13
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chardon, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Great beach side location provides a terrific view. I appreciated the easy to get pool and jacuzzi! The interior is smartly appointed and well maintained. Management is quite accommodating. Being across the street from a Catholic church was an added plus.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I have been going to this place for family vacations since I was a kid. It is located on the beach! With a large swimming pool, shuffle board courts, tennis court, nine hole artificial grass putting green, and large jacuzzi. This place was an older hotel converted to a timeshare many years ago. They have updated the furniture and added pavers/hurricane shutters. Great place to stay for the family or a quiet beach retreat. The beach access is only open to resort guest. The public can stroll on the beach only near the water. So, somewhat private beach. We go in June and July and walk from our room to track the sea turtles coming to shore to lay eggs. It is unbelievable. Rooms book for the week around $1000-1500 in the summer. Much higher in the winter and holidays. They have 1/1 and 2/1 rooms with full kitchens. I prefer the ground floor. Easier access to the outdoors. If you want to enjoy the view of the beach directly from your room, select a 3rd or 4th floor room. The private balconies usually have a few guest reading a book while enjoying the beach sites and sounds. A large fishing pier is location about a 1/2 mile south of the resort. You can walk it while collecting shells or drive down and enjoy the many mom and pop restaurants. Great place to stay if you do not want room service and valet (not available). No restaurant on property. It does not shine like a new 5 star resort but has all the same beach perks that make for a great trip!

Room Tip: If you have kids, get the ground floor. Easier to load all your stuff while kids can enjoy the gold...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

My husband & I stayed there the first week in Feb. The location couldn't have been better. Right on a private beach with complimentary lounge chairs. The pool was well heated and the cleaning service and front desk staff were excellent. I thought the condo was well equipped and updated. Lovely towels and linens, fully equipped kitchen. Maybe some of the units were not updated yet, therefore the negative review from someone. We were on the first floor and I loved the patio right outside our room. The living room rattan furniture was a little outdated but that was the only negative. I would definitely stay there again next year if available.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddon Heights
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We spent another week at The Native Sun this winter (March 15th-22nd, 2014). Everything in my previous review still stands. The weather was perfect. The beach, the pool, the hot tub and sauna were used by us daily. The room that we picked was not as convenient as the one we picked last year, so we have already done our homework for next year's rooms. Mike and Kathy were attentive to all our needs. There was one problem with our room upon our arrival. Apparently the previous tenant was a smoker and smoked in the room even though it is against the rules. The next day the room was thoroughly cleaned including carpet shampooing. This probably should have been attended to and discovered by the maid service. Anyhow, a good effort was made to address the problem. We expect to spend 2 weeks at the Native Sun in 2015.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the ocean get better sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Ontario Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Property is a 70's style 3 story Motel Unit sandwiched between High-Rise Condominiums.

Infrastructure is very dated but suprisingly everything works!!!

Their Hospitality cannot be surpassed by the front and maintenance staff . They are what keeps this place going.


However, if you are looking for more upscale, this is NOT the place to come!
Frayed towels, mismatched lids on cookware, beat up plastic utensils and old huge Bamboo 70's style Furniture is the norm.

Air Conditioning is ancient and blows either cold or not cold and blows randomly thru the return on the top of the wall near ceiling.

Our unit 306 was 1 B/R 2 bath unit half-way down the block, with a view of the ocean.

Bathrooms are old and had to get the "Moen" sink tap replaced as it fell off out of the sink..did not leak though/

The 1 King Size Bed was comfortable and one TV's in Living Room had been upgraded to Flat Screen.

No problem obtaining a DVD Player and a blender for "Smoothies" just ask at the front counter and it will be delivered.

Again the Front Office Staff, MIke, Chris, Cathy were all very pleasant to deal with.

They have a computer to print out your 'boarding passes' and a 'ol-style balance weight scale' to weigh your luggage before returning to the airport.(a nice touch!)

In summary, their Hospitality is GOLD CROWN, but the units are not up to standard,

I guess that's why it continually rates well as a Gold Crown Property!

P.S. This view of course is totally subjective in my part, but if you liked it please give me a "heads up" vote if you want, thanks!

Room Tip: Higher units closer to the beach are best. The Ocean View rooms,though nice, are shaded from noon on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed here Oct 5-12, 2013. Our unit was 201. We had a one bedroom, two bathroom Ocean Front view. The view was blocked somewhat from a big tree. The living room has a queen size pull out sofa bed. The bedroom had a full size pull out sofa bed and a king size bed. This unit could sleep 6 people. I just exchanged again through international interval but this time its room 308. I'm a little worried that my view might not be as pretty. I believe its a side view of the ocean. I wish when people right reviews they would mention the room number and how the view is. This resort is in major need of upgrades. Especially the bathrooms. We also still had tube TVs. The room next to us was unlocked and we looked inside. It was a one bedroom with one bathroom. It had a somewhat updated bathroom and flat screen TV. I was a little upset that our room didn't have a flat screen and the other one did. They were also painting the outside and doing repairs while we were there. I hope they continue doing repairs and upgrades. Hopefully when we go in September 2014, they will have flat screens in all rooms. I have to say my first impression when I went into my unit ...was a little disappointing by how old it looked, but as everyday went by it really wasn't that bad and I was sad that my vacation came to an end.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Native Sun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Native Sun Resort

Address: 1950 S. Ocean Boulevard, Pompano Beach, FL 33062
Location: United States > Florida > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Pompano Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Native Sun, a 35 unit family oriented resort located ocean front in a quiet residential area of Pompano Beach/Lauderdale by the Sea. The resort is only a short walk away from fine dining, shopping and area attractions. The Native Sun is situated on more than 500 feet of white sandy beach. Comfortable lounge chairs are located right on the beach. They allow you to leisurely soak in the warm South Florida sun. Swim in the heated pool, unwind in the hot tub, or refresh yourself in the sparkling blue waters of the Atlantic Ocean. Take a romantic stroll along the beach while the kids are having fun in the playground. If you feel energetic, you can play tennis on the practice court or take it slower and enjoy the putting green or shuffle board courts. If you haven’t had enough fresh air for the day, you can always have a barbecue and invite your neighbors, and afterwards sink into the quiet relaxation of one of our sauna rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Native Sun Hotel Pompano Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Native Sun Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.