We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great condo on the beach.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Native Sun Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pompano Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Native Sun Resort
Save
You added Native Sun Resort to your Saves list
1950 S. Ocean Boulevard, Pompano Beach, FL 33062   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Pompano Beach
Manchester
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great condo on the beach.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

My husband & I stayed there the first week in Feb. The location couldn't have been better. Right on a private beach with complimentary lounge chairs. The pool was well heated and the cleaning service and front desk staff were excellent. I thought the condo was well equipped and updated. Lovely towels and linens, fully equipped kitchen. Maybe some of the units were not updated yet, therefore the negative review from someone. We were on the first floor and I loved the patio right outside our room. The living room rattan furniture was a little outdated but that was the only negative. I would definitely stay there again next year if available.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    16
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
24
15
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haddon Heights
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We spent another week at The Native Sun this winter (March 15th-22nd, 2014). Everything in my previous review still stands. The weather was perfect. The beach, the pool, the hot tub and sauna were used by us daily. The room that we picked was not as convenient as the one we picked last year, so we have already done our homework for next year's rooms. Mike and Kathy were attentive to all our needs. There was one problem with our room upon our arrival. Apparently the previous tenant was a smoker and smoked in the room even though it is against the rules. The next day the room was thoroughly cleaned including carpet shampooing. This probably should have been attended to and discovered by the maid service. Anyhow, a good effort was made to address the problem. We expect to spend 2 weeks at the Native Sun in 2015.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the ocean get better sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Ontario Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Property is a 70's style 3 story Motel Unit sandwiched between High-Rise Condominiums.

Infrastructure is very dated but suprisingly everything works!!!

Their Hospitality cannot be surpassed by the front and maintenance staff . They are what keeps this place going.


However, if you are looking for more upscale, this is NOT the place to come!
Frayed towels, mismatched lids on cookware, beat up plastic utensils and old huge Bamboo 70's style Furniture is the norm.

Air Conditioning is ancient and blows either cold or not cold and blows randomly thru the return on the top of the wall near ceiling.

Our unit 306 was 1 B/R 2 bath unit half-way down the block, with a view of the ocean.

Bathrooms are old and had to get the "Moen" sink tap replaced as it fell off out of the sink..did not leak though/

The 1 King Size Bed was comfortable and one TV's in Living Room had been upgraded to Flat Screen.

No problem obtaining a DVD Player and a blender for "Smoothies" just ask at the front counter and it will be delivered.

Again the Front Office Staff, MIke, Chris, Cathy were all very pleasant to deal with.

They have a computer to print out your 'boarding passes' and a 'ol-style balance weight scale' to weigh your luggage before returning to the airport.(a nice touch!)

In summary, their Hospitality is GOLD CROWN, but the units are not up to standard,

I guess that's why it continually rates well as a Gold Crown Property!

P.S. This view of course is totally subjective in my part, but if you liked it please give me a "heads up" vote if you want, thanks!

Room Tip: Higher units closer to the beach are best. The Ocean View rooms,though nice, are shaded from noon on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed here Oct 5-12, 2013. Our unit was 201. We had a one bedroom, two bathroom Ocean Front view. The view was blocked somewhat from a big tree. The living room has a queen size pull out sofa bed. The bedroom had a full size pull out sofa bed and a king size bed. This unit could sleep 6 people. I just exchanged again through international interval but this time its room 308. I'm a little worried that my view might not be as pretty. I believe its a side view of the ocean. I wish when people right reviews they would mention the room number and how the view is. This resort is in major need of upgrades. Especially the bathrooms. We also still had tube TVs. The room next to us was unlocked and we looked inside. It was a one bedroom with one bathroom. It had a somewhat updated bathroom and flat screen TV. I was a little upset that our room didn't have a flat screen and the other one did. They were also painting the outside and doing repairs while we were there. I hope they continue doing repairs and upgrades. Hopefully when we go in September 2014, they will have flat screens in all rooms. I have to say my first impression when I went into my unit ...was a little disappointing by how old it looked, but as everyday went by it really wasn't that bad and I was sad that my vacation came to an end.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

My family and I travel to Pompano often to visit a very special person..
We have been lucky to find this wonderfully maintained and friendly time-share.This is my first choice of places to stay in the area.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ortonville, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We used Interval Exchange to book this in off-season. This is an older four-story resort sandwiched between two newer hi-rises. We had a two bath unit which is larger than the std one bath and it was spacious. If you need granite counter tops and a large bathroom, this won't impress you. However it is clean, well equipped, very functional, and the staff is very helpful. A well run place. We liked the size of the unit, the full kitchen, the large balcony, and the view. They have a pool, a great beach, two outside grilles, tennis, and shuffleboard. We also really like this location and we didn't see any children, but might be the time of year. We had the beach to ourselves, more or less. A small shopping center is just down the road - very convenient. They were painting when we were there (off season), but it wasn't too disruptive. They also have two elevators and good parking. We would easily stay here again.

Room Tip: Two bath unit is larger and has a larger balcony for the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood, Florida
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is actually a timeshare property that offers accommodations to outsiders when available.

We stayed here for a week in mid August and had a wonderful time. The pillows could have been a little more comfortable and the living room furniture was not all that comfortable either but overall the 1 bedroom unit was clean and had what we needed for the week.

The kitchen was well stocked with pots, pans, dishes and utensils but I would recommend a rewash before using anything. It was a full sized kitchen with large refrigerator, microwave, 4 burner stove and a toaster. If you want a blender you have to request it but one was available so we brought one up to the room when we checked in.

The bedroom had a king-sized bed and a dresser and closet. It turned out to have more than enough space for our stuff. The bathroom was compact and old looking but everything worked and it was clean. The vanity had drawers to put things in so that made up for the lack of space.

The living room is outfitted with a full closet, sleeper sofa (we did not open it up), a coffee table, two cushioned chairs and a chest of drawers. It also had a small dining area for 4.

The balcony spanned the entire length of the unit and had a view of the ocean and the pool. We were on the second floor (203) and found this to be a great location. The walk to the beach was close by and chairs are available to drag down to the water side of the beach. Lots of rip currents when we were there so the surf was rough. But the ocean breeze was great.

There is still some construction going on at the condo complex just south of the property but it really wasn't too noisy in the morning. We were out and about most of the rest of the time taking in the museums and attractions in the area. A Publix is right down the street where we bought enough items for breakfasts and some lunches during the week and we really appreciated the full sized kitchen.

The staff is friendly and helpful and we had a great time at this property.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Native Sun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Native Sun Resort

Address: 1950 S. Ocean Boulevard, Pompano Beach, FL 33062
Location: United States > Florida > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Pompano Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Pompano Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Native Sun, a 35 unit family oriented resort located ocean front in a quiet residential area of Pompano Beach/Lauderdale by the Sea. The resort is only a short walk away from fine dining, shopping and area attractions. The Native Sun is situated on more than 500 feet of white sandy beach. Comfortable lounge chairs are located right on the beach. They allow you to leisurely soak in the warm South Florida sun. Swim in the heated pool, unwind in the hot tub, or refresh yourself in the sparkling blue waters of the Atlantic Ocean. Take a romantic stroll along the beach while the kids are having fun in the playground. If you feel energetic, you can play tennis on the practice court or take it slower and enjoy the putting green or shuffle board courts. If you haven’t had enough fresh air for the day, you can always have a barbecue and invite your neighbors, and afterwards sink into the quiet relaxation of one of our sauna rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Native Sun Hotel Pompano Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Native Sun Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.