We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location and Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Native Sun Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pompano Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Native Sun Resort
Save Saved
You added Native Sun Resort to your Saves list
1950 S. Ocean Boulevard, Pompano Beach, FL 33062   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Pompano Beach
Longwood, Florida
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
“Excellent Location and Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is actually a timeshare property that offers accommodations to outsiders when available.

We stayed here for a week in mid August and had a wonderful time. The pillows could have been a little more comfortable and the living room furniture was not all that comfortable either but overall the 1 bedroom unit was clean and had what we needed for the week.

The kitchen was well stocked with pots, pans, dishes and utensils but I would recommend a rewash before using anything. It was a full sized kitchen with large refrigerator, microwave, 4 burner stove and a toaster. If you want a blender you have to request it but one was available so we brought one up to the room when we checked in.

The bedroom had a king-sized bed and a dresser and closet. It turned out to have more than enough space for our stuff. The bathroom was compact and old looking but everything worked and it was clean. The vanity had drawers to put things in so that made up for the lack of space.

The living room is outfitted with a full closet, sleeper sofa (we did not open it up), a coffee table, two cushioned chairs and a chest of drawers. It also had a small dining area for 4.

The balcony spanned the entire length of the unit and had a view of the ocean and the pool. We were on the second floor (203) and found this to be a great location. The walk to the beach was close by and chairs are available to drag down to the water side of the beach. Lots of rip currents when we were there so the surf was rough. But the ocean breeze was great.

There is still some construction going on at the condo complex just south of the property but it really wasn't too noisy in the morning. We were out and about most of the rest of the time taking in the museums and attractions in the area. A Publix is right down the street where we bought enough items for breakfasts and some lunches during the week and we really appreciated the full sized kitchen.

The staff is friendly and helpful and we had a great time at this property.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    14
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
13
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The resort is older, but the location on the beach was GREAT!! Not too many activities to do here. Rooms could use some updating. The staff is Super friendly and helpful. Overall we had a good time and enjoyed our trip

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed at the Native Sun at the end of May. This boutique resort has direct access to the beach and provides chairs and towels (if requested - no fee) for the sandy beach. Whilst we were there there was riptide warnings for 4 days -quite unusual although you could still go in and play in the waves - whilst using the chairs nearer the resort you had some extra relief from the wind. Sadly to say the sea conditions meant I was unable to dive -this was the first time this has happened in coming to Fort Lauderdale in the past 20years.
We had a 1 bedroomed unit on the third floor which had everything you needed to have a wonderful holiday whilst the front desk staff were very friendly and advised us about Sea Watch - a restaurant two buildings down which had a dusk menu which had excellent food with a three course menu including lobster or prime rib for $20.95.
We also visited Shark Valley - in the Everglades and saw alligators of all sizes up close as well as turtles, spoonbills, blue herons and other species of birds. This is a tram tour, not an airboat ride, (they are phasing out airboat rides around this facility as the government buys them up to keep this area pristine) the tram stops when you see something of interest and also visits a tower with a wonderful view for miles. The trip was only supposed to last 2 hours but lasted 2 hours 20mins due to the number of animals and birds we saw -they are creating a new visitor centre which hopefully will have a cafe -if you can get there fro the first tour of the day.
IT is also possible to visit the Morikami - a Japanese museum and gardens in Delray or the Flagler museum in Palm Beach whilst shopping opportunities abound with the Galleria Mall and Sawgrass Outlet Mall - leading the way.
The Native Sun is an excellent choice of accommodation if you are seeking to explore this area and/or spend time on the beach with excellent service, my only suggestion is that the resort would benefit from upgrading e.g. the sliding doors had bent runners -even so we had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Our decision to book a week at Native Sun was decided by Tripadvisor reviews, specifically the ones referring to people like Michael at the front desk of the resort. We were not disappointed.

Michael and the other nice lady working the front desk are both outstanding professionals and charming individuals. Maintenance staff are also top-notch. Michael patiently assured us on the phone before we booked that he would do his best to accommodate our needs, and told us that we would enjoy the resort. We have stayed at nineteen other resorts in the Pompano / Lauderdale area, and this is by far the best for the money. My wife and I cannot wait to return to Native Sun.

We were in a one-bedroom, one-bath on the second floor, and later in a two-bath unit on the ground floor by the pool. As far as I could tell, all the units have a nice view and easy access to the pool and beach.. People staying at this small property were extraordinarily friendly and polite, and we enjoyed the company of everyone we encountered there.

Five stars. Can't think of anything negative to report.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonee Falls, WI
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We just spent our 19th Sping Break at the Native Sun. I have noticed that repairs and updates are not being done as frequently as they should be. Our until (301) had a poorly patched ceiling in the bathroom, the glass door on the shower wasn't stable, in the other bathroom the towel holder on the shower door kept falling off. Other family members stayed in 401 and 406 and they too needed repairs. Decor is very outdated. They definately need new matresses!
I gave it 3 stars instead of 2 because of the cost ($200 per night for ocean front) and the beach location. Unfortunately we have decided to go somewhere else next year.

Room Tip: 401 and 402 have the best view (Ocean front), 301 and 302 are good but view is a bit blocked from tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddon Heights
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The Native Sun Resort is an RCI property located on South Ocean Blvd, Pompano Beach, Fl 33062. The resort is a 35 unit 4 story property that is approximately 35 years old. The property is situated between 2 14 story buildings that dwarf the facility. My wife and I stayed here the last week of February, 2013. Everything from checking in to checking out was excellent. The desk staff, Mike and Kathy were very helpful our entire stay. Our room was immaculate. The kitchen was fully equipped with newer appliances. The Native Sun website boasts "All you need to bring is your toothbrush", and that's the truth. Beach towels are provided as well as blenders, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards etc. Maid service is provided the 3rd or 4th day of our stay, and the maid popped in a couple of times and asked if we needed anything. There was a minor problem with the WiFi that was addressed upon our complaint. Our room overlooked the pool and a beautiful courtyard. We had a 3/4 ocean view. The balcony extended from the living room to the bedroom and had lounge chairs and tables. The property is conveniently located between Commercial Blvd and Atlantic Blvd along S Ocean Ave. The Assumption Roman Catholic Church is located directly across the street from the resort. Lauderdale By The Sea restaurants are located about a mile down the street. The resort is close to a Publix supermarket as well as many eating establishments. Did I mention that the resort has a beautiful swimming pool as well as a sauna and whirlpool hot tub. We intend to book a 2 or 3 week trip at this resort in Feb, 2014.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I got this place thru an RCI exchange and got lucky and got one of the oceanfront units on the first floor. This is a little gem of a resort. Most units are only 1 bedroom. Small efficient units with all you need for a week at the beach. Nice pool area, BBQ's a small hot tub and beautifully manicured grounds. The beach is also great and just a short walk from the room. We had room 102 which had a small patio that faced the beach. Resort also has tennis courts, a playground, sauna and a nice pool area.
Friendly staff and a complete beach package make this a great place to stay.
Our room had a few roaches but then again this is Florida so it happens, especially if you leave the sliding glass doors open which I am sure people do all the time to get the sea breeze.
On site laundry available.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the beach. If they have an empty room they will try to accomodate you. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Native Sun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Native Sun Resort

Address: 1950 S. Ocean Boulevard, Pompano Beach, FL 33062
Location: United States > Florida > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Pompano Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Native Sun, a 35 unit family oriented resort located ocean front in a quiet residential area of Pompano Beach/Lauderdale by the Sea. The resort is only a short walk away from fine dining, shopping and area attractions. The Native Sun is situated on more than 500 feet of white sandy beach. Comfortable lounge chairs are located right on the beach. They allow you to leisurely soak in the warm South Florida sun. Swim in the heated pool, unwind in the hot tub, or refresh yourself in the sparkling blue waters of the Atlantic Ocean. Take a romantic stroll along the beach while the kids are having fun in the playground. If you feel energetic, you can play tennis on the practice court or take it slower and enjoy the putting green or shuffle board courts. If you haven’t had enough fresh air for the day, you can always have a barbecue and invite your neighbors, and afterwards sink into the quiet relaxation of one of our sauna rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Native Sun Hotel Pompano Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Native Sun Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.