We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location boutique hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Native Sun Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pompano Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Native Sun Resort
Save
You added Native Sun Resort to your Saves list
1950 S. Ocean Boulevard, Pompano Beach, FL 33062   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Pompano Beach
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great location boutique hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed at the Native Sun at the end of May. This boutique resort has direct access to the beach and provides chairs and towels (if requested - no fee) for the sandy beach. Whilst we were there there was riptide warnings for 4 days -quite unusual although you could still go in and play in the waves - whilst using the chairs nearer the resort you had some extra relief from the wind. Sadly to say the sea conditions meant I was unable to dive -this was the first time this has happened in coming to Fort Lauderdale in the past 20years.
We had a 1 bedroomed unit on the third floor which had everything you needed to have a wonderful holiday whilst the front desk staff were very friendly and advised us about Sea Watch - a restaurant two buildings down which had a dusk menu which had excellent food with a three course menu including lobster or prime rib for $20.95.
We also visited Shark Valley - in the Everglades and saw alligators of all sizes up close as well as turtles, spoonbills, blue herons and other species of birds. This is a tram tour, not an airboat ride, (they are phasing out airboat rides around this facility as the government buys them up to keep this area pristine) the tram stops when you see something of interest and also visits a tower with a wonderful view for miles. The trip was only supposed to last 2 hours but lasted 2 hours 20mins due to the number of animals and birds we saw -they are creating a new visitor centre which hopefully will have a cafe -if you can get there fro the first tour of the day.
IT is also possible to visit the Morikami - a Japanese museum and gardens in Delray or the Flagler museum in Palm Beach whilst shopping opportunities abound with the Galleria Mall and Sawgrass Outlet Mall - leading the way.
The Native Sun is an excellent choice of accommodation if you are seeking to explore this area and/or spend time on the beach with excellent service, my only suggestion is that the resort would benefit from upgrading e.g. the sliding doors had bent runners -even so we had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    16
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
14
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Champaign, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Our decision to book a week at Native Sun was decided by Tripadvisor reviews, specifically the ones referring to people like Michael at the front desk of the resort. We were not disappointed.

Michael and the other nice lady working the front desk are both outstanding professionals and charming individuals. Maintenance staff are also top-notch. Michael patiently assured us on the phone before we booked that he would do his best to accommodate our needs, and told us that we would enjoy the resort. We have stayed at nineteen other resorts in the Pompano / Lauderdale area, and this is by far the best for the money. My wife and I cannot wait to return to Native Sun.

We were in a one-bedroom, one-bath on the second floor, and later in a two-bath unit on the ground floor by the pool. As far as I could tell, all the units have a nice view and easy access to the pool and beach.. People staying at this small property were extraordinarily friendly and polite, and we enjoyed the company of everyone we encountered there.

Five stars. Can't think of anything negative to report.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonee Falls, WI
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We just spent our 19th Sping Break at the Native Sun. I have noticed that repairs and updates are not being done as frequently as they should be. Our until (301) had a poorly patched ceiling in the bathroom, the glass door on the shower wasn't stable, in the other bathroom the towel holder on the shower door kept falling off. Other family members stayed in 401 and 406 and they too needed repairs. Decor is very outdated. They definately need new matresses!
I gave it 3 stars instead of 2 because of the cost ($200 per night for ocean front) and the beach location. Unfortunately we have decided to go somewhere else next year.

Room Tip: 401 and 402 have the best view (Ocean front), 301 and 302 are good but view is a bit blocked from tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddon Heights
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The Native Sun Resort is an RCI property located on South Ocean Blvd, Pompano Beach, Fl 33062. The resort is a 35 unit 4 story property that is approximately 35 years old. The property is situated between 2 14 story buildings that dwarf the facility. My wife and I stayed here the last week of February, 2013. Everything from checking in to checking out was excellent. The desk staff, Mike and Kathy were very helpful our entire stay. Our room was immaculate. The kitchen was fully equipped with newer appliances. The Native Sun website boasts "All you need to bring is your toothbrush", and that's the truth. Beach towels are provided as well as blenders, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards etc. Maid service is provided the 3rd or 4th day of our stay, and the maid popped in a couple of times and asked if we needed anything. There was a minor problem with the WiFi that was addressed upon our complaint. Our room overlooked the pool and a beautiful courtyard. We had a 3/4 ocean view. The balcony extended from the living room to the bedroom and had lounge chairs and tables. The property is conveniently located between Commercial Blvd and Atlantic Blvd along S Ocean Ave. The Assumption Roman Catholic Church is located directly across the street from the resort. Lauderdale By The Sea restaurants are located about a mile down the street. The resort is close to a Publix supermarket as well as many eating establishments. Did I mention that the resort has a beautiful swimming pool as well as a sauna and whirlpool hot tub. We intend to book a 2 or 3 week trip at this resort in Feb, 2014.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I got this place thru an RCI exchange and got lucky and got one of the oceanfront units on the first floor. This is a little gem of a resort. Most units are only 1 bedroom. Small efficient units with all you need for a week at the beach. Nice pool area, BBQ's a small hot tub and beautifully manicured grounds. The beach is also great and just a short walk from the room. We had room 102 which had a small patio that faced the beach. Resort also has tennis courts, a playground, sauna and a nice pool area.
Friendly staff and a complete beach package make this a great place to stay.
Our room had a few roaches but then again this is Florida so it happens, especially if you leave the sliding glass doors open which I am sure people do all the time to get the sea breeze.
On site laundry available.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the beach. If they have an empty room they will try to accomodate you. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, MI
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Visited Dec 15-22, 2012. The unit was clean, and pretty large. Had a one bedroom that was on the smaller side, but it was adequate. I was on ground floor. The pool was just 30 feet to my right and the beach was a few more feet to my left. There was a little patio facing the pool and beach. It had chairs and lounge chairs to sit there if you wanted. They provided beach chairs for free so that was nice. And the beach was perfect. I had really nice weather so I went to the beach every day. I did not use the pool. I do think the shade hits the pool kind of early. The kitchen was nice and had everything I needed for the basic stuff I was preparing. I did use the BBQ a couple of nights. There is shuffle board. The Sea Watch restaurant is 2 doors down and very nice. They have a good special for $19.99 if you get in before 6 I think. All other restaurants and stores are a little more of a walk. At least 15 mins I think walking. I did walk down to the Commercial Pier one day. That's where most of the restaurants and bars and shops are. Probably 20-30 mins on the beach. Internet was free and available in the room so that was helpful to me. One complaint is it was hard to keep light out from the doorwall coming into the bedroom in the morning so if you like dark for sleeping, bring some eye covers. There is bus service that runs up and down Ocean Blvd if you need that. Overall very happy with Native Sun and I would go back.

Room Tip: Ground floor had some advantages as you can walk right out to pool or beach. But I think the better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chile
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Me and my wife were looking for a place to stay in Fort Lauderdale that would met various aspects like good location, sea front, separated rooms for the kids, complete kitchen, etc. And at the Native Sun Resort we not only found all that after a long search but also very friendly staff, especially Michael who managed every single detail to make our stay unforgettable. We enjoyed very much the beach, the pool and the BBQ's in front of the pool. We would definitely come back....soon we hope!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Native Sun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Native Sun Resort

Address: 1950 S. Ocean Boulevard, Pompano Beach, FL 33062
Location: United States > Florida > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Pompano Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Native Sun, a 35 unit family oriented resort located ocean front in a quiet residential area of Pompano Beach/Lauderdale by the Sea. The resort is only a short walk away from fine dining, shopping and area attractions. The Native Sun is situated on more than 500 feet of white sandy beach. Comfortable lounge chairs are located right on the beach. They allow you to leisurely soak in the warm South Florida sun. Swim in the heated pool, unwind in the hot tub, or refresh yourself in the sparkling blue waters of the Atlantic Ocean. Take a romantic stroll along the beach while the kids are having fun in the playground. If you feel energetic, you can play tennis on the practice court or take it slower and enjoy the putting green or shuffle board courts. If you haven’t had enough fresh air for the day, you can always have a barbecue and invite your neighbors, and afterwards sink into the quiet relaxation of one of our sauna rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Native Sun Hotel Pompano Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Native Sun Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.