We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent for family vacations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Native Sun Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pompano Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Native Sun Resort
Save Saved
You added Native Sun Resort to your Saves list
1950 S. Ocean Boulevard, Pompano Beach, FL 33062   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 35 hotels in Pompano Beach
Chile
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“excellent for family vacations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Me and my wife were looking for a place to stay in Fort Lauderdale that would met various aspects like good location, sea front, separated rooms for the kids, complete kitchen, etc. And at the Native Sun Resort we not only found all that after a long search but also very friendly staff, especially Michael who managed every single detail to make our stay unforgettable. We enjoyed very much the beach, the pool and the BBQ's in front of the pool. We would definitely come back....soon we hope!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    14
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
13
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

They say, "Good things come in small packages!" Although this oceanfront resort is small (35 units) and looks simple from outside, once you step into your unit, you will see how stylish, comfortable, and clean it is. The friendly housekeeping staff take great pride in their work! All the units on the 2nd, 3rd, and 4th floor have ocean views; while ground level units all have walkouts to the pool, Jacuzzi, putting green, and tennis court. The Native Sun is a friendly, family oriented resort where guests often make friends with other guests. Although this resort does NOT have a restaurant or bar on site, it is two doors away from the famous "Sea Watch" seafood restaurant and 5 minutes away from dozens of excellent restaurants in the Fort Lauderdale and Pompano area. Michael and Cathy at reception (who have a wealth of knowledge about the area) will offer you many suggestions AND just about anything you may need during your stay.....from a beach umbrella to a blender; from a boogie board, to a tennis raquet to a hair dryer. If eating out is not what you are looking for, Publix is within walking distance, and there are 2 gas grills to BBQ on. Plus all units have well stocked full kitchens! If you love the ocean and a sandy beach, you'll be pleased that the Native Sun is the only resort on the Pompano / Lauderdale-By-The-Sea beach that allows you to bring your lounge chair right down to the ocean. (Just don't forget to return it to the back of the beach so that you won't disturb the turtle activities at night.) If you are a nature lover, you may wish to go out to the beach at 9:00 pm. to watch the sea turtle activities: if you are patient, you may spot a mother Loggerhead laying her eggs in the sand or you may witness little baby sea turtles hatch during the night under the watchful eyes of the turtle volunteers (they are the ones with the red flashlights.) There are wonderful snorkeling opportunities within the swimming area right in front of the resort: just walk into the ocean (half way to the vertical markers), four buildings north of the Native Sun. The fishing pier is within walking distance from the resort and on Friday and Saturday nights, there is live entertainment right by the pier. There is a wonderful, inexpensive community golf course in Pompano, just minutes from the resort. Just ask Michael or Cathy about deep sea fishing, jet skis rentals, outlet shopping, or the lovely Butterfly World. You will love the Native Sun and will want to return year after year!

Room Tip: If you have small kids or elderly seniors, you should consider choosing a ground level unit with eas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel Park, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

My family of 4 (mom, dad, teenagers-daughter & son) stayed at the Native Sun for 2 weeks July 28-Aug 11. Michael at the front desk was awesome as well as our Housekeeper, Annette. Annette checked in with us often to ensure we had plenty of trash bags, paper towels, bath towels, soap. She was incredible. The staff was always very helpful. Our condo was 1 bedroom with a Sleeper sofa in the living room. With four of us staying in the condo, we were concerned it would be cramped especially because we asked for a rollaway bed. Not only was the bed set up in our condo when we checked in, we still had sufficient room. Our room was ocean FRONT and the view was beautiful. The kitchen was sufficiently stocked with dishes, pots and pans. The condo and the grounds were all very clean. The beds and linens were ok. We took our own beach towels but they also provide them. My only complaint was that the condition of the pool deteriorated until it had to be closed for 2 days until the chemicals took effect. We typically stay in the area for scuba diving, deep sea fishing and shopping so we don't mind there are no resort sponsored activities. I hope we can go back again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My family and I have stayed at this time share for a week over spring break about 19 times! The atmosphere is lovely, nice pool, hot tub, shuffle board, tennis court, and golf holes. It's right on the ocean and has great views! The staff is all really friendly and will help you whenever in need. The rooms are nice- 2 bathrooms, full kitchen, family room with a pullout couch, bedroom with another pullout couch, and a patio. Close to many restaurants and shops. Great for families or couples.

Room Tip: Getting a room on the ocean is very important, definetly worth the extra money. Also, if you get a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We were in town for work and stayed there for 5 Weeks. The front desk staff was very entertaining and very helpful, always in a good mood and extremely friendly. The cleaning staff was by far the best I have seen ever in a hotel, motel, or resort. The maintenance staff were equally great. The grounds are always well kept. The facility is located right on the beach with very east excess. There are Gas Grills for you use. Very nice patios for your enjoyment. There is a pool and hot tub both very clean and inviting. Walking distance to shopping and food. The parking lot was very accessible and had shopping carts for you to bring in your groceries. The place is well secured with locked gates and doors.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

The Native Sun is the perfect beach holiday vacation. We liked the place so much, that we purchased 2 weeks of the timeshare. The rooms are very clean and everything you need is there - full kitchen (dishwasher, full sized fridge, stove, microwave, etc), comfortable living room setup (with sleeper sofa), a large balcony. There are gas BBQ's available for the guests to use along with a tennis court, nice heated pool and jacuzzi - even a sauna. The grounds are well maintained. The staff is excellent - always friendly and very helpful - they are always willing to provide directions or recommendations to restaurants. The resort is well situated for access to grocery stores, and other conveniences.
This is not a "PARTY" resort - is a family oriented resort...once you go there, you won't want to go anywhere else. For our family of 5, Native Sun is our home away from home (at least for 2 weeks of each year).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

We just checked out of The Native Sun today. Sad we had to leave. We had a wonderful experience! It's not one of the new plush highrise timeshares with jacuzzi tubs, but we loved it! We stayed on the ground floor, just a few steps from the pool. Very convenient! There are only 4 floors. We arrived a few hours early on check in day, but they graciously let us go ahead and put our groceries in our fridge, and we laid by the pool until our room was ready. Nice! A huge benefit of the small resort! Very "personal service." You have maid service 2 times during the week. There is no restaurant/bar on property, but you are very close to Publix. You do have to check out a hair dryer, dvd player, and blender at the front desk, if you need those items. There was a maintenance man walking around all the time. The property is kept up very nice. We felt very safe. The room was spic and span clean. We had control of our air conditioning, kept us nice and cool! Nice tv's in the living area and in the bedroom. We had a huge porch with sliding glass doors from the living room and from the bedroom. Again, the property is older, but we've grown to love the smaller properties with "character!" We will be returning to The Native Sun.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Native Sun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Native Sun Resort

Address: 1950 S. Ocean Boulevard, Pompano Beach, FL 33062
Location: United States > Florida > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Pompano Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Pompano Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Native Sun, a 35 unit family oriented resort located ocean front in a quiet residential area of Pompano Beach/Lauderdale by the Sea. The resort is only a short walk away from fine dining, shopping and area attractions. The Native Sun is situated on more than 500 feet of white sandy beach. Comfortable lounge chairs are located right on the beach. They allow you to leisurely soak in the warm South Florida sun. Swim in the heated pool, unwind in the hot tub, or refresh yourself in the sparkling blue waters of the Atlantic Ocean. Take a romantic stroll along the beach while the kids are having fun in the playground. If you feel energetic, you can play tennis on the practice court or take it slower and enjoy the putting green or shuffle board courts. If you haven’t had enough fresh air for the day, you can always have a barbecue and invite your neighbors, and afterwards sink into the quiet relaxation of one of our sauna rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Native Sun Hotel Pompano Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Native Sun Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.