We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good at Modest Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shores Terrace Resort

Save Saved
You added Shores Terrace Resort to your Saves list
Shores Terrace Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shores Terrace Resort
819 N Ocean Blvd, Pompano Beach, FL 33062 (Formerly Shores Terrace Efficiencies Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good at Modest Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

I stayed here for one night while cycling from Jacksonville to Miami. This is a modest size motel across the street from but with access to the beach right across the street and with a clean pool. Unit was a very clean well equipped efficiency with tile floor, comfortable bed. Office personnel (the manager) was courteous and helpful with directions. 5-10 minute walk to the choice of a couple of Tiki-bar style restaurants and pub in Pompano which is a somewhat 'sleepytown'. Many of the other guests were saying there for period of a week to month and returned annually. Not a luxury hotel, but I found it to be clean and good value for a reasonable rate (I was charged $60 + tax for the night).

Room Tip: Request a room set back at least 2 or 3 from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    4
    2
    3
    6
See reviews for
9
9
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wheeling, Illinois, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

It was cheapest motel in the area, but it was Ok. Location is great (5min to beach)but the closest shopping center is approxematly 2 miles. Overall this is a good place to stay for low money so you got what you pay for and don't expect too much

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We rented a king size bed unit with a futon for our son, booking it over the phone. I'll never do that again...the lady who booked us said it was really nice, bigger than her room on site, and that we'll like it. After arriving and booking in, we went to the room and were pretty surprised that was the description she made of that room. It was smaller than any hotel room we've ever stayed in...that first night we learned how to rearrange the furniture so the broken futon could fold all the way out. The dishes, and especially the utensils were dirty and the bathroom was very tiny and we wore flip flops to take showers. The kitchen was equipped with 3 plates, only one bowl, one fork and a few knives and spoons. We asked for some more cutlery and a couple bowls, and we got the cutlery (dirty) and some styrofoam bowls. The a/c unit was new, but was really noisy so much so that we had to turn it off when we made phone calls. The two seater table in the unit had a bunch of beach sand under the doily table cloth, and a sizeable dead beetle on the floor by the futon, we discovered the first day. As much as the people there are pleasant, I would never recommend the place to anyone. We booked it because of the good reviews it got, and we understand older hotels have certain characteristics, but the unit was too dirty for us to stay the full time we were booked for, we left after 4 nights. Someone was coming to look at the unit the day we vacated, and we found out later that the unit was empty for days, so I guess whoever came to look at it decided not to rent it.
The only thing going for it, is the fact that the beach is across the road, but even for beach lovers, buyer beware and check it out if at all possible before you give them a deposit.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

We stayed over Easter break with our (2) young children 4 days and found the location great, just yards to the beach across A1-a,
Its old Florida style with updated kitchens = Full refrigerators,stove,micro,tile floors,and linens,
Rooms have different lay outs and amenities so ask,,,,,before you book.
long term rentals can be had at better rates for those with longer stay plans.
With friendly and attention to detail owner on site we found this older Florida style hotel well worth the rate we paid!
We loved the gas grill on site and owner had a back up tank! for us to grill out our steak and Florida lobster.
Rooms were quiet at night with the ocean breeze blowing in at night it was great!

If your looking for a good value and understand the nuances of older hotels but like a clean room with great location to all the SE Florida attractions as in close to scuba dive boats up the street,Ft.Lauderdale down the road,Palm Beach north a short drive, 2 hr. drive to the Keys. Neighborhood is ok,parking in front of hotel,pool is clean and warm,plenty of deck chairs for sunning around the pool and chairs & tables on site .
I rate this a good value hotel for the budget minded traveler, and the owner is friendly and helpful!
well worth the rate we paid.
We will return soon,

Room Tip: Call ask for owner and book direct.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

We stayed one night, had to catch a flight out the next morning. Very sketchy, I could hear a woman crying all night. It gave me the heebie jeebies......

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

After staying in a few hotels west of the I95 I moved to Pompano beach Shores Terrace Efficiencies and found it clean, tidy and safe which was a great relief after experiencing the western suburbs.
The motel was run by Nazih, his wife Josephine and the son Milad who all were accommodating and provided a warm welcoming atmosphere which was a breath of fresh air after dealing with hotel staff from other properties.
The phone calls were free across the States and Canada, The beach was a less than a 100 meters away and the swimming pool on the property was heated to a comfortable temperature which was great for my bad back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deroit, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

This was exactly what we wanted. Very friendly... The owner and his wife go out of their way to please. We stayed here for 6 days and absolutely enjoyed it. Nice kitchenette. We were very comfortable here. Nice sparkling clean heated pool !

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shores Terrace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shores Terrace Resort

Address: 819 N Ocean Blvd, Pompano Beach, FL 33062 (Formerly Shores Terrace Efficiencies Motel)
Location: United States > Florida > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A perfect place for the whole family - few steps and you're on the shore. Our efficiency rooms offer the best value in town - full kitchen, free long distance calls, 300 TV channels, barbecue grills and other amenities are also available to our guests. Set your own pace...a refreshing dip in the ocean or our heated pool, a game of shuffleboard, or a relaxing bike ride, all are within easy reach. Cast a line off of one of the two piers that are near us. Explore colorful coral reefs. Our affordable rates are especially suited for family vacations, business travelers, and for those who just want to simply relax for awhile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Shores Terrace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shores Terrace Efficiencies Hotel Pompano Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shores Terrace Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.