We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once again, Marriott does it perfectly right!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront to your Saves list
Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1350 North Ocean Boulevard, Pompano Beach, FL 33062 (Formerly Ocean Sands Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Pompano Beach
Miami, FL
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Once again, Marriott does it perfectly right!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

This is one of the best properties that Marriott has to offer.
Most of the rooms have ocean views, they are clean, well mantained and have everything you need. The hotel complimentary daily breakfast in an nice comfortable setting with big screen TV's through out the lounges. On the wekends, you can even catch some football while you're down in the lobby.
The hotel has a very nice spa. Hotels often say that they have a fitness center and when you walk in you find two bikes, three treadmills and a mat.
Not this one.
This hotel has a very nicely equiped gym with even Pilates equipment. The hotel is located on the beach in A1A (the coastal road of Southeastern Florida) which is very nice if you decide to go for a run/walk.
The staff couldn't have been nicer. We had bikes with us and on check-out they offered alternatives to secure our bikes.
There is a charge for parking and it is pricey, but I certainly understood why they charged the 19 dollars. Spots are few and space is an issue.
I am very high on this property and I will be returning to sit down, relax and enjoy our balcony room overlooking the ocean with a glass of wine.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    111
    42
    16
    18
See reviews for
145
73
14
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

Overall, this is a very nice right on the beach hotel with fabulous views. The room has everything you could want, including a washer and dryer. It was large and comfortable with no signs of bed bugs!! The only problem we encountered were a group of very unruly guests of the hotel on the beach. They seemed to have a vocabulary limited to three curse words and were drunk so they were very loud. We moved as far away from them as we could and were still treated to their foul behavior. We know they were guests as they keep going back up to the room for more beer. There are no attendants on the beach so there was really no one to talk to about this problem. Another couple left the beach for the pool as they had heard enough. But the hotel itself, minus the horribly behaved guests, was very nice.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dheinlein, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 14, 2010
Dear Jemom68,

Thank you so much for writing. I’m so sorry disruptive guests kept you from enjoying your stay 100 percent. Please feel free to alert our staff next time, we’ll be happy to assist. We really appreciate you that you like our hotel & would love to see you again so we can try to make your stay 100% fantastic. Hope to see you soon.

Best regards,
Heather Hanley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

This was a lovely hotel located a bit far from the airport. We only stayed after our cruise one night with our 4 kids, ages 8-18. The transportation cost of getting us to and from the airport made this unreasonable, so if you have a group, rent a van or car-it's so much cheaper. We paid $100 to get to the airport, and a little less to get from the cruise ship to the hotel, but we had to wait in that atrocious line after the cruise for like two hours.


There are very nice ocean views from all the rooms which are very spacious. The balcony is small, but you can sit on it. The rooms we had were very nicely decorated and up to date. Clean. Nice large bathrooms with washer/dryer. Kitchen had what you need if you want to get your own food. Restaurant delivery was excellent and affordable. Got a pizza for the kids for I think $8 and the most yummy salad with this sweet dressing.

Comfortable room. Next to road, so if you open balcony door it does get noisy. But the view of that fabulous ocean make up for it!

Nice pools, one was cold and the other warmer. Small area around pool to sit, but a nice walkway to the ocean too. There's a very nice waitress that will take orders and get you some grub. There was a guy playing music by the pool too, Caribbean music.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Drayton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

We stayed July 31st - 2nd August in a two bedroom suite after flying into Miami from LHR.. We were very please to find on arrival that It had everything we could want, from the amenities to the view.

All the staff were very friendly and helpful. There is not a huge choice for breakfast but having said that, there was definitely enough on offer. (Fresh orange jiuce would have been nice)

Beach towels are provided with free sunbeds. (First come, first served basis). Protected Turtle nests were on the beach. The only downside to the beach area is that it was not cleaned daily, as it is when we stayed at Sunny Isles or Clearwater. There was a lot of rubbish in the sand including glass that had to be cleared before we could use the beds.

The music from the adjoining hotels on both sides was very loud at night which got very annoying.

We would certainly come back again, hopefully in March/april 2011.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cazenovia, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

Stayed only one night w/ husband & 4 yr old son, booked on line through a 3rd party site at a discounted rate. Excellent place if you like to be on the ocean w/ breathtaking views and sun surf and sand. Positives were breakfast included and being on the beach. Super comfortable bed to sleep in at night plenty of room in our suite & offered a great view of the ocean and beach. Downside was that the pool wasnt very clean and no one out there monitoring anything or cleaning up after people & the toaster never worked right for anyone at breakfast and it was packed to eat at in the morning. I would definantly stay again though as it was a great deal & I am happy spending the whole day at the beach.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

Stayed 2 nights at end of 1-week trip to S. Florida and Keys. Not the best Residence Inn I've seen - was recently bought by Marriott from another owner - but still very nice. Shower could've been cleaner (tile grout needed scrubbing). But overall a very relaxing place. Great to have such a short walk to the beach. There were free cabanas for use by guests, and it's nice to have a kitchen. Were surprised to find that it also had a washer and dryer in the room.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

We are government contractors on business here in Florida and we decided to stay at the RI by Marriott for the 3 weeks we would be working. We decided to bring out families down to enjoy the room and hotel while we worked our 12-15 hours days. It was great the first few days until we started running into issues with housekeeping not properly cleaning the rooms. They are suppose to change the sheets twice a week. Our sheets have been changed 3(both beds 1 time and 1 bed was only changes another time) times until my wife decided to start washing them herself because she was sick of being told by the housekeeping staff that they wouldn't change the sheets until it was our day to have them changed. Our 3 children(2, 5 and 8) ended up with hand foot and mouth disease the 4th day we where here and spent 4 days in bed throwing up with fevers and a horrible rash. They had only been to the pool, the beach and in our room. The floors are filthy. I don't know how often they steam clean the rooms but from the looks of our socks, not very often! The bathtub was never cleaned. Just rinsed with water and there is still the same dead bug in there that was there when we arrived. The sockets in the bathrooms are unsafe. You try to plug something into them and they trip the safety. They aren't even installed into the walls properly. We complained about housekeeping and received a complimentary lunch at the over priced bistro they have installed into the hotel($10 for 3 small chicken strips and a handful of fries, which is probably the cheapest item they have off the whole 15 items they make). When my wife ordered food for her and our kids, they decided to tell us after the food was brought up that the comp lunch was approved by the regional manage for only 2 people. What topped our trip is when we asked to extend our rooms for a few more nights because our job was requiring us to stay 2 more days. They told us they have sold out and couldn't help us. I called Marriott Rewards and asked if there were rooms available and they said there were 4 available. We proceeded to talk to the front desk and they said that they could accommodate us for the nights we needed. The next morning one of our reservations had been canceled by them. They said they overbooked the hotel and didn't have rooms. They made my coworker, his, wife, 4 year old and 5 month old daughter leave the hotel within 2 hours of them informing us that they no longer had a room for them. They put them up in another Marriott down the road but we are still paying for the room rates. Iv stayed in MANY hotels because we travel the world for our contract and this has been by far the worse experience EVER.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront

Address: 1350 North Ocean Boulevard, Pompano Beach, FL 33062 (Formerly Ocean Sands Resort & Spa)
Location: United States > Florida > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Pompano Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Pompano Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Pompano Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Florida beach vacation awaits you at Residence Inn by Marriott Ft. Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront hotel located directly on the Atlantic Ocean! Experience majestic sunsets from your private balcony in a spacious suite with fully equipped kitchen. Enjoy tranquil on-site spa services at our full service spa & salon. Relax by our two sparkling swimming pools. Our Florida beach hotel blends together the best of any Stay-cation by offering stylish accommodations, delectable beachfront dining with your favorite seafood selections and rejuvenating spa experience- - all tied together with genuine hospitality. Our friendly staff is ready to help you experience the best of what you want from your oceanfront stay, whether it's rejuvenating, relaxing or experiencing exciting activities! We're ideally located just minutes to Deerfield Beach, Ft. Lauderdale, Delray Beach and Boca Raton! Among Florida beach hotels, Residence Inn by Marriott Ft. Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront hotel stands above the rest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront Hotel
Ocean Sands Hotel
Ocean Sands Resort Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.