We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service Plus,Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront to your Saves list
Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1350 North Ocean Boulevard, Pompano Beach, FL 33062 (Formerly Ocean Sands Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Pompano Beach
Boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Service Plus,Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

The Hotel is a typical Marriott with all it's outstanding amenities. Now add on the beach and the wow factor enters the mix. O.K. let's mix in great service with super, outstanding friendly sevice and it's off the charts. So please salute all the staff.A special call out to Victor and friends,valet,Argelio and Evelyn,front desk,just outstanding, very helpful and friendly,answered every question and Ingrid and friends @Bistro... Exellent

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
mumnel23,
We're happy to hear of your enjoyable stay and appreciation of our staff at Residence Inn Pompano Beach. Our team understands that our valued guests such as yourself deserve a memorable stay and we will continue to find new ways to WOW our guests. I will be sure to share your compliments with our team, and will also award Victor, Argelio, Ingrid, and Evelyn with commendations for their outstanding service. Please plan to visit us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Tom Hastings, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    112
    43
    16
    18
See reviews for
147
73
14
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Clean rooms, friendly service and good breakfast make this place a great spot in Pompano Beach. A huge plus having the beach right next door. I was also very impressed with the nice finishes in the room such as granite countertops. Overall fantastic stay, recommended for anyone visiting the area!

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
jdo209,
We're happy to hear from you, and thank you for sharing your recommendations of Residence Inn Pompano Beach. It's wonderful to know you enjoyed a fantastic stay and found our beach front location and accommodations to exceed your expectations. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Thank you once again for your great review!

Sincerely,
Tom Hastings, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

After being subjected to the Lauderdale by the Beach hotel for a mere 12 hours without a refund, this place was like another world! The room was very clean, and well kept. The amenities were outstanding as were the staff. The spa was very nice as was the sauna and gym amenities.

If I had to bring up one thing- I just wish their menus and continental breakfasts were more friendly for individuals who are gluten intolerant.

Otherwise, this place was a dream come true after having to stay in an infested, rotting, molding, Ft. Lauderdale by the Sea hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
klevin303,
Thank you for your review and feedback from your stay with us at Residence Inn Pompano Beach. We’re happy to have had you as our guest, and we’re pleased to hear our clean accommodations, value added amenities and friendly staff made for a wonderful stay. Your feedback regarding gluten free breakfast selection is important in our attempt to continue to grow as a hotel and provide exceptional guest experiences. We thank you for your writing a review and we hope you’ll return for another visit again soon.

Sincerely,
Tom Hastings, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montague, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Excellent hotel with lovely rooms. Great breakfast selection. Friendly staff. If a problem pops up they promptly take care and correct the situation. Restaurant has very fresh salads and we enjoyed the best meal at their Valentine's Special Evening. Clean pool/hot tub area. Lovely Beach. Only suggestion would be to upgrade bikes and televisions in gym room. Air conditioners in rooms are loud, but they do work!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
rustyfitz,
We're happy to hear from you and thank you for choosing to stay with us at Residence Inn Pompano Beach. It's fantastic to receive your kind comments regarding our friendly service, excellent accommodations, and the wonderful meals you enjoyed on site. We appreciate your suggestions on upgrades and areas of opportunity. I assure you that your feedback will be taken into consideration for improving our property and overall guest experience. Please plan to visit us again in the future. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Tom Hastings, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West New York, New Jersey
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

I have stayed at many Residence Inns, and other properties by the Marriott, but without a doubt, this was my worst experience.
From the moment I entered, the staff at the Front Desk was very unprofessional, especially the young lady who checked us in, I think her name was Sahira. She looked almost as if she was not enjoying her job, and as if we were a bother.

Later on as we were going to the beach to relax, we could hear loud conversations regarding personal matters being discussed from the office area, behind the desk, along with loud and vulgar laughing, I was amazed to see that the same lady who checked us in, (and I was told she is the Front Office Manager) was participating in such loud and crude behavior as we saw her coming from in the back area.

The thing that made my fiance mad, was we saw advertisements in the Hotel stating that we can watch Miami Heat game in the restaurant, and when we got there, we were told that the Television in the Restaurant does not play basketball. The bartender told us that the Television has never played a game since they upgraded, and he is not sure why they are promoting the game in the hotel.

This is a case of classic misrepresentation of the Marriott Brand and total disgregard for the guests. Obviously there is a clear breakdown in the management, and I can assure you this is one hotel I will not be staying again, and will never recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
JJones2474,
I appreciate you writing and bringing these concerns to my attention. We sincerely apologize for your disappointing experience and would certainly never want to leave you with a poor impression. I assure you that your comments have been addressed with our staff and additional steps will be taken to improve our overall guest experience. We value your business and hope you will return to see our improvements. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Tom Hastings, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We've been to many Marriott Residence Inn properties but we'd have to say that this ranks at the top of the list for the friendliest staff, large room with living area, wall of windows making it bright and inviting. The buffet breakfast was plentiful and kept up with the most accommodating staff that unfortunately is rare these days. It's very obvious that this facility is well managed as each member of the staff were friendly and extremely helpful. Parking a bit tight but valet service prompt and efficient. Marriott should use this location as a template for their training system wide.

Room Tip: Higher floors away from street
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Pat C,
We appreciate your complimentary review, and thank you for selecting Residence Inn Pompano Beach. We're pleased to hear that our accommodating staff, beach front property, and value added amenities exceeded your expectations. We look forward to sharing your compliments with our staff, and we hope you'll visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing and ranking our hotel at the top of your list.

Sincerely,
Tom Hastings, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Nice hotel, great continental breakfast and the staff couldn't be nicer! Each room has a nice view of the ocean and the rooms are spacious with the mini kitchen. I would definitely stay here again. I was unable to return home due to the January east coast snow storm and they accommodated a late checkout for me. Unfortunately, no rooms were available to stay the extra night.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Cathyfg,
Thank you for sharing feedback from your Residence Inn Pompano Beach experience. It's wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay in our ocean view rooms. I'm sorry that we were unable to accommodate an extra night stay when the east coast snow storm extended your travel. We value your business and hope to welcome you back again soon. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Tom Hastings, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront

Address: 1350 North Ocean Boulevard, Pompano Beach, FL 33062 (Formerly Ocean Sands Resort & Spa)
Location: United States > Florida > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Pompano Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Pompano Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pompano Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Florida beach vacation awaits you at Residence Inn by Marriott Ft. Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront hotel located directly on the Atlantic Ocean! Experience majestic sunsets from your private balcony in a spacious suite with fully equipped kitchen. Enjoy tranquil on-site spa services at our full service spa & salon. Relax by our two sparkling swimming pools. Our Florida beach hotel blends together the best of any Stay-cation by offering stylish accommodations, delectable beachfront dining with your favorite seafood selections and rejuvenating spa experience- - all tied together with genuine hospitality. Our friendly staff is ready to help you experience the best of what you want from your oceanfront stay, whether it's rejuvenating, relaxing or experiencing exciting activities! We're ideally located just minutes to Deerfield Beach, Ft. Lauderdale, Delray Beach and Boca Raton! Among Florida beach hotels, Residence Inn by Marriott Ft. Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront hotel stands above the rest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront Hotel
Ocean Sands Hotel
Ocean Sands Resort Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.