We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Disappointed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront to your Saves list
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1350 North Ocean Boulevard, Pompano Beach, FL 33062 (Formerly Ocean Sands Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Mobile Check-In
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Pompano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
West New York, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Extremely Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

I have stayed at many Residence Inns, and other properties by the Marriott, but without a doubt, this was my worst experience.
From the moment I entered, the staff at the Front Desk was very unprofessional, especially the young lady who checked us in, I think her name was Sahira. She looked almost as if she was not enjoying her job, and as if we were a bother.

Later on as we were going to the beach to relax, we could hear loud conversations regarding personal matters being discussed from the office area, behind the desk, along with loud and vulgar laughing, I was amazed to see that the same lady who checked us in, (and I was told she is the Front Office Manager) was participating in such loud and crude behavior as we saw her coming from in the back area.

The thing that made my fiance mad, was we saw advertisements in the Hotel stating that we can watch Miami Heat game in the restaurant, and when we got there, we were told that the Television in the Restaurant does not play basketball. The bartender told us that the Television has never played a game since they upgraded, and he is not sure why they are promoting the game in the hotel.

This is a case of classic misrepresentation of the Marriott Brand and total disgregard for the guests. Obviously there is a clear breakdown in the management, and I can assure you this is one hotel I will not be staying again, and will never recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JJones2474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
JJones2474,
I appreciate you writing and bringing these concerns to my attention. We sincerely apologize for your disappointing experience and would certainly never want to leave you with a poor impression. I assure you that your comments have been addressed with our staff and additional steps will be taken to improve our overall guest experience. We value your business and hope you will return to see our improvements. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Tom Hastings, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Orlando
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We've been to many Marriott Residence Inn properties but we'd have to say that this ranks at the top of the list for the friendliest staff, large room with living area, wall of windows making it bright and inviting. The buffet breakfast was plentiful and kept up with the most accommodating staff that unfortunately is rare these days. It's very obvious that this facility is well managed as each member of the staff were friendly and extremely helpful. Parking a bit tight but valet service prompt and efficient. Marriott should use this location as a template for their training system wide.

Room Tip: Higher floors away from street
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Pat C,
We appreciate your complimentary review, and thank you for selecting Residence Inn Pompano Beach. We're pleased to hear that our accommodating staff, beach front property, and value added amenities exceeded your expectations. We look forward to sharing your compliments with our staff, and we hope you'll visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing and ranking our hotel at the top of your list.

Sincerely,
Tom Hastings, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Nice hotel, great continental breakfast and the staff couldn't be nicer! Each room has a nice view of the ocean and the rooms are spacious with the mini kitchen. I would definitely stay here again. I was unable to return home due to the January east coast snow storm and they accommodated a late checkout for me. Unfortunately, no rooms were available to stay the extra night.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathyfg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Cathyfg,
Thank you for sharing feedback from your Residence Inn Pompano Beach experience. It's wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay in our ocean view rooms. I'm sorry that we were unable to accommodate an extra night stay when the east coast snow storm extended your travel. We value your business and hope to welcome you back again soon. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Tom Hastings, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Eat delicious gourmet cuisine. Never feel deprived. Lose weight and get on the road to wellness.

Impossible, you say? Well, it isn’t—because I am living testimony to it! In my week at Naturally Well by the Sea, I ate healthy, delicious food prepared by Marian Tobin-Hardy and her chef, Mamoune, lost weight (more than I expected) and felt better than I had in ages. And even though the spa is located within a Marriott Residence Inn, I was never tempted by the availability of foods and beverages that are not on the program because I was always satisfied during and after our meals.

Dr. Randall Hardy’s insights and lectures on wellness and our bodies were—as always—wonderful and informative. The hotel rooms are beautiful and spacious, and having a washer/dryer in the large bathroom was a huge plus, especially for workout clothes. The fitness instructors were top-notch and accommodating to different needs. And everything is located on a gorgeous beach—perfect for swimming, walking, or just chilling out with a good book.

I have been a longtime wellness spa guest, initially at Fit for Life/Spa Atlantis, later at the Regency, and also Canyon Ranch in the Berkshires. My visit to Naturally Well by the Sea was the best yet! In the words of the Terminator, “I’ll be back!”

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Robin C,
We appreciate your feedback and review from your week at Naturally Well by the Sea at Residence Inn Pompano Beach. We're happy to have been a part of your stay, and we're glad you found the program to be an exceptional experience. I'll be certain to pass along your compliments to Dr. Randall Hardy, Marian Tobin-Hardy, and Mamoune. We look forward to your next visit and thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Tom Hastings, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkland, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Recently stayed at this Hotel over New Years, staff was pleasant, nice beach, pool OK. Rooms have small kitchenette with full refrigerator, microwave, sink, stove top for cooking. Room furniture was a little worn but still in good taste and clean. Each room has a balcony looking at the ocean. They have a small restaurant and bar downstairs. I would stay again and try to get rooms as close to the Ocean as possible.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zzackz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
zzackz,
Thank you for writing a review from your stay with us at Residence Inn Pompano Beach. We appreciate you selecting our hotel over New Years, and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Thanks again.

Sincerely,
Tom Hastings, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarac, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

The worst hotel I have ever stayed. The most unfriendly staff. Be ready to expect dents on your car. The rooms are old. Marriott should Definitely consider checking out the horrible management here. Never would recommend to anyone. Except for the beach view they have nothing.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Romeo0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Romeo0707,
I appreciate you writing and bringing these concerns to my attention. It's unfortunate to hear of the areas we fell short in providing the exceptional stay and service that you deserve. Please know your feedback is important to us and we hope to speak with you directly regarding the issues you encountered during your stay.

Sincerely,
Tom Hastings, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
119 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The entrance to the Marriott Residence Inn can be very easy to pass up, as its elongated shape without an entrance on A1A can be hard to see. But once you find it, this is a very enjoyable stay. Parking is all valet service, sparing one having to look for parking. The suites are all spacious and well appointed, including kitchen facilities, washer & dryer and free wireless internet. The hot breakfast, also complimentary, is perfectly acceptable and add to the good value of this hotel. There is also a very nicely equipped fitness center.

Service is friendly and the late afternoon fresh baked chocolate chip cookies are just one more of the niceties that make Marriott a brand that knows how to offer friendly service to its guests
.
Much better than just another hotel on the beach, an entire suite on the ocean make this a well worthwhile place to book!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JerryTheRugGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
JerryTheRugGuy,
We appreciate you sharing reflections about your enjoyable stay with us at Residence Inn Pompano Beach. We're pleased to know our spacious accommodations, friendly service, and value added amenities perfectly suited your travel needs. We hope you'll have an opportunity to visit us again in the future. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Tom Hastings, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pompano Beach
0.1 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort in Pompano Beach, Florida
4.6 mi away
Wyndham Deerfield Beach Resort
Wyndham Deerfield Beach Resort
#2 of 18 in Deerfield Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Costa Beach Club Resort
La Costa Beach Club Resort
#14 of 36 in Pompano Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 126 reviews
1.9 mi away
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
#9 of 36 in Pompano Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,077 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Horse Motel
Sea Horse Motel
#1 of 36 in Pompano Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront

Address: 1350 North Ocean Boulevard, Pompano Beach, FL 33062 (Formerly Ocean Sands Resort & Spa)
Location: United States > Florida > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Pompano Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pompano Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Pompano Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Florida beach vacation awaits you at Residence Inn by Marriott Ft. Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront hotel located directly on the Atlantic Ocean! Experience majestic sunsets from your private balcony in a spacious suite with fully equipped kitchen. Enjoy tranquil on-site spa services at our full service spa & salon. Relax by our two sparkling swimming pools. Our Florida beach hotel blends together the best of any Stay-cation by offering stylish accommodations, delectable beachfront dining with your favorite seafood selections and rejuvenating spa experience- - all tied together with genuine hospitality. Our friendly staff is ready to help you experience the best of what you want from your oceanfront stay, whether it's rejuvenating, relaxing or experiencing exciting activities! We're ideally located just minutes to Deerfield Beach, Ft. Lauderdale, Delray Beach and Boca Raton! Among Florida beach hotels, Residence Inn by Marriott Ft. Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront hotel stands above the rest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront Hotel
Ocean Sands Hotel
Ocean Sands Resort Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing