We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring Break trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1350 North Ocean Boulevard, Pompano Beach, FL 33062 (Formerly Ocean Sands Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 35 hotels in Pompano Beach
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Spring Break trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Rooms were large and clean and kitchenette included a large fridge, microwave and 2 burner stove and a few kitchen wares. The balcony was really too small to use. They had 2 small plastic chairs on the balcony but it was cramped. The staff was very responsive to our many requests and were always friendly. We loved the free lounge chairs on the beach and beach towels. The free breakfast was pretty good and the servers kept everything full and tables clean throughout the morning. My only complaints are the restaurant was lacking but you could eat outside near the beach and Valet parking was required and $20 per day. The valets were very responsive and you could call and have your car ready but I felt that I had to keep tipping them. I finally decided to just tip once a day to each shift. The beach was nice but there is nothing in walking distance (within a mile) so you need to drive everywhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Aurore M,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us over spring break at the Residence Inn Pompano Beach. It’s great to hear you enjoyed our spacious, clean rooms and found our staff responsive and accommodating to your requests. I apologize for the areas we fell short to meet your expectations and I appreciate your valuable feedback. We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope you’ll visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Jenny Johnson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    89
    33
    16
    17
See reviews for
116
64
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Rooms are spacious and CLEAN! Love the kitchenette to make long stays affordable. Open the front door and the balcony door to catch the ocean breeze. Amazing! I have to mention that the beds are SUPER comfortable - not those cheap mattresses you'll find in some places.

The location is convenient to local grocery stores that we favor and the service was unbelievable! We mentioned it was our delayed honeymoon and the staff spent no extra time making sure we had champagne in our room to celebrate. The staff - unbelievable! <<Shout out to Richard who kept the best bar on the beach>> The breakfast buffet was great as well! And stop by the desk for a night time, home-baked cookie!

You can walk down to the beach and you can see the Lookout Point Lighthouse, pick up large pieces of coral and driftwood. The pool - especially the Jacuzzi - was relaxing. As soon as you walk out on the beach, there is a vendor that rents kayaks, boards and other fun items to make your visit memorable. Don't forget to check out the visitor center for lots of great coupons and offers for local attractions!

Room Tip: We loved our stay there and will be back! Our only change will be to get a suite at the end of the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
TampaDarlyn,
Thank you for your review and complimentary feedback on our great hotel and helpful staff. I’m glad you liked our oceanfront hotel and found the rooms to be clean, spacious and comfortable during your stay. It’s wonderful to hear your kind comments about our staff and their excellence in service. We’re happy to have been a part of your honeymoon celebrations and appreciate you choosing to stay with us at Residence Inn Pompano Beach. We enjoyed having you as our guest and we hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Jenny Johnson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I traveled from Miami to Fort Lauderdale to stay here and all I can say is Marriott should shut this place down. The building itself is dated and the furniture in the lobby is filthy, there was an orange chair as soon as you walked in that was stained black on the seat and arms. The hallways in this hotel are all exterior and the doors to the rooms are solid steel, you feel like you are in a housing project walking to your room. The room we had was absolutely disgusting, the stench of mold/moisture permeated the air. The furniture in the room was dated, scratched/chipped, and dirty. The linens on the bed had runs in the comforter and the "white" of the sheets I pulled back was tinged yellow. The balcony was very small and dirty. The second I walked into this room I called Marriott customer service and they were able to make arrangements to get me to another one of their hotels. The person I was traveling with said that if this was the first Marriott branded hotel she had ever stayed at she would NEVER stay at another one, Marriott needs to either completely rehab this location or sell this property - I am still in shock that this carries their name. I am a gold member with Marriott and was absolutely disgusted by this property. The only saving grace of this location was the staff was extremely pleasant, but that doesn't come anywhere near making up for the mess that this hotel is.

Room Tip: Do not stay at this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
dpj912,
Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize that we were unable to provide you with the exceptional stay you've come to expect from us. Your feedback provides many areas that we can work on in order to improve our guest experience. We appreciate your feedback on these areas and hope you will return and see our improvements. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Chris Floyd, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We took a mini vacation and had the pleasure of staying at the Residence Inn Pompano Beach. What a great hotel. Five stars!! Breakfast was awesome! The staff was amazing and the two room suite was beautiful. The pools and spa are clean and sparkling. The beach was gorgeous and we were only a 10 minute ride to Fort Lauderdale - we had a sneak peak at the Tortuga Festival. We rented a cabana, went for a Banana boat ride and even rented wave runners right on the beach in front of the hotel. This place has it all....and then some!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Kathy H,
We’re delighted to have had you as our guest, and appreciate you taking the time to write a review on your experience with us at Residence Inn Pompano Beach. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and all the wonderful amenities that we’re proud to offer our guests. It sounds like you had a fun mini vacation, and we’re happy to have been a part of it. We hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Jenny Johnson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Like most residence inns, its a great extended stay option except that it offers a bit more in terms of location.

This property is right on the beach. All rooms offer views of the ocean, though most views are not directly facing the ocean. The beach is clean and you can rent cabanas for $19 for entire day. They also have options of jetski, banana boat etc, while snorkeling/scuba options are 5 min drive away. The pools (there are 2 next to each other) are not too big and usually crowded, as is a small hot whirlpool next to the pools. The exercise room is bigger than most other RIs and is well equipped. They have a spa on the property which was pretty good and had good discounts for hotel guests. Their restaurant & bar is average at best. The food was OK while one of the two bartenders I dealt with was amateurish at best (didn't know how to make Long Island tea). The other one was great.

The rooms are like other RIs. Well kept, clean and well furnished. Our balcony was so small that it could not accommodate even 2.

They only have valet parking, which is well serviced but a pain regardless since getting car out may at times take a few min unless you call in advance. They also charge $19 per night (which is excessive) - being a gold member, I got a discounted rate of $12.

Front desk service was ordinary as was the case in general. The hotel was full, so we got no upgrades.

Word of caution - property is old and there are areas where it shows. Also, the property across is very noisy: depending on where your room is located, you may have to hear lot of music.

Overall, good experience. May visit again.

Room Tip: Higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Mptyspace,
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with us at the Residence Inn. We’re happy to hear you enjoyed our beach front location. I appreciate your feedback and apologize for the areas that we fell short to meet your expectations. We hope you’ll have another opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Jenny Johnson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I must give this hotel a 5 out 5 stars

1st the staff will do anything to make your stay better and more easier
2nd it is located right off the beach, you walk out of the hotel, pass thru the pools and whirpool and your by the beach, free chairs to lay, there were more than enough space and chairs at the beach, not too many at the pool tough, you can play volley ball, and other games easily, there are no people trying to sell you stuff or braid your hair, also no drinks sold at the beach for those who need it it might be a minus, but you can get it at the pool, wake up in the morning and sit by that pool, watch the sun rise, and have your coffee, amazing breathtaking view.
3rd rooms are nice, big, clean and airy, every room has a ocean view, with stove, sink, fridge, washer dryer, you have a nice full kitchen, nice tub with shower.

some Cons (maybe) Elevators can be a bit of a hassle, you need to wait for it longer than in other hotels, also the breakfast is noting major, but good enough for kids with and older people, wasn't bothered by the construction of the Marriott next door, you must use Valet parking which is $20 a day, not enough pool chairs, if you want a pool chair you better get up early to grab one.

Some Pros one pool is heated, other is more cold, they're open all the time, hot tub is awesome if its a bit cold, easy access to the pool, big room, friendly staff, and quiet pompano beach is a perfect place for a vacation without headaches, I will def return

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
wein426,
Thank you for your review. It’s great to receive your wonderful comments about our excellent staff, convenient beach front location and clean oceanview rooms. I appreciate your feedback on many areas that we can work on to improve our guest experience. We enjoyed having you as our guest and look forward to seeing you again. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Jenny Johnson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Nyack, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed two nights in March. Room was upgraded to a suite. Updated and clean. Bed was very comfortable and linens all relatively new. Ample, comfortable pillows. Private balcony with view of the beach on an upper floor. Nice and quiet. Service was terrific. Room had a functional kitchen with coffee maker and frig. Air conditioning worked wonderfully. Free breakfast buffet with a great selection. Food was consistently replenished, both hot and cold. Able to eat near the pool or outside in the yard. Beach was right outside the door of the hotel! Complimentary fruit, tea and coffee offered all day. The negative is the hotel is not in an area with much to do. Shopping requires a car.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a beach view on an upper floor! Worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Irishgram,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us at the Residence Inn. We're happy to hear from you, and we're glad to know that you enjoyed your stay. It's great to know that you enjoyed our clean and comfortable rooms as well as our friendly staff and great breakfast selection. We hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thanks again.

Sincerely,
Jenny Johnson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront

Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront Hotel
Ocean Sands Hotel
Ocean Sands Resort
Ocean Sands Resort Spa
Address: 1350 North Ocean Boulevard, Pompano Beach, FL 33062 (Formerly Ocean Sands Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Pompano Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Pompano Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Venere, Otel, Agoda, Travelocity and HotelsClick so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.