We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Marriott on the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1350 North Ocean Boulevard, Pompano Beach, FL 33062 (Formerly Ocean Sands Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 35 hotels in Pompano Beach
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
“A Nice Marriott on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Extremely clean room, excellent bed linens as always in Marriotts.

Not such a great view of the ugly roof of the building to the south of our room; tiny balcony. TV is in bad location in room that is difficult to view from bed at night. Nice little kitchen, nice sized bathroom, great towels, excellent housekeeping service; very wonderful employees, outstanding free, hot breakfast, very nice bistro with good food and excellent service.

Two pools, nice and quiet. All footsteps from the beach.

Beautiful interiors.

Excellent, top of the line spa and health club amenities!

Very recommended!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
bellavita1,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us at Residence Inn. We appreciate your high recommendation, and we hope your comments will encourage other travelers to visit us. We hope you'll have another opportunity to visit us as we hope to provide another exceptional stay.
Sincerely,
Jennifer Johnson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    96
    40
    17
    18
See reviews for
126
68
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

My family stayed at this hotel to visit our grandmother, and we were pleasantly surprised!!! Not only are the rooms extremely nice with beautiful ocean views, but they have a wonderful workout facility and a spa where you can get massages!! In addition, the staff, and manager Michael Hutchins were so kind to my 6 year old son!! We let them know we were on our way to Disneyworld and needed some advice. They took their time to give us useful suggestions and great advice!! I would not stay anywhere else. We are definitly coming back!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Anne H,
It's great to hear from you and learn about your wonderful visit with us at Residence Inn. I'm delighted to know that you and your family liked our hotel and staff. I hope you enjoyed Disney World and made many great family memories. Please come and see us again. We look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Jennifer Johnson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed only one night and had an ocean view king. The room was huge and well appointed. Comfortable bedding. Walk in shower and tub. Nice. Free net.
Amenities galore with two pools. Spa services available if that's your thing. Loads of nice common areas off the beach for relaxing. Decent breakfast included. Check in and out pretty smooth.
Only negative was the $19 valet parking fee. This certainly isn't unique to this hotel but valet is not my thing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
macndave,
It's great to hear from you. We appreciate your kind review, and we're delighted to hear of your pleasant stay with us. We hope you'll have many more opportunities to visit us and enjoy our hotel, staff, and surrounding area.
Sincerely,
Jennifer Johnson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, in
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Was told pool was heated but it is broken and both pools are cold as ice. Manager would not come out of the office to speak with me & my vacation with my 1 1/2 year old daughter is ruined. Hotel room also in need of repairs- curtains won't close in bedroom, tile is dirty. Hotel staff not very attentive-waitress was on her cell phone and ignored us. Complimentary breakfast fair to poor.

The most disturbing thing about this is that Marriott corporate is totally unhelpful either in finding another hotel for us to stay in -told me that there is nothing on the beach available in all of South Florida and then hung up on me. I WILL NEVER STAY IN ANY MARRIOTT HOTEL EVER AGAIN.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Tonya S,
Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay with us. We sincerely apologize that we were unable to provide you with the exceptional stay you've come to expect from us. The little details definitely do make a trip and we regret we missed the mark during your trip. Your feedback provides many areas that we can work on in order to improve our guest experience. We appreciate your feedback on these areas and hope you will return and see our improvements. Thank you again.
Sincerely,
Jennifer A. Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed Thanksgiving week in an oceanfront two bedroom suite. What a fabulous setup. One bedroom on the left with its own oceanfront sliding glass door and balcony, living area with couch that converts to sofabed, desk and chairs, and a big picture window facing the ocean, and one other bedroom with sliding doors that has a window and balcony. Looking at the front of the hotel with your back to the water, it is the windows in the center and the balconies on the right and left of the hotel’s front. Décor is nice as well. There was a flatscreen LG TV in each of the 3 big rooms, full kitchen, small washer/dryer, nice full length mirrors, and a safe. It appears that all rooms at this hotel have a south-facing ocean view.

Full breakfast was included. Various hot foods were alternated every 3 days or so, and there were also freshly scrambled eggs, and potato and sausage. Constants were muffins, breads, fruit, yogurt, waffle maker, oatmeal, juice and coffee. A nice variety and we were very satisfied.

We found the desk staff to be very helpful. There is valet parking only, with a daily parking charge.

Lovely beach and two swimming pools, though only one pool feels like it’s heated. There are lounge chairs to use on the beach at no additional cost; small charge for a cabana-type covering. A short walk to the inlet to the left, or a fishing pier to the right.

A few areas that need attention: room maintenance. We had a broken toilet seat, hutch door handle, and a derailed door that we had to call about for fixing. Maintenance fixed all quickly. As these issues were all very obvious to us, we would have appreciated if the housekeeping staff had noticed and reported without guests’ involvement. I have to wonder if they need additional housekeeping staff as our room was cleaned between 3 and 4pm; quite late and this is the time we’re returning to freshen up. The walls of the bathrooms need a good wipe-down. Several times we called the front desk to have our car brought around, but the valet had not received the message. While somewhat minor things, if the hotel made some adjustments as noted above, this could really be the perfect beach hotel.

There is a nice playground and outdoor adult workout area a little south of the hotel by the pier.

We ate at Houston’s on the Intracoastal and Atlantic Avenue and it was fabulous. Shopped at Publix for groceries. Dandee Donuts on Atlantic had really good donuts. We had one cloudy day so we went on an Everglades airboat ride. Check out the coupons on display near the computers in the hotel’s lobby level as there are coupons for various venues. Note the airboat ride requires purchasing earplugs which I wish I’d known; I prefer cottonballs and would use them next time instead of the bulky earplugs that don’t work well for me. We did see a large gator. Also we learned that since gators are nocturnal, it’s best to do the tour in the morning.

Taxi back to FLL airport from Residence Inn was $49 plus tip

Would I come back? Probably.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
mizlori,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us at Residence Inn. We are very glad to have had you as our guests. I'm glad you enjoyed your suite, the beach area, and our wonderful surrounding community. Please accept my apology for the housekeeping issues you encountered. Your feedback is helpful and it will be used to assist in staff development. We appreciate having you stay with us during the holiday week and hope you'll have another opportunity to visit us.

Sincerely,
Jennifer Johnson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco,NC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Had an amazing stay with my husband. With a great location helpful friendly staff and very comfortable rooms we will return.
Thank you to the front desk for their help in arranging a private car for a concert. The spa staff were excellent and the couples massage was a real treat!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
TaoFrisco_NC,

We're delighted to hear from you and receive such a wonderful review. It's great to know that you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us and expect to return. I'm glad you liked the spa, and I'm pleased to know we were able to help with your transportation needs. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

What can you say - rooms with a view - impeccable service - all the comforts of home (and probably a larger bathroom than most have at home) - hot breakfast every morning - cookies late at night - an apple during the day - sandpails for gathering seashells on the beach - oh... all at a single affordable rate!

We love Marriott - and btw - say hello to Mike, Erica and especially Richard, the best bartender on the eastcoast!

Room Tip: When the weather is nice, you can open the front door and the patio door for a beautiful ocean breez...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Darla G,
Thank you for your wonderful review. We're pleased to hear of your great stay with us at Residence Inn. I'm glad to know that you liked our property and friendly staff. We hope you'll plan to visit us again for another exceptional visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront

Address: 1350 North Ocean Boulevard, Pompano Beach, FL 33062 (Formerly Ocean Sands Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Pompano Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Pompano Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Pompano Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront Hotel
Ocean Sands Hotel
Ocean Sands Resort Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.