We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront to your Saves list
Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1350 North Ocean Boulevard, Pompano Beach, FL 33062 (Formerly Ocean Sands Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Pompano Beach
Mequon WI
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Feels like home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

We've been coming to this hotel for the past several years. The beach location is wonderful. When you step off the hotel grounds, you are directly on the wide stretch of beach. If you walk to the north you'll be looking at a beautiful lighthouse and the inlet to the intracoastal waterway. It's fun to sit there and watch the boats coming through. If you decide to walk south on the beach, you'll be going towards the Pompano Pier where you can watch people fish or just relax on the pier. The beach is populated but I've never found it to be over-crowded. I'm not sure you could find a better beach location. The hotel is well equipped and very comfortable. Our suite had a kitchen (full sized refrigerator, 2 burner glass cook top, dishwasher, etc.), one bath (I liked that the shower and toilet were separate from the sink and bathtub), two queen beds, washer/dryer, a sitting area and a small balcony. The beds are very comfortable and each bed had a wonderful selection of pillows--some soft and some firm. The hotel serves free breakfast each day. You can make your own waffles, have cold cereal, oatmeal, scrambled eggs, etc. The hotel has two small pools and a hot tub. The hotel also has a small shop where you can buy necessities, snacks, beverages and quick meals. There is a restaurant on the premises which we did not try. We have ordered from room service and found it to be very good. Parking space is limited in the area, so all parking is handled by the hotel's valet service. It is sometimes a little frustrating that you can't just jump in your car and go, but you can call the valet's and they'll have your car waiting for you if that is your preference. The staff at the hotel seems friendlier than ever which made us feel very comfortable in the hotel. We were greeted regularly by maintenance people, restaurant staff, valets, cleaning staff, and the desk staff. There are not many businesses near the hotel that you can walk to (other than restaurants in other nearby hotels). You'll need a car to get to restaurants or stores.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have an ocean view...but the closer you get to the ocean the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    103
    41
    16
    18
See reviews for
139
70
11
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
st. paul, minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

This is our second visit to this hotel; and, once again, we really enjoyed ourselves (4 adults and 3 children). This time, we stayed in an oceanfront suite..a small living room flanked by 2 bedrooms, 2 baths, and a very small kitchen. It had gorgeous floor to ceiling windows and 2 small balconies which overlooked sand, ocean and pool.

A wonderful hot breakfast was included in our room charges which started each day in a positive manner.

Most importantly, the staff here are very professional and really want to make your stay enjoyable. HUGE thanks to Michael and Gilbert at the front desk. Also thanks for their help and great smiles to Richard (Bar), Gracie (Breakfasts) and Cathy (Front desk), and the friendly, efficient serving/cleaning staff. Michelle rocks at parking.

The only things missing here are fun, small restaurants and shopping within walking distance. However, that's not Marriott's fault.

Room Tip: You'll get a better view on the higher floors and closer to the front (ocean).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Admin at Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Dear kaiser13: Thank you for staying with us again! We appreciate the wonderful review. Thank you for giving kudos to several of our staff members. We’ve been sure to let them know they’ve been recognized. We look forward to seeing you and your family for a third time!

Sincerely,

Melvern Williamson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

My husband, 8-month old son and I stayed at the Pompano Beach Residence Inn while my husband was in town to do business. We wanted to be on the beach and are loyal Marriott guests, so we opted for this property. It's a lovely hotel, literally right on the beach and has great views nearly everywhere you look. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful and upgraded us to a two-bedroom, high-floor suite. The room itself was HUGE and very nicely appointed with a full kitchen. It had balconies in every room with ocean views. All in all, the property itself warrants 4.5 stars.

However, we were disappointed in several other areas - namely the parking situation and the food. Getting in and out of the hotel was a huge hassle, which is why I assume they have mandatory valet. The property and driveway is narrow and one way, so a valet takes your car upon arrival to park it. But the lines were often long and took forever, then getting your car also took forever when you wanted to leave, even if you called ahead. This was just an inefficient operation, but unfortunately, it would be even worse if guests were allowed to self-park just due to the nature of the driveway and traffic flow.

The food and restaurant were also disappointing. Yes, they had a nice breakfast spread for free every morning, but the food lacked in quality and taste. We also ordered poolside lunch one day, and we had the same experience - just poor food quality and taste. So either plan to eat out or plan to buy groceries and cook for yourself... Speaking of eating out, Pompano Beach is kind of a sad little beach town that was clearly hit hard by the economy, so there aren't too many convenient restaurant options unless you're willing to drive.

Another plus was the spa, which was located right in the hotel (surprising for a Residence Inn). They have a great 1-hour massage special for $69 for guests and it was quite a nice spa and massage. So I highly recommend this.

The pool area was nicely kept and clean, but small. The beach itself is right there, however, and you can rent cabanas all day for $25.

All in all, this property was nice but really could use some improvements in a few areas.

Pros: right on beach, nice physical property, friendly front-desk and food staff, spa
Cons: parking situation (and unfriendly valet parkers), food quality, not much around the hotel itself

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Admin at Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Dear fusfus77: Thank you for your candid review of our property. We appreciate the helpful information to travelers. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and the great views from your suite to the ocean. Additionally, we appreciate your comments on the food offerings and will review with our staff. We hope to see you next time you want a beach getaway!

Sincerely,

Melvern Williamson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

First time at this hotel, and will definitely return. Nothing but praise for the staff after a two-week stay. Everyone was friendly, helpful, professional, and accommodating. When we requested replacement tissues, towels, etc. they were delivered to our room almost immediately. The room was large, clean, and had a wonderful view of the ocean and beach and had full kitchen facilities. Cleaning staff even ran the dishwasher which was not expected. Great buffet breakfast.

Room Tip: Nicest views are close to front (ocean) side and high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Admin at Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Dear Pzeeb: Thanks so much for your glowing review! We are so glad the staff exceeded your expectations and you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come back and see us when you return to the beach!

Sincerely,

Melvern Williamson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

If you plan to fly in early and hope to check in earlier than 4pm forget about it !! this hotel seems to have a strict no early check in policy. we drove over from the west coast of Florida to have dinner with Family who were only in town for 1 night before going on a cruise . we requested an early check in and arrived at 12pm so we could relax before meeting up for dinner . when we arrived we were told they had no rooms available yet and " our check -in time is 4pm " . OK no big deal we thought and went to have lunch at their nice little restaurant overlooking the beach . the food was good there and was a nice setting. we returned to the desk at 1pm and was told no room available yet and " our check in time is 4 pm " . we travel to about 4-5 hotel and/or resort stays every yr and everybody's check in time is 4pm but this was the first time we saw it enforced . they did not start handing out rooms till about 3:45 and we received ours exactly at 4. other than that the place is in a nice location and every room has an ocean view . if we were staying longer than 1 night and not spending 4 hrs of it in the Lobby we probably would of enjoyed it more.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Admin at Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Dear: Beanie1099: Thank you for your candid review. I apologize that we were unable to accommodate an early check-in on your arrival date. While we try to accommodate requests, it's not always possible. Please feel free to contact in person on your next trip, we will try to accommodate your early checkin request as best we can.

Sincerely,

Melvern Williamson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sterling heights
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012 via mobile

We are just ending our stay tonight going one tomorrow. We have spent a whole week here, my husband and I. Had a great time really liked the hotel. The people were more than accommodating, whatever you need just ask. The room was clean, a nice size, love the kitchen area with full size fridg and all! The location is perfect, I loved the pools. One is heated and one is cold. I loved the cold pool!!!
I would recommend alone to stay here. The only complaint we had to keep asking for towels. They brought them to our room right away. It we shouldn't have to ask.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Admin at Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Dear Marilb: Thank you for your wonderul review! We are so glad you enjoyed your suite as well as the outdoor pools! We have reviewed the towel issue w/ our entire staff so we can improve efficiency. We hope to see you again :)

Sincerely,

Melvern Williamson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Stayed only one night prior to a cruise. Beachfront is great and the way the building is set, all rooms get oceanview. The rooms are spacious with a washer/dryer...you have beach view out of your door and your patio. My kids enjoyed the pool. The free breakfast was ok...a bit crowded and not all the terrific The drive in/out is whacky...as is the front desk/elevator set up. I would most certainly stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Admin at Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Dear AmyinVail: Thanks so much for posting a review of our property! I can see from your profile that you are an avid skiier so i'm sure it's great to get to the beach every now and then as well! I hope you had a great cruise. Please stop and see us again when you are headed for some R&R.

Sincerely,

Melvern Williamson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront

Address: 1350 North Ocean Boulevard, Pompano Beach, FL 33062 (Formerly Ocean Sands Resort & Spa)
Location: United States > Florida > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Pompano Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Pompano Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Pompano Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront Hotel
Ocean Sands Hotel
Ocean Sands Resort Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.