We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of hidden charges” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort in Pompano Beach, Florida

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort in Pompano Beach, Florida to your Saves list
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort in Pompano Beach, Florida
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Briny Avenue, Pompano Beach, FL 33062   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Pompano Beach
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beware of hidden charges”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

My receipt, at check-in, showed a daily "cleaning fee", though the management made it very clear that they only clean twice week. When I questioned the charge the manager shrugged and said, "It is sort of a tax". On check out, I asked again, different person, and they first said, " It is for the change of towels"...then they said, " Maybe it is because you didn't pay cash." They couldn't even give me a straight answer. It wasn't the amount so much, the issue here is transparency! Don't surprise me! Add the fee to the rate! As for the queen room, it is very small, little room to move around and the microwave is precariously situated on the top shelf of the closet. The bedspread looked tattered. I would recommend a larger room with a kitchen if this place is your choice, but do ask about hidden charges. I actually felt sorry for the manager. I could tell she was embarrassed by charging the fee.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kkaram, Owner at Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort in Pompano Beach, Florida, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your review. Your time is very valuable and spending it giving the hotel a review is helpful not only to others looking for a hotel on the beach but the hotel as well. We send confirmation letters with all charges added including a 3% service fee. This service fee can be deleted if cash is paid instead of payment through credit card means. We asked you as well as everyone visiting if they would like to pay cash or credit. We leave the choice to the customer. Transparency is always confirmed in writing as soon as the booking is done. If there was a question with any charges, it should have been addressed prior to check in. Had you also read the reviews of other guests, you would have known about the size of the motel rooms and other room options. Most of the rooms are studio's or apartments with kitchens. Only the motel rooms do not have kitchens. We try to accommodate the guests even in motel rooms with a small refrigerator, microwave, coffee pot and toaster. You wanted an oceanfront room and the only one available when you booked the reservation was a motel room. Our reservation desk is extremely open as far as the size and amenities included in each room and try to make sure the customer knows that the motel rooms do not include kitchens and are the smallest of all the rooms. We regret you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel and wish we could make up for it. Be assured that because of your review, our reservation desk will be at the top of their game with explanations of all charges and amenities included. Kindly....Karen Karam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    95
    18
    10
    8
See reviews for
134
117
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deerfield Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My family of four adults and 3 dogs comfortably stayed at this hotel for 10 days while we waited for our movers to arrive from Colorado. We rented their "2 room" unit which felt like a vacation rental because it was so big! It had one king size bed in the first room, and a kitchen, Dining area and sofa bed in the back room.

Immediately when we arrived we noticed how clean it was. Clean ceramic tile throughout, kitchen was immaculate... and keep in mind folks that this is a beachfront location so you're not going to see much luxury upgrades anywhere near the beach because of the salt water erosion. This place has its own private beach!

I liked how our room was ground level (no stairs to go up and down) and there were entrance doors in the front and the back. The kitchen was stocked with a bin of pots, pans, cups, coffee mugs, plates and utensils, can and beer openers, etc. the fridge already had some ice prepared for us, and it also had a mini stove and oven, microwave and COFFEE machine!

The a/c units in both rooms worked great and cooled down very quickly. The beds were clean and i saw the cleaning ladies were washing the quilted comforter of another room that checked out which made me feel good that those were washed as some bigger hotels don't even bother. Cleaning is twice a week (good since we had dogs), but they come around with fresh towels and soap every day.

Each room opens up to a beautiful pool courtyard with large tiki huts, brick barbecue grills and patio seating everywhere. I loved that they put long pool chairs out facing the ocean so you could easily take a nap after looking at the beach view.

Other guests that arrived were very friendly and we made some new friends throughout our stay. During the earlier part of the week there are less guests so we literally felt like we had the whole hotel to ourselves.

My dogs also loved the hotel. We kept them on a retractable leash all the time while in the courtyard, and took them for walks across the street to do their business. So the grounds are very clean because pets can't go potty in the courtyard.

We went to the Walgreens 1 block away within walking distance to pickup soda, coffee, water and snacks. We ordered delivery pizza also which brought dinner straight to the door (Umbertos of Pompano beach has the best brick oven Long Island stye pizza). Each unit has parking space and we parked our two cars back to back. You can walk to the main pompano beach shopping/restaurant area. Every weekend they had live music.

The prices are EXCeLLeNT!! Much cheaper than going to a hotel, and better location and views. Plus it is much cheaper going here than doing a vacation rental condo, and you get pretty much the same or better room. + free wifi !!!! And we had 2 tvs (one flat screen LcD wall mounted!!) with cable tv.

I have to say that the owners, managers and staff really strive to make you feel at home. They are super friendly and care about their guests and their resort. This is a nice family friendly resort and also great for couples, groups of friends, and "staycations."

(Please forgive my grammar as I'm on an iPad w/ autocorrect)

Room Tip: Basically everywhere you stand has ocean views! They have ground level and second floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The place has great points such as the oceanfront location and well kept pool and grounds.

But some of the rooms need updating. The bed had a lumpy mattress, old linens a worn-out pillows. Not all blinds were closing. Not enough lounges and outdoor tables for guests.They were taken by a large group of guests and their visitors.

No ice machine on the premises. No coffee in the room.

Bring your coffee, bring your beach towel, bring your shampoo, bring soap, and bring your ice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kkaram, Owner at Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort in Pompano Beach, Florida, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
The hotel always takes each review seriously and this one is very upsetting. Had you read the previous reviews, you would have known all about the hotel. Some beds are firmer than others and we always have foam toppers or firmness measures to accommodate our guests. Any amenities you would have needed are also available at the front desk. Just ask and we will do our best to perform. Our only goal is to make each and every guest comfortable with an enjoyable visit. More than likely you were visiting the hotel during a holiday weekend when it is very busy. There are only 24 rooms but during summer holidays there are many families taking most of the hotel. A brief request to the office would have solved any problem you would have had and afforded you beach towels, ice, shampoo etc.. Please accept our apology for a unpleasant stay and wish we could have had a chance to make it wonderful for you. Kindly....Karen Karam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The staff was so great! The locations is amazing! This place feels like a family vacation home. the out side area is designed so every room feels like it has their own "private" out door area. the playground was great for the kids. The beach is AMAZING! this is definitely the best hotel in this area!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Super nice staff!!! Perfect layout for large groups. Nice part of the beach. Could use some updates. Enjoyed our stay.

Super nice staff!!! Perfect layout for large groups. Nice part of the beach. Could use some updates. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

First time vacation at this out-of-the way resort. It's located parallel to AIA with immediate ocean access and pool area. Great for family reunions. Great atmosphere and very nice staff. Spent a delightful week knowing we could leave our room door open. It's close to shopping and dining on A1A and Atlantic Blvd.

Room Tip: Suites with kitchens and large living rooms are worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eatonton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort in Pompano Beach, Florida. The layout with the nice pool and Tiki Hut at the center, volleyball net on the fairly private beach, and shuffleboard make it a nice place for our annual family "beach week". Karen, Susan, and other staff were very efficient, cooperative, and friendly. We look forward to many happy years.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort in Pompano Beach, Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort in Pompano Beach, Florida

Address: 300 Briny Avenue, Pompano Beach, FL 33062
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pompano Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Pompano Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort in Pompano Beach, Florida 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort in Pompano Beach, Florida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort In Pompano Beach, Florida Hotel Pompano Beach
Ebb Tide Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort in Pompano Beach, Florida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.