We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible management” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Surf Rider Resort By Evrentals

Surf Rider Resort By Evrentals
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pompano Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Surf Rider Resort By Evrentals
Save
You added Surf Rider Resort By Evrentals to your Saves list
1441 S Ocean Blvd, Pompano Beach, FL 33062   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Horrible management”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

The location is ok,but the furniture and facilites are out dated. The management is unresponsive to complaints. There was work being done on the floor above us with drilling and hammering for over 4 hrs and when we called to complain we were basically told too bad. No offer to relocate us to another room or to compensate our inconvience. The person in the office, Milly, actually had the nerve to advised us that it was an improvement on the property which was going to benefit us, even when she advised the project may continue the next day. Needless to say I will not be returning to this property again and will make sure every review site is aware how guests are treated.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    13
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
19
8
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

This resort is a friendly warm well situated location in Pompano Beach Florida, and the people are extremely friendly. We have stayed there before and recently they have updated and renovated the rooms and they have added new TV's and a great cable package. You are situated across the street from the beach with a private entrance gate with a code to access the beach. This is not some big fancy corporately run hotel resort complex where sometimes your are treated like a number, here it is all about relationships. Here from the time you arrive your are treated like a family guest and they truly go out of their way to please you. The main attraction and the focal point of the place is their pool. It is large with palm trees and sunny all day long in the pool area. At the time we were their they had an artist redoing the wall mural near the pool. It was a great sight to see. The overall comfort level is good at some would say the resort and the rooms could be considered modest, however they very comfortable and has everything you need and then some. The value for money is strong and would definitely recommend this resort. It is quiet and you are close to awesome shopping, nightlife, dining and more.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We've been staying at the comfortable, 50 unit Surf Rider Resort, actually in Lauderdale- By-The Sea, for the last several Februarys and couldn't be happier. First, the location is perfect with beach access across the street and just a short drive or walk to shopping, restaurants etc. The resort has a very large, heated pool with lots of lounges and is surrounded on three sides, so on a cool, breezy days you are comfortable sitting out and on a warmer day the beautiful, un-crowded beach is steps away. The grounds are beautifully kept with an large outdoor BBQ and some 1st floor units have patios. Howard & Amanda at the front desk are very friendly & helpful and will book excursions for you & and there are weekly activities where all are welcome. The resort has been renovated this Fall with all new furniture, bedroom carpeting and draperies and the kitchen was redone just a few years ago. A washer/dryer in each unit and 1 & 1/2 bath is a great addition, as is the very thick and comfortable queen sized Murphy bed in the LR. Our 1 BR unit has a fully stocked kitchen with dishwasher & garbage disposal. Renting at Surf Rider is a great value as compared to other large, high end resorts.

Room Tip: There is an elevator in this 3 fl resort, but some 1st floor units have patios and coming and going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We have been going to this resort for almost 10 years. The Surf Rider has clean , comfortable accomodation and the pool is the best! The recent renovations have made a big difference-especially the kitchen! Always great to use the spotless BBQ which is cleaned daily. The resort is just across the street from the beach and close to shopping and entertainment venues. The front desk is very helpful. Howard has been there for many years and only he could get parents, grandparents and children to their cruise port without a hitch. He did it all!

If you are looking for clean , comfortable family friendly accomodation, this is the place!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Let me start off by saying two things: 1) My parents have owned a timeshare here for 25 years, so I cannot review the dollar value/rental cost and 2) if you are looking for an upscale, 5-star, glam hotel to rest your head, this is not the place.

Having said all that, my husband and I just spent a week in the timeshare unit and we had a blast. Check-in was quick and easy, and the staff was very helpful and pleasant. We had a one bedroom unit with a Murphy bed in the living room, so it sleeps 4 total. In 25 years, the upholstery on the furniture and the bedspread have not been changed - cleaned, for sure, but not updated. They might want to get on that. Outside of that, everything else is pretty updated: flat screen tv's in both living room and bedroom, tile floors, dishwasher, microwave, etc. The thing I love about timeshares is that you can "move-in" and be at home for the week. Everything is provided from cookware to bed linens. We knew we didn't want to spend a lot of money eating out, so the first stop after check-in was to the Publix just down the street...and the liquor store of course. Great food & wine selections. We cooked most of our meals in, though we did grill on the bbq out by the pool a couple of days. As I said, we weren't looking to spend a whole lot of money eating out, so it worked out perfectly for us.

Directly across the street is a private beach to which all guests have access...it's a little hidden path in between the buildings, but once you go through you end up on a beautiful beach that never seemed to be crowded no matter what time we went. I had forgotten that the water is still a bit turquoise around these parts, so it made for a lovely view. When we weren't at the beach, we were at the pool, which is a pretty good size, and also never seemed to be that crowded.

Surf Rider is about a 5 minute drive from the Ft. Lauderdale area, 45 minutes to Miami, and about 4 hrs from Key West. We didn't hit Miami this time around, but we made the drive to Key West for a day trip and it was totally worth it! If you want to stay local, there are a bunch of restaurants, museums, and shops in a 10 mile radius that should keep you occupied. Though there are buses that run right by the resort, if you can swing a rental car, you will be better off and glad you did.

Overall, we had a great time. It served our purposes just fine and we're already making plans for next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingwood, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This unit #115 was exchanged for another time share week. The ratan furniture was "tired" and could use updating. The tile floors were great ! The carpet was old and really needed to be replaced. Our unit had 1 BR, Murphy bed and 1 1/2 baths with a full kitchen and lots of accessories. It was a great location for me and the kids. We mostly just slept there and the beds were comfortable. The courtyard and pool were really nice. It looks like they were beginning to renovate the building so far mostly on the outside. Across the street was a private enterance to the beach..nice! The location was good close to Lauderdale by the Sea with lots of things to do in the area.
I must say that "Howard" the front desk / concierge was "awsome". Howard assisted with age appropriate places for the kids and hot spots in the area. Having kids of his own he was very knowledgable of what to do and went over above and beyond to make sure all our needs were met. (There were many!) "Howie your the best"! Customer service that can't be beat !!! I have to thank John too for helping the kids open the coconuts..the hard way!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

we stayed for a week, private access to beach across the street, clean room (one bedroom) dated decor, but renovated, tiles from entrance, kitchen, living room and bathroom, furnished kitchen with dishwasher, toaster blender. big pool, nice staff, welcome breakfast free Tuesday, free hotdogs Wednesday. the only downside is the bedroom and walk in closet has carpet, and bedroom smell, water damage on the side of the floor in the walkin closet, but other than that had a good stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surf Rider Resort By Evrentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Rider Resort By Evrentals

Address: 1441 S Ocean Blvd, Pompano Beach, FL 33062
Location: United States > Florida > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Pompano Beach
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Surf Rider Resort By Evrentals Hotel Pompano Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf Rider Resort By Evrentals, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.