We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine facilities, terrible service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Palm-Aire

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Palm-Aire to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Wyndham Palm-Aire
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2601 Palm Aire Drive North, Pompano Beach, FL 33069 (Formerly Palm Aire Resort and Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 35 hotels in Pompano Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
US
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fine facilities, terrible service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We booked this resort as a result of a timeshare my parents have. The facilities are nice for a family with young kids - the pool is great with a slide, there are various activities, and it has a sister share by the beach, which we took advantage of once. The things that really take away from the resort is the staff and service. Literally, every encounter with the staff during our stay was met with attitude, indifference or just plain rudeness. We travel frequently and this was by far the most unpleasant, across the board staff/service we've seen. The staff never smiled when we encountered them either in the hallway or when we needed information, and the deli staff scowled or barked responses each and every time. It honestly took away from our whole stay, and I wouldn't want to stay here again other than the fact that the kids liked the pool. The location is also pretty inconvenient as whole, unless you're solely going to play golf nearby or go to the horse track. It takes a minimum of 20 minutes to the beach or Ft. Lauderdale, if there's no traffic (which is almost never).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    139
    207
    87
    49
    42
See reviews for
254
109
8
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Daytona Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Numerous problems with our suite in Areca Palm building. Overheard staff saying contractors had not signed off on rooms after renovation. Our bed collapsed the second night and it took 4 phone calls to get it fixed the next day. Toilet overflowed because we did not have a plunger in the suite. Maintenance unclogged it and used our towels to clean up overflow from floor. Called housekeeping to have the floor mopped. Housekeeper arrived and Sid she did not see any "poopie" on the floor and left. Floor was never sanitized! Following us a list of all issues we had:
Coffee maker timer broken
Ironing board cover missing
Broken soap dish
No trash can in kitchen
No hot water first night
Drain clogged in master shower
Safe wouldn't work due to bad batteries
Bed collapsed
Toilet overflowed
Floor not mopped after toilet overflowed
No carpet sweeper in unit
Dishwasher drain clogged
Room not ready when we arrived at 6 pm even though check in was at 4 pm
Garbage disposal not working properly
Room not ready for occupancy. Not properly inspected.





Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Wyndham Palm-Aire, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We sincerely apologize for the many issues you encountered during your stay including maintenance and cleanliness in the unit. We take the safety and satisfaction of a guest stay very seriously. Please rest assured that we are looking into this issue. We will be taking action to ensure that this not an issue for future guests. Again, thanks for taking the time to reach out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I have never written a review before but I feel I need to warn about the terrible service that received here. The check in was uneventful, we unpacked our bags and went grocery shopping. When we returned to our room to put away the groceries we discovered a huge cockroach infestation. Every time I opened a cupboard they scattered, it was disgusting!
The worst part was how they dealt with it. I called down to the desk and informed them of the problem and that we needed to be moved immediately so they didn't get into our luggage. They said they would send someone so we packed up all of our stuff and waited over an hour, at which point we called down again. They said they were busy and would send someone as soon as possible. We walked all the way to the main building to get a cart for our luggage and groceries so the bugs didn't get into them. a couple hours and several phone calls later we were finally assigned another room. No one came to help us move, so we hauled all of our stuff to a different building, only to discover that the room that they gave us didn't exist! I wish I was kidding but this is true.
I called to the front desk again and after waiting on hold AGAIN they said to come to the main desk to get it sorted out. So we hauled all of our stuff to the main building (groceries melting) and waited for yet another room assignment. Finally we got another room (which actually existed this time) but it was set to have renovations done part way through the week so 3 days later we had to pack everything up and move yet again. so 2 full days of our vacation were spent moving from building to building which was very disappointing.
What was most disappointing was how little they seemed to care and how unhelpful they were. I could have excused everything else if they had been more accommodating during the very frustrating experience. Im sure like all of the other posts they will respond with some contrite apology about how this was unfortunate but happens, but as far as im concerned bad staff is bad staff. Then they called everyday to get us to go to a timeshare presentation! Its too bad they weren't as concerned about our stay as they were abut trying to sell us a timeshare.

Room Tip: check cupboards for roaches before unpacking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Wyndham Palm-Aire, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Hi Tamara,

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback regarding the lack of Count On Me service at our resort. We take the safety and comfort of each guest very seriously. Please rest assured that we are looking into this issue and would be happy to further discuss your comments with you. Please email WVROnlineCare@wyn.com. Again, thank you for reaching out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

stayed 2 this resort on october 8-15 in a 2brm deluxe suite while staying there woke up one night scratching an itching went 2 the next rm where my mom slept an ask her if she had cortisen cream i then not knowing about bedbugs not knowing the symthoms so the morning was my chec out date woke up 2 bliters on ams an leg so i spoke 2 the housekeeping supporvisor he dont think is bedbeds but he saw the rash i encountered on my skin i couldnt wait around cause i had 2 catch the nex flight out wen wyndham contact me i will tell which room i stayed in has the bed bugs soon 2 be infested...........

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Wyndham Palm-Aire, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Hi Lisa,

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We take the safety and comfort of each guest very seriously. Please rest assured that we are looking into this and will be taking action to eliminate the issue for future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We booked a deluxe one bedroom suite. The room was spacious and clean. They replenished towels when we requested them but a mid-week cleaning is not included. The wireless was not working in our room and had to be rebooted. The pool was small but adequate and no lifeguard. The big pool was a nice long walk from our room. Activities are limited and a revised activity schedule would have been nice for the days that it rained. We also found their recommended restaurants to be mediocre and nothing to write home about.

My wife and i always take massages while on vacation. The Soleil Spa is not an Elizabeth Arden Red Door Spa. They give you a robe but no slippers and there is no water or fruit prior to or after your massage. The real disappointment was that although there was a steam room, the temperature was not high enough. The sauna was not working and when I reported this, the staff was completely unaware that it didn't work.

Time shares are known for their come-ons to get you to attend a presentation. Club Wyndham is no different. However, the pressure to purchase was relentless. A presentation, a push by our sales consultant, her supervisor and the closer manager. Even the individual who supposedly was giving you your gift, gave you a sales pitch and then you saw another person for your actual gift. NEVER AGAIN WILL I STAY AT A WYNDHAM BECAUSE OF THE INSENSITIVITY OF THEIR SALES STAFF.

The Wyndham Palm-Aire provides adequate value but if you have traveled extensively, this is a place to avoid.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been recently updated. The location is a good distance from the beach durin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Wyndham Palm-Aire, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We are sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. Our goal is to make each guest feel at home with a kitchen and laundry. Because we have condo-style units, certain hotel amenities such as daily housekeeping do not exist. We strive to provide this information to the guests through our website and confirmation letters. We apologize for any confusion and will work to better communicate this through additional channels in the future. We also apologize for any issues regarding your Wi-Fi service. As you know, we have many resorts which house a large number of guests and their wireless devices. We are working to better the wireless connection at our resorts but this process will take some time. We are disappointed to hear your interaction with our resort staff did not meet your expectations. We know that while on vacation it is important to be treated well. We sincerely appreciate the feedback and will be taking action to ensure that this is not an issue for future guests. Again, thanks for taking the time to reach out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slsuarez75
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I thought it was a beautiful hotel. I spent one night only but my daughter loved the pool and the water slide. There were a few negatives I felt needed major improvement. The main pool area's water slide is hardly ever opened. The life guard they hired to look after this area kept leaving and ofcourse would lock the entrance to the slide very often upsetting my daughter and the children visiting. The bar was also a major negative to me as it looked filthy and after one drink I decided just to bring my own drinks from the room. Other than that the hotel had an amazing happy staff at check in and the rest of the amenities were amazing. The beach was also very close and as a guest you had access to the sister hotel. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: Request a room on the floor overlooking the pool you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, CLUB WYNDHAM Social Media Team at Wyndham Palm-Aire, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for providing this great feedback. We are so happy that your daughter enjoyed the pool and water slide. We appreciate the feedback regarding the main pool and bar, as we are always looking for ways to improve. It is always great to hear of positive encounters with our staff. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinton, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Wyndham palm aire was a nice restful stay ,a swim in the pool , a short walk to a shopping area ,as well as some good food ,slept in and it felt good .

The main areas by the pool in the Fountain building was quite noisy but we were in the royal which is a short 4 story building with the spa attached as well as a quiet pool out back . The pool was warm and comfortable ,we found a friend (a cute 10 inch lizard) and a pool with birds , fish , and 2 species of turtles of various sizes . There is a bar by the main building as well as a snack bar for burgers and such but is only open from noon til 6 pm .

We opted to walk to Applebys for a steak and a cocktail ,very nice . There are a few other eateries close by as well as a Walmart for a little shopping

Room Tip: the Royal building is very quiet and has a nice little pool with no kids , but if you want nite life...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, CLUB WYNDHAM Social Media Team at Wyndham Palm-Aire, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Hi Allen,

Thank you for providing such great feedback including amenities in the area. We hope you come back to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyndham Palm-Aire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Palm-Aire

Address: 2601 Palm Aire Drive North, Pompano Beach, FL 33069 (Formerly Palm Aire Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Pompano Beach
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Palm-Aire 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Wyndham Palm-Aire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Palm-Aire Hotel Pompano Beach
Wyndham Pompano Beach
Palm Aire Resort
Pompano Beach Wyndham
Palmaire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Palm-Aire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.