We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough property, unappealing location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Palm-Aire

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Palm-Aire to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Palm-Aire
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2601 Palm Aire Drive North, Pompano Beach, FL 33069 (Formerly Palm Aire Resort and Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% Off Discount
Ranked #13 of 35 Hotels in Pompano Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice enough property, unappealing location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a week, after staying at another Wyndham property in the area. We would have enjoyed staying at the other property where we had been, the Wyndham sea gardens. The location was boring and kind of ugly, far from the beach and anything we wanted to do. Inland Pompano beach is drab, and supposedly there was a golf course but i never saw it. It would probably be a good place for people with kids as there were lots of pools and kid stuff. They had a great gym, friendly staff, if a little pushy for the time share sales push. The property feels a little run down but not terrible or anything.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    218
    94
    50
    43
See reviews for
273
110
8
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights December 10th -December 12th and had a great stay!

Check in: We requested an early check in & the lady at the front desk had a horrible attitude. I explained to her that I called earlier and just wanted to put my name on a list in case a room became available earlier. I guess she could tell I was slightly annoyed by how rude she was and all of a sudden a room instantly became available and she could check us in. They required a credit card with a $150 hold which is removed 1-2 business days after checking out. She gave us our keys and told me to head over to another desk to get our parking pass and "Welcome Package".

At the other desk another guy gave us some information on things to do in the area, our parking pass and signed us up for a free $75 American Express gift card. My husband had no idea it was a timeshare presentation but I did. He said we'd get a free lunch and to come by around 11:45am the following day to get our welcome gift. He never said it was a presentation. When we got in the car I explained that to my husband and he said let's give a shot anyways I always wanted to get some information on timeshares, how much they are and how they work.

Room: We had a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom unit! This is all that was available when we booked back in April 2012. The place was fantastic! Very clean, modern and up to date. The king size bedroom had an awesome jacuzzi bathtub & huge bathroom attached. Our balcony looked out to the pool and there was music playing until about 10pm. This did not bother us at all, but for some people it would. We were in the Sable building room #285. The kitchen was very nice, there was also a washer & dryer. The second bedroom had 2 full size beds and another bathroom attached. Overall we enjoyed the unit!

Location: This property is close to everything! There is a Wal-mart directly across the street and about 5-10 minutes away there are tons of restaurants. We even went to the Sawgrass Mall which is about 20 minutes away to check that out too & it was amazing!

Timeshare Presentation: When we got there we had to fill out a form asking our about incomes and marital status. Then we were assigned a representative named George. He asked us if we wanted lunch which we both declined but we did have some soda. He then talked about vacationing and traveling and how important it is to him. He went on about his life and how he has a timeshare that he loves. About an hour in he finally started to go over pricing which my husband was asking about the whole time $44,000 is the price list he gave us. He then explained today is the only day to get this deal and we better act fast. My husband and I laughed. No way were we going to pay that or a make a decision on the spot like that. He went on and on and brought other people over with other "deals". Overall we were there for a little over 2 hours. We finally got out of it, got our $75 gift card and a t-shirt and vowed to never go to another one of those again. Do yourself a favor & don't waste your time.

Overall: The property was very nice & we would definitely stay again, just be sure to stay away from the timeshare presentation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed in a 2BR the week of Thanksgiving. Had to haggle with front desk to try to get a pool view room. We stayed in Sabal Palm Building; lobby was freezing. Decent room, however beds were absolutely horrible. It felt like there was a hole in each side of the bed; couldn't sleep at all, and woke up with backache. They have a quiet time policy from 10 or 11pm to 7 am, however the music from the lobby and out in pool area was blaring after 1100, and it seemed like it was right outside the window. Called front desk twice before they could get maintenance to resolve problem. Had to call again the next night for same reason. Wi-fi was not working in our building; we were told it was being worked on, and we called daily, & got the same answer each time. The main reason for choosing this resort was because of the 3 pools they had; one with a water slide. The pool with the water slide is not heated, and was too cold for my daughter or any of us to swim in. The pool that was heated seemed to be nice at first. But by the 3rd or 4th day as people began using it more, it seemed that the debris kept building up; both pools had a film and debris on the top of it. Notified guest services twice; they finally sent someone to take a look at it; they stated that they did not have anyone on site to maintain their pools, that they had to outsource it. These men that came to look at the pool looked bewildered by the problem, like they had never seen anything like it before, and did not know what to do. They were definitely not pool guys! The pool had not been cleaned once nor the bacteria levels checked at all, making it very unsanitary and could have caused us all to get sick. We did not go in the pool after this. Very shocked and disappointed to find out that they do not care for the pools and would allow bacteria levels to get to the point where guests could get sick. Would not recommend this resort to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms with pool views are the best; the others will not have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here after deciding to take a last minute trip with friends. It turned out to be a really good choice. We usually stay at all inclusive resorts so this was new for us. 2 couples stayed in a 2 room suite and there was plenty of space. It was fully furnished plus a washer/ dryer set (the dryer never did dry our clothes thought), we went to Wal-Mart for supplies for the week and only spent $90 for 4 adults. Talk about a money saver! There weren't many "fun" activities to do on the resort so we headed out most of the time but the staff was always courteous and prompt. I would consider this an "old people" resort, as not many people my age (31) were there without kids. Majority of the guests were retired timeshare holders though, and that was fine by us. Overall I would come back in a heartbeat. I lived the location near the highways and the gym was great as well. Sales presentation wasn't too either. I recommend this resort. Good job!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We are still here on site and I've just got to let other travellers know about this resort. We arrived November 18th just as they were about to move their lobby to another building. Check in was okay and our room was ready early which was great. But when we got to the room, it was obvious that the cleaning staff had not finished. The floor was filthy and the furniture was not put back in place. We let them know and told them we were going out for a couple hours and so it wasn't a big deal. When we returned no one had been in the unit. Then we found out things were missing in the kitchen and bathroom. There were no hooks or rods to hang up wet towels or bathing suits. The tile floor everywhere crunched under our feet and there were ants in the kitchen. The resorts garbage facility was right outside our unit and everytime staff brought garbage we could hear the loud metal wheels of the trailer on the asphalt. We were in the oldest building on the 3rd floor. We found out from a sales rep that this is where they put the RCI people because only Wyndham owners get into the nice newer buildings.

When we let them know again about the issues they said they would move us. And we were moved to another unit same building one floor up facing the parking lot and the sand pile out back. I include that detail because they have decided to trash one golf course and stockpile all the sand under the course, clean it and sell it to the Fort Lauderdale airport. So dump trucks are being filled by swing shovels all day every week day. You hear them on the road, you hear them by the pool. The sand is so close it gets into the pool everyday.

Oh, and the bbq by the pool at this building was not working properly - even a danger. So we reported it 5 days ago and there was going to be a new one the next day. It wasn't there. Then they were going to replace it but it wasn't there. Then the next day we were told they had bought a new one and it would be installed by the end of the day. That was yesterday. Today it wasn't there. We asked again and found out that one had been ordered but it wouldn't arrive for another couple days.

Whenever there is an issue they are very slow to react. Very pool customer service. It's like they don't really care if we are here or not. They hold staff meetings out by the pool we use which for a business owner trying to enjoy vacation is not relaxing.

There is one tennis court and you have to book it with the front desk. It is in pretty good condition. all the pools are supposed to be heated but one is cold so either it isn't or it isn't working. The elevators are ancient and one isn't working. They are very slow.

Most of the staff here doesn't seem to live out the Count on Me philosophy: Count on me to:be responsive to your needs; be respectful in every way; deliver a great experience. Our experience has not even closely met our expectations. And we've been to a lot of timeshare resorts. We were asked to participate in a group session to find out what is new with RCI since Wyndham bought it but when we arrived we ended up having a private session - not what we expected. And we were told over and over again how big and best Wyndham is. That is certainly not the case in our experience. Bigger is not always better and that is true of our experience here.

While the location is great if you want to golf. Other than that, go somewhere else. There is a small bar on site but no other food available except through what the activity staff does. We went to the 50's night for burgers and floats and it was horrible food.

The location is central to a lot of great things if you don't mind being away from the beach. The casino is across the road, there is a Winn Dixie close by and drug stores. It is easy to get to the beach or the malls from here. Location in that respect is the best part of the resort. Or if you golf, while you are here you are treated like a member at the Palm Aire golf courses. We golfed a couple days on The Oaks course and it was beautiful and a great price.

We will never come back here and this experience has even soured us to Wyndham. We had stayed at the Santa Barbara in 2009 and had a wonderful experience. We thought this would be similar but it such a stark contrast.

Room Tip: Make sure you aren't in the oldest building especially facing the back of the resort. Very, very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marne-la-Vallee, France
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I book a four bedroom's presidential I get two bedroom's deluxe with ants and maintenance problems! Staff unhelpful and management not present! Is this a Wyndham family resort? A 40$ motel is better than this old timeshare condo!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Used RCI to trade into this resort. Just average although we normally stay at gold crown and this was silver. Stayed in Sabal Palm building on 3rd floor room 384, two bedroom. Very spacious and good layout. Kitchen cabinets, appliances, ammenities, counters, dining table, flat screens in all rooms were all very nice. Carpet seemed old and tired. Cable TV was fuzzy picture. Bathrooms were spacious, but very average even on hotel standards. Master bed had ruts in the mattress and was very uncomfortable. I even tried the sofa sleeper as an alternative, which was OK - for a sofa sleeper. I think our room was near the water pumps as every morning it sounded like a jack hammer was running on the other side of the wall. No sleeping past 7:30am. We have two small kids, so not an issue for us.

Kids wanted to use the jetted tub. Took over 30 minutes to fill above the jets. Had trouble managing the cold/hot water. Hot was intermittently coming out the cold and could have hurt the kids. Was really strange and happened on two different nights.

This was the first resort where our room wasn't cleaned midweek. We had to be persistant to get towels replaced. Once we got somebody's attention, they were helpful.

Timeshare pitch was mild at check-in and then non-existant, which was nice.

Elevators were slow. One didn't work at end of week. Folks were getting frustrated.

Outside, pools were nicely accomodated but didn't get much sun except at mid-day. Water was cool, combined with limited sun and breezy made it uncomfortable to swim.

Miniature golf was good. Turf was in great shape. Unique layout. Minimal play space/equipment for toddlers.

Overall, it was really just average.

Room Tip: Not sure what flexibility is available, but if I did it again I would get a room key - go look at it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Palm-Aire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Palm-Aire

Address: 2601 Palm Aire Drive North, Pompano Beach, FL 33069 (Formerly Palm Aire Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Pompano Beach
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Palm-Aire 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Wyndham Palm-Aire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Palm-Aire Hotel Pompano Beach
Wyndham Pompano Beach
Palm Aire Resort
Pompano Beach Wyndham
Palmaire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Palm-Aire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.