We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay fare away from this resort!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Palm-Aire

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Palm-Aire to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 6 more sites!
Wyndham Palm-Aire
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2601 Palm Aire Drive North, Pompano Beach, FL 33069 (Formerly Palm Aire Resort and Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% Off Discount
Ranked #16 of 35 hotels in Pompano Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Marne-la-Vallee, France
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Stay fare away from this resort!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I book a four bedroom's presidential I get two bedroom's deluxe with ants and maintenance problems! Staff unhelpful and management not present! Is this a Wyndham family resort? A 40$ motel is better than this old timeshare condo!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    202
    87
    47
    41
See reviews for
248
104
8
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Used RCI to trade into this resort. Just average although we normally stay at gold crown and this was silver. Stayed in Sabal Palm building on 3rd floor room 384, two bedroom. Very spacious and good layout. Kitchen cabinets, appliances, ammenities, counters, dining table, flat screens in all rooms were all very nice. Carpet seemed old and tired. Cable TV was fuzzy picture. Bathrooms were spacious, but very average even on hotel standards. Master bed had ruts in the mattress and was very uncomfortable. I even tried the sofa sleeper as an alternative, which was OK - for a sofa sleeper. I think our room was near the water pumps as every morning it sounded like a jack hammer was running on the other side of the wall. No sleeping past 7:30am. We have two small kids, so not an issue for us.

Kids wanted to use the jetted tub. Took over 30 minutes to fill above the jets. Had trouble managing the cold/hot water. Hot was intermittently coming out the cold and could have hurt the kids. Was really strange and happened on two different nights.

This was the first resort where our room wasn't cleaned midweek. We had to be persistant to get towels replaced. Once we got somebody's attention, they were helpful.

Timeshare pitch was mild at check-in and then non-existant, which was nice.

Elevators were slow. One didn't work at end of week. Folks were getting frustrated.

Outside, pools were nicely accomodated but didn't get much sun except at mid-day. Water was cool, combined with limited sun and breezy made it uncomfortable to swim.

Miniature golf was good. Turf was in great shape. Unique layout. Minimal play space/equipment for toddlers.

Overall, it was really just average.

Room Tip: Not sure what flexibility is available, but if I did it again I would get a room key - go look at it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed 2 nights with 3 other friends after a cruise in a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom unit. It was quite lovely! The bedrooms were both large and well equipped. The master bath was large and had a jetted tub as well as a huge walk in shower. The secondary bedroom was large with 2 large beds but the bathroom was much smaller, had a tub/shower combination that was very narrow with handicapped rails taking up part of the space. There was an undercounter refrigerator in the second bedroom with a large counterspace with many outlets! No problem plugging in any of our many devices here! There was a tv in the living room, and one in each bedroom. The balcony was large and extended from the living room past the second bedroom. The master had its own balcony (although we took the chairs from there and put them on the larger balcony so we could all sit there together). I was amazed at the number of electric outlets in the entire unit. The washer and dryer were functional and very useful after a wk at sea. The staff was very nice when we checked in and since it was the birthday of 2 of us, they gave us birthday pins. They also gave us several coupons for restaurants which we used. Their recommendations were quite good. We did attend the "free breakfast" sales presentation. The sales lady assigned to us was very nice. We all felt sorry for her since we knew she wasn't going to have a sale with us! We managed to get our tour of the facility cut a little short, but I'm not telling how! The $75 Amex paid for lunch for all of us and filled the rental car with gas. Pool was great looking although we didn't use it. We did go to the sister property with beach access. The beach was nice enough, had to rent loungers but I didn't care about that. The waves were very rough so we just enjoyed the air, sound of the waves and the sun for a while. Overall, not a bad place to stay if you can get around the sales pitches.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, RI
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed at the Wyndham Hotel in Palmaire in Pompano Beach from 11/10/12 to 11/16/12. My girlfriend and I had a 2 bedroom, 2 bath room. It was very nice and very large. There was a full kitchen, living room, den, 2 bedrooms, and 2 bath rooms. The place had 4 TV's, and a washer and dryer. It was a little out-dated but nice. It was very quiet. Check in was quick. The staff were very nice. They brought clean towels when we called. My hair dryer was broken and they brought another one. There was always a seat by the pool. There was a really nice gym and also a business center with 2 computers that were free to use. Wi-fi was easily accessible in the rooms and even at the pools. The only thing lacking was a gift shop or small convenience store. There was one restaurant for salads or sandwiches but they weren't open every day. Three of the days I was there they were closed. The hotel is in a city and about 5 miles from the ocean which could take 20 minutes with traffic. But I knew this ahead of time so it was not a problem. I would highly rate this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Grove, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

The front desk is the only reason i would not return. They where pushy about doing a tour. After that the hotel was great clean and had alot of activities. The activities dept was wonderful especially with kids. I cant remember there names but they where all great. Hotel is not near much and due to hurricane sandy we didn't get to the beach at their sister resort.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband and 1 1/2 year old son stayed at the resort Oct 27- Nov 3. I read many reviews on the Palm Aire and the Royal Vista, which is on the beach. Was happy that we chose the Palm Aire.
We arrived at 3pm, hoping to check in early. Was told our room was not ready yet, but they would call us when it was ready; and check in was not until 4pm. I waited till 5pm; after not receiving a call, and checked at the front desk. It was finally ready, after waiting for 2 hours. That was the only problem we had. We got the very annoying time share talk, discussing all our 'perks' if we went to a short presentation. I told the 'concierge' several times that I was not interested, but he was very persistent.

About the timeshare stuff.... I am STILL getting info in the mail about how I am 'pre-approved' for a Wyndham time share. When you get to your room, unplug your phone. We got daily calls for from the 'concierge' that we had a 'important message' at the front desk, and were also informed about the timeshare presentation. That was a huge annoyance! We also had daily phone calls about the activities for the day, which were posted in the elevators.
There was construction in the fountains building, which we expected, but it didn't bother us.

The pools were nice, warm, I am pretty sure they are heated. There is a small fenced in kids pool, which was very nice for our toddler. The playground is in great shape, looks newer! They have a volleyball court and mini golf; looked nice but we didn't use.

We were in a 1 bdrm, 2 bath. Furniture was new, comfortable, king bed. Were happy to see that we had washer & dryer in our unit. They have laundry rooms in all buildings as well. We were on the 4th floor, no problems with the elevators. No ice machine, so will need to buy and bring your own ice. Kitchen fully loaded with anything you would need for meals. There is a Walmart and other grocery stores nearby. There is a small bar/cafe on property, but we never used it. No room service.

You will need a car if you plan to go anywhere!! They offer a bus to the Royal Vista, but it picks up and drops off once a day. The location is terrible. Such a nice resort in a questionable location. Security is great! Few nearby restaurants, but will drive 10-20 minutes to go to anywhere good. We drove to the Royal Vista twice. We got there early, so there were few open parking spaces. Our first few days, the beach was closed due to hurricaine Sandy. Pools at Royal Vista were cold, playground was old, and scary. When the beach was open, there was trash everywhere! Thought we would see someone out cleaning the beach area... there was no one! Were really disappointed with Pompano beach! Went to Ft Lauderdale park/beach instead; which was much nicer, much cleaner!! Saw several people and machines cleaning the beach & public area's.
Drive to Royal Vista takes about 10-20 min, depending on what time of the day you leave. Expect a lot of traffic everywhere you go!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Was not impressed at all with this 'resort'. Reservation was wrong upon check in - had to change rooms to a very outdated dirty room and had no desire to change again. Snack shop and bar don't open til noon. Snack shop doesn't even have much food at all. Can not even get a coffee on the 'resort'. Staff is not helpful at all. One of the worst time share experiences yet. Location is far from beach and in an industrial type area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyndham Palm-Aire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Palm-Aire

Also Known As:
Wyndham Palm-Aire Hotel
Wyndham Palm-Aire Hotel Pompano Beach
Palm Aire
Wyndham Pompano Beach
Palm Aire Resort
Wyndham Palm Aire
Pompano Beach Wyndham
Palmaire
Address: 2601 Palm Aire Drive North, Pompano Beach, FL 33069 (Formerly Palm Aire Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Pompano Beach
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Palm-Aire 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Wyndham Palm-Aire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Palm-Aire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.