We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Unit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Palm-Aire

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Palm-Aire to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Palm-Aire
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2601 Palm Aire Drive North, Pompano Beach, FL 33069 (Formerly Palm Aire Resort and Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% Off Discount
Ranked #13 of 35 Hotels in Pompano Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Fantastic Unit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed 2 nights with 3 other friends after a cruise in a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom unit. It was quite lovely! The bedrooms were both large and well equipped. The master bath was large and had a jetted tub as well as a huge walk in shower. The secondary bedroom was large with 2 large beds but the bathroom was much smaller, had a tub/shower combination that was very narrow with handicapped rails taking up part of the space. There was an undercounter refrigerator in the second bedroom with a large counterspace with many outlets! No problem plugging in any of our many devices here! There was a tv in the living room, and one in each bedroom. The balcony was large and extended from the living room past the second bedroom. The master had its own balcony (although we took the chairs from there and put them on the larger balcony so we could all sit there together). I was amazed at the number of electric outlets in the entire unit. The washer and dryer were functional and very useful after a wk at sea. The staff was very nice when we checked in and since it was the birthday of 2 of us, they gave us birthday pins. They also gave us several coupons for restaurants which we used. Their recommendations were quite good. We did attend the "free breakfast" sales presentation. The sales lady assigned to us was very nice. We all felt sorry for her since we knew she wasn't going to have a sale with us! We managed to get our tour of the facility cut a little short, but I'm not telling how! The $75 Amex paid for lunch for all of us and filled the rental car with gas. Pool was great looking although we didn't use it. We did go to the sister property with beach access. The beach was nice enough, had to rent loungers but I didn't care about that. The waves were very rough so we just enjoyed the air, sound of the waves and the sun for a while. Overall, not a bad place to stay if you can get around the sales pitches.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    218
    94
    50
    43
See reviews for
273
110
8
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cranston, RI
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed at the Wyndham Hotel in Palmaire in Pompano Beach from 11/10/12 to 11/16/12. My girlfriend and I had a 2 bedroom, 2 bath room. It was very nice and very large. There was a full kitchen, living room, den, 2 bedrooms, and 2 bath rooms. The place had 4 TV's, and a washer and dryer. It was a little out-dated but nice. It was very quiet. Check in was quick. The staff were very nice. They brought clean towels when we called. My hair dryer was broken and they brought another one. There was always a seat by the pool. There was a really nice gym and also a business center with 2 computers that were free to use. Wi-fi was easily accessible in the rooms and even at the pools. The only thing lacking was a gift shop or small convenience store. There was one restaurant for salads or sandwiches but they weren't open every day. Three of the days I was there they were closed. The hotel is in a city and about 5 miles from the ocean which could take 20 minutes with traffic. But I knew this ahead of time so it was not a problem. I would highly rate this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Grove, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

The front desk is the only reason i would not return. They where pushy about doing a tour. After that the hotel was great clean and had alot of activities. The activities dept was wonderful especially with kids. I cant remember there names but they where all great. Hotel is not near much and due to hurricane sandy we didn't get to the beach at their sister resort.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband and 1 1/2 year old son stayed at the resort Oct 27- Nov 3. I read many reviews on the Palm Aire and the Royal Vista, which is on the beach. Was happy that we chose the Palm Aire.
We arrived at 3pm, hoping to check in early. Was told our room was not ready yet, but they would call us when it was ready; and check in was not until 4pm. I waited till 5pm; after not receiving a call, and checked at the front desk. It was finally ready, after waiting for 2 hours. That was the only problem we had. We got the very annoying time share talk, discussing all our 'perks' if we went to a short presentation. I told the 'concierge' several times that I was not interested, but he was very persistent.

About the timeshare stuff.... I am STILL getting info in the mail about how I am 'pre-approved' for a Wyndham time share. When you get to your room, unplug your phone. We got daily calls for from the 'concierge' that we had a 'important message' at the front desk, and were also informed about the timeshare presentation. That was a huge annoyance! We also had daily phone calls about the activities for the day, which were posted in the elevators.
There was construction in the fountains building, which we expected, but it didn't bother us.

The pools were nice, warm, I am pretty sure they are heated. There is a small fenced in kids pool, which was very nice for our toddler. The playground is in great shape, looks newer! They have a volleyball court and mini golf; looked nice but we didn't use.

We were in a 1 bdrm, 2 bath. Furniture was new, comfortable, king bed. Were happy to see that we had washer & dryer in our unit. They have laundry rooms in all buildings as well. We were on the 4th floor, no problems with the elevators. No ice machine, so will need to buy and bring your own ice. Kitchen fully loaded with anything you would need for meals. There is a Walmart and other grocery stores nearby. There is a small bar/cafe on property, but we never used it. No room service.

You will need a car if you plan to go anywhere!! They offer a bus to the Royal Vista, but it picks up and drops off once a day. The location is terrible. Such a nice resort in a questionable location. Security is great! Few nearby restaurants, but will drive 10-20 minutes to go to anywhere good. We drove to the Royal Vista twice. We got there early, so there were few open parking spaces. Our first few days, the beach was closed due to hurricaine Sandy. Pools at Royal Vista were cold, playground was old, and scary. When the beach was open, there was trash everywhere! Thought we would see someone out cleaning the beach area... there was no one! Were really disappointed with Pompano beach! Went to Ft Lauderdale park/beach instead; which was much nicer, much cleaner!! Saw several people and machines cleaning the beach & public area's.
Drive to Royal Vista takes about 10-20 min, depending on what time of the day you leave. Expect a lot of traffic everywhere you go!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Was not impressed at all with this 'resort'. Reservation was wrong upon check in - had to change rooms to a very outdated dirty room and had no desire to change again. Snack shop and bar don't open til noon. Snack shop doesn't even have much food at all. Can not even get a coffee on the 'resort'. Staff is not helpful at all. One of the worst time share experiences yet. Location is far from beach and in an industrial type area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The hotel property was very lush and well maintained and gave you a remote resort feel even though you are in the heart of a big city. The property is located about 15 minutes from the beach. It's a great location near all kinds of shopping, and across the street from the Isle Casino. Guests here can also share privileges at the other 3 Wyndham properties along the beach, but this property has the best amenities of them all, most likely since it is not located off A1A near the beach. I still would pick this site over the others due to the amenities.

Amenties - Beautiful lush landscape and fountains, spacious pools, multiple hot tubs, cafe open for lunch, pool bar, on-site spa and first rate gym, live music on the weekends - local cover band Sekond Nature had one guy on an acoustic guitar perform and he was very good. Activities provided daily -- only thing we participated in was an afternoon ice cream social at the Activity Center. Decent ice cream sundaes, probably better off just getting ice cream at the Cafe since more flavors available there. Stick to the basics at the Cafe. Hamburger and fries were good, but their taco night was terrible -- leftovers from previous nights with stale chips, dry meat, crusty nacho cheese after re-heating it too many times.

Concierge - Typical timeshare elbow twisting. They told us that we should go to the 60 minute talk to hear about the RCI transfer rates of Wyndham points to be going away -- not true.... The timeshare sell is still the hard sell to get you there. Avoid if at all possible. Nothing was really gained by going....

Did I say I loved the pools? :o) Very nice....

Suite of rooms - Very nicely done, recently remodeled, VERY comfy soft beds, better than most places I have stayed, stone kitchen countertops, whirlpool in master suite (didn't use it while there).

Pompano Beach - Even with Hurricane Sandy having passed thru right before arriving, the beaches were very nice. The area has recently been renovated with beautiful landscaping, street lighting, pavers, new restrooms. Note that several of the facilities are locked, don't know why, so make sure to pick your beach area accordingly. I would prefer just parking for free at Whyndam Royal Vista and using the beach in front of that property.

Isle Casino - only has slots and poker. They do have a roulette/craps slots table that uses real dice and real roulette table with machines to place your bets. Pretty cool. Casino is very nice inside with a great deli that has a full extensive menu. Never got to try the buffet. Whole casino is non-smoking which was awesome.

Definitely would stay here again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the high rise towers rather than the 3 floor building connected to the front desk. I t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed here for a week in September... 2 bedroom suite.

While the beds were comfortable, and the bedding nice and updated, the bathrooms were a little dated... a bit 90s. They are however doing some work on the towers, so maybe this will improve.

The whole area looks like an area built up in the 80s. The closest thing to entertainment in the area is a horse race place/casino nearby. There is a bit of shopping near by, but there is no beach! Interesting location for a resort hotel, no beach, just strip malls! I suppose if you JUST hang out at the pool, then this place would be fine for you...

I didn't find that many activities to do while there, and the "nearby" golf course is VERY 80s, with a ramshackle clubhouse. In fact, they are taking out some golf holes to make a lake?!!!

tyhe bad part is that they always harass you about joining the time share aspect of this place. and in order to get your parking pass, you have to talk to a "concierge", which is basically a sales girl, hoping to sell you a time share! this concierge is also a thinly veiled sales job for local restaurants/clubs, where clearly they are getting kick backs!

Overall, OK...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Palm-Aire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Palm-Aire

Address: 2601 Palm Aire Drive North, Pompano Beach, FL 33069 (Formerly Palm Aire Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Pompano Beach
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Palm-Aire 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Wyndham Palm-Aire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Palm-Aire Hotel Pompano Beach
Wyndham Pompano Beach
Palm Aire Resort
Pompano Beach Wyndham
Palmaire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Palm-Aire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.