We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite Gold Crown but getting there...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Palm-Aire

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Palm-Aire to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Wyndham Palm-Aire
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2601 Palm Aire Drive North, Pompano Beach, FL 33069 (Formerly Palm Aire Resort and Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% Off Discount
Ranked #16 of 35 hotels in Pompano Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Not quite Gold Crown but getting there...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Stayed here last month (December 2011) for one week and had excellent weather.
The staff is excellent and the only issue we had is our first night. We checked into the Timeshare after 10 p.m. due to our late flight from Philly. We were assigned a 2 BR unit in the only building "off campus" (Queen Palms Building). This building is outside the gated community, off the golf course. However, it was extremely difficult to find it and once we did, we felt we couldn't stay here. We called the front desk right away and was told we had to spend the night there, as there were no other rooms until the next day, when many people were checking out. We did switch rooms but what a pain in the XXX to move luggage.

The next day, we would up in an upgraded room inside the gated community where there are several high-rise buildings, and was much happier the rest of the week. We had no more complaints and would still recommend this place to anyone who wanted a full-service resort who didn't care if they were 1/2 hour from the beach (a shuttle was available to take you beach side). You could also drive your rental car to the beach and park at one of the other Wyndham units.

Room Tip: Pool side better, no views of local streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    202
    86
    47
    41
See reviews for
247
104
8
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

During my 2.5 weeks in Florida I stayed at 3 different (Wyndham) Resorts and this 1 was the best. I have stayed at Palm Aire before and my stay was lovely then also. Check in was fine, this is a timeshare resort, so they tried to collar me into listening to a presentation but a firm & polite no was all that was needed, and I wasn't contacted again for the 4 day stay.

I requested an aparment for the 'Areca Palm' with pool view, as I thought this was what I was in before, when I got to the unit I reliased it was the wrong one, I would have stayed but the pool view was obscured by a tree and the unit although nice was not one of the newer ones. I asked if I could be moved, the request was granted no problem, I was given a 2nd floor unit in the 'Fountain Palm' overlooking the pool. This unit was much better and recently renovated. As with all Wyndhams everything was perfect, clean. They didn't leave enough pool towels 4 for a property that sleeps 8! Thier was also a polite notice that said if you don't leave the said amount in the unit they will charge you $25.00 per towel which I found abit ridicoulous.

Unit was spacious and my paticular room location was just perfect for our family. 2nd Floor just above the bar - I was literally having conversations with the kids from the balcony. It was the 1st room you get as you come out the lift, but thier is a large lobby, area before you get to the room so no annoying lift noises and no noisy neighbours on 1 side or below - just great!! Fans & light shades are operated by remote control - Cool.

The resort itself is beautiful, I think it has 4 or 5 pools inc 2 hot tubs and kiddies splash pool & slide. Childrens (sandy) playground, mini golf - lots of activities for children. They also show movies from a large projecter which you can watch whilst relaxing at the pool.

Thier is a super Walmart within walking distance - thier is not much around the immeidate area, but the beach is about 15mins away. The resort provides a free shuttle to the beach and to the local flea market.

Free Wifi is available througout the resort- if you want to use the resorts facities for printing or don't have your own laptop they have 2 terminals but this is charged @ t $0.35 per minute. So bring your own internet device if you can. I needed a couple of things printed inc my Boarding Pass for my flight. The Reception area offered to print this off for me so that was very helpful.

Loved our stay here - the only disappointing thing was checking out!!

Room Tip: We like to be near the action so asked for room with pool view. However if you prefer abit of piece...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Needed place within 15 minutes of family for Thanksgiving. Stayed two nights in 1 BD with separate sitting room in the Areca Palm Building. Great amenities and clean and very spacious. Favorable for entertaining. Two bathrooms and the breakfast booth can probably accommodate 5 comfortably. Had large tub in bedroom. Great view of one of the pools and free minature golf course. When called the property directly, could not get a 2-night booking, but WAS able to book with reasonable rate on another site. When picking up your parking pass, you're subjected to a short sales pitch but after 3 'no, thank yous', they understood I was not going to sit through a 90 minute sales pitch, even for the $100 gift card promised.

Room Tip: Stay in Areca Palm Building
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marineland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Have stayed previously in 2-BD unit that was in high rise section and recently remodeled. Rented a 1 BD and was put in Queens building. Very old...room they gave us had not been cleaned (gross) and when I went back to get another room they acted like I was causing trouble. If I knew I would have been in the old building surrounded by a decrepit golf club I would have stayed elsewhere. Be very specific in your room location when making reservations.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Just spent a week at this timeshare, and the location couldn't be better. The beach was real close, and restaurants of any kind, were within a few minutes drive. If shopping is your thing, then you won't be disappointed. Our timeshare unit was spacious, clean, and fully equipped. This is my second time there, and I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

My wife and I recently stayed at the Wyndham Palm Aire for Veterans day, We were having a birthday celebration for my mother-in-law.We booked a 2 bedroom using some of our friends timeshare points. When we got the Wyndham Palm Aire it was about 1 o'clock in the morning and we had been driving for 7 hours from home. Once there the night aditor told us that they had given our booked deluxe 2 bedroom suite away and that we had to sleep in two 1 bedrooms across the street, outside the gated property. We were shocked because we called before our arrival to inform them that we would be arriving late and they told us everything was fine. They ended up giving us two seperate rooms in a building that resembled the bate motel. My mother in law king size bed had queen size fitted sheets that did not fit the bed. They called for more sheets and it took them an hour to bring them. They handed her the sheets in a garbage bag and she had to change the sheets herself. When we entered our hotel room. their was a lizard running towards my wife. her and my daughter jumped in the bed and refused to move from that spot until it was gone.I immediately went to the office and asked for another room. The Gentlemen at the desk told me there was nothing available even though we could seee through the windows of the empty rooms as the curtains were open. I counted atleast five available rooms. I then asked if someone could come get the lizard out of our room. He began to argue with me and make smart remarks. He had the nerve to ask me if I would like some bug spray for a lizard. I just left and told the gentlemen that I would just get it out myself. Due to it being so late at night we stayed but I didn't sleep at all. I just made sure my wife was safe. My daughter refused to sleep in the room, she opted to sleep in the room with her grandparents instead . As soon as morning came. I went back to the front desk to speak with the manager. He assured me that he would take care of the chain of events that occured that night. We came to an agreement and proceeded to check out. Thats when we noticed they had charged my mother-in-law $150. That was the finally straw. We were not suposed to be charged because we were using our friends time share. They refunded the money back to her card but told her it would take two weeks to process. This was not going to help her out with the cruise we were boarding in a few hours. The Wyndam put a whole new spin on the term Birthday Bash.

Room Tip: Do not stop here. Keep it movin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Isles Beach, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

I was there on october for my wedding anniversary stayed at the one bedroon suit, that was very clean, spacius and have everything that we need, we visited the other hotel at the beach, that are good, the SANTA BARBARA have a nice TIKI BAR.WE HAVE NOT ATTENDED. THE TIME SHARE PRESENTATION ,NONE SAID NOTHING ABAUT. We had a good time there.

Room Tip: The rooms near the pool are noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyndham Palm-Aire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Palm-Aire

Also Known As:
Wyndham Palm-Aire Hotel
Wyndham Palm-Aire Hotel Pompano Beach
Palm Aire
Wyndham Pompano Beach
Palm Aire Resort
Wyndham Palm Aire
Pompano Beach Wyndham
Palmaire
Address: 2601 Palm Aire Drive North, Pompano Beach, FL 33069 (Formerly Palm Aire Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Pompano Beach
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Pompano Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Palm-Aire 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Wyndham Palm-Aire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Palm-Aire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.