We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Palm-Aire

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Palm-Aire to your Saves list
Wyndham Palm-Aire
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2601 Palm Aire Drive North, Pompano Beach, FL 33069 (Formerly Palm Aire Resort and Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Pompano Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't expect service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2007

Very tired looking apartment. Bed linen with holes in, bathroom with mould, and windows so filthy you could scarcely see out of them. Could not get them cleaned and so cleaned them ourselves! Carpet had to be shampooed, but still had stains.

Very spacious apartment and good pool areas, but loungers very old and dirty.

  • Liked — Spacious
  • Disliked — Cleanliness and service in room
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    289
    116
    59
    55
See reviews for
373
141
10
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
raleigh, nc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2007

After all the negative reviews, I was really surprised at how nice the resort was. We enjoyed our stay and had no complaints. We were on the 10th floor of the Areca building, poolside. The room was very clean and nicely appointed even though they apparently plan to rennovate this building.

I'm baffled by the crime warnings, the area surrounding the resort is a commercial area so it has more of an industrial feel to it, but it is not unsafe. I liked that we could walk to the grocery store. There are restaurants nearby, but it's fast food type things. If you want a nice restaurant drive 10 min and eat at a place on the beach.

As for the security guards at the gate in plastic chairs - they're there to help people with the gate since you have to insert your room key to enter the resort. Of course, the resort is accessible only to it's guests which is why they have a gate.

The resort did a lot to ensure that the guests had a good time, some of the entertainment was hokey, but it was still fun.

  • Liked — The pools and scenery
  • Disliked — Not on the beach
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, IL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2007

We stayed here through an RCI exchange (owned by Wyndham). I tried to leave a review on the RCI website but they wouldn't allow negative reviews on one of their own properties. The resort is fenced in with a guard...for a reason. The adjoining gas station has bars in the windows...need I say more. The units themselves are nice but with that type of neighborhood you don't feel safe on your own balcony. We heard sirens around the clock, not giving us the warm and fuzzy feeling of the place, kinda like South Central LA would be the best description. Like I said RCI won't allow the truth on its own site so here's the truth. We will not ever return to this resort.

  • Liked — nice units
  • Disliked — surrounding area
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Pa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2007

We stayed in the Sable building and it was great. We had a 2 bedroom suite and it was clean. The kitchen had all new appliances and the master bath was huge.
There were a lot of activities planned at the resort but the guests when we were there were mainly an older crowd.
We were lucky enough to run into 2 locals at lunch on our first day there and they tipped us off to some great local eateries and things to do. Be sure to see the Everglades!
We enjoyed the beach at one of the sister resorts. It was only about 10 mintues away and the beach was nice and the parking was easy.
We also went to the casino for a night out. The gaming was pretty limited to slots and a few poker tables but the buffet upstairs was excellent!
As others have said the neighborhood is sketchy but you have to be smart about your travels. We were 3 women in our twenties traveling alone and we never once felt unsafe but we were very aware of our surroundings.

  • Liked — Central location
  • Disliked — All of the calls to our room pestering us about the sales meeting
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
110 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2007

Stayed last week in a 2 bed apartment on 10th floor. Security sitting on a plastic picnic chair ....mmmm very classy ! Check-in was straightforward and staff were very friendly. The lifts were very tatty with broken tiles on the floor. Room was spacious but very dated. Worn out furniture and electrical appliances that should have been replaced years ago. The kitchen was filthy, work surfaces, glasses and dishes, cabinets etc. Beds were comfortable but revolting sheets and pillowcases - bathrooms were dirty and worn out.. This area is not very safe, there were 2 armed robberies during our week, one at KFC and the other at a local petrol station. Very rude maid came knocking at 9.15am (with do not disturb displayed) on check-out day. Bombarded all week with sales calls (very annoying)
We will not stay here again.

  • Liked — Apartment size
  • Disliked — It was filthy
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2007

We won an RCI pass for this property through a silent auction. Upon checkin we were told we needed to schedule a "quality assurance check" with the concierge. Not a problem, we clearly stated we wanted to make sure we wouldn't be sold anything. The Concierge at the time told us we wouldn't be and it was a 1/2 hour of our time to make sure we gave our appropriate feedback for the property. The meeting was held in our room since we traveled with our 3 young children. There was no "quality assurance" whatsoever, it was a sales pitch to get us to buy their $12,000 vacation package. It was very improper to ask us how much we spend on our vacations, how much we spend on our flights to get here, how often we travel, etc. We thought this would be a quality review of the property. When we voiced our concerns with the service, there was nothing written down. Our host, Tiffany from Member Services told us she wasn't trying to sell us anything, but just wanted to make sure we had good information about our vacation choices. It was a complete waste of our time. We had to tell her 3 times we were not interested!! The property is nice, the amenities are very well taken care off, the pools are not heated, but the hot tub is very hot. Try and stay in the Sable or Fountain Palm buildings, they are the newest. The spa/health club is decent if you want to grab a treadmill or elliptical machine. The average age for the property is about 55+ and most of the people are from the upper east coast. The property isn't in the Ghetto but centrally located, its about 15 minutes (4 miles) from their sister property, Royal Vista on the beach. Our 2 bedroom suite was very clean and comfortable, but the sales pitch was definately a low point. The $50 gift certificate made it bearable atleast. Enjoy South Florida, the weather is great!!

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2007

This resort is certainly not gold crown standard. We were in Areca building.Very dated ,carpets wet when we arrived they had just been cleaned. Had to ask for clean pillowcases, They said we could move rooms but carpets would be dry by next day.We stayed coz thought all rooms would be the same. Had the 3hour presentation which was supposed to be no longer than 1 hour. They showed us the rooms you would stay in if you bought points. They were far superior , so why not put guests in there when it was so quiet!
No resturant on site. Bar staff at pool very pleasant. Ruby tuesdays over the road very good but in general the place is dead!
Spa nice ,staff excellent , had a good massage there.
Resort would be better in different location.

  • Liked — spa
  • Disliked — Very dated
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pompano Beach
Royal Flamingo Villas
#2 of 36 in Pompano Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#61 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 stars 2,055 reviews
Wyndham Sea Gardens
#16 of 36 in Pompano Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 464 reviews
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
#7 of 36 in Pompano Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Palm-Aire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Palm-Aire

Address: 2601 Palm Aire Drive North, Pompano Beach, FL 33069 (Formerly Palm Aire Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Pompano Beach
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Palm-Aire 3*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Wyndham Palm-Aire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Palm-Aire Hotel Pompano Beach
Wyndham Pompano Beach
Palm Aire Resort
Pompano Beach Wyndham
Palmaire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Palm-Aire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.