We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Palm-Aire

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Palm-Aire to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Palm-Aire
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2601 Palm Aire Drive North, Pompano Beach, FL 33069 (Formerly Palm Aire Resort and Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% Off Discount
Ranked #14 of 35 Hotels in Pompano Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
uk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not what we expected.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2007

This resort is certainly not gold crown standard. We were in Areca building.Very dated ,carpets wet when we arrived they had just been cleaned. Had to ask for clean pillowcases, They said we could move rooms but carpets would be dry by next day.We stayed coz thought all rooms would be the same. Had the 3hour presentation which was supposed to be no longer than 1 hour. They showed us the rooms you would stay in if you bought points. They were far superior , so why not put guests in there when it was so quiet!
No resturant on site. Bar staff at pool very pleasant. Ruby tuesdays over the road very good but in general the place is dead!
Spa nice ,staff excellent , had a good massage there.
Resort would be better in different location.

  • Liked — spa
  • Disliked — Very dated
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    217
    94
    50
    43
See reviews for
273
110
8
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2007

Suggest that you choose a vacation location that doesn't require heavy security at the gates, and one that is not located in a high crime area!!! Beware!!!!

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2007

Going into the property, we were very surprized to see the guard sitting (on a cheap plastic chair) at a table with an umbrella in the heat and humidity, my first thought was how unfair fair for the guards. Going into register, greeted by a very happy , helpful clerk, we were immediatly sent over to see the consierge (to get our room keys), she ,Valerie was very polite letting us know about the near by restaurants , of course with little coupons for free drinks, appetisers etc.... (with her name on then). She then proceeds to tell us they have an informational meeting we can attend , and if we do then we can have $75.00 coupon for diffrent siteseeing things or restaurants etc... I tell her we "DO NOT" want to go to any of these meetings to try to get you to buy more time shares or upgrade, etc, her response was "oh no it doesn't work like that", circling a sheet wiht their promise no high pressure purchases, (yea right) it is just a survey to let them know how their service is, clean rooms, & comfort of the place to win a pinneapple award,so we agreeded to have someone come to our room. When the gentleman arrived he was very plesant, asking about their rooms, cleanliness, shape comfort, etc.. we answered as truthfully as we could. Then the ball dropped, how many weeks do you own with us? do you have a set week? do you have the points system? all the signs were there, he was coming in for the kill (the high pitch purchase thingie). We then told him we are only able to get 1 week off at a time, and we didn't need any more weeks or to upgrade. His attitude all of a sudden changed, he said he would leave the sheet with us and that if anyone asked he was there for 45 mins. Thanks have a good day. We got out easy from what the other guest were saying .
But on to the rooms, the couch in the living room is the most uncomfortable piece of furniture ever, you sit on it and the cushions split and you are sitting on the hide away frame, with the wooden frame on your legs, no matter what you do or how you move it's uncomfortable. The beds wer ok, but with a king bed you would think that you would have king pillows, no instead you had pillows that were not an inch thick.
The place was relatively clean, the only thing we found not clean was in one of the bathrooms there was mold on the shower curtian, otherwise it was clean.
Going down to the main pool area we found that there are lots and lots of lounge chairs, 3 tables only, 1 table had an umbrella, and only 2 chairs in the whole joint. The paint on the pool floor was peeling and you can see rust on the cement . Tile around the pool had not been cleaned in a while, at one end of the pool there was a ring of oils and dirt all on the tiles, this was never cleaned the entire week we were there.
After seeing how nice and helpful the main lobby people were with us we were very impressed with the service, until going out the main door and 3 maintence workers were coming in the door as I went to go out with a trolly, the last gentleman, looked up at me and proceeded to shut the door, another guest outside saw what happened and came over to open and hold the door for me, and of course I thanked her and proceeded to say very loudly " that was pretty rude of an employee ". After retrieving my things and coming bakc down to return my trolly, who comes off the elevator? you guessed it, the same maintence man, as soon as he saw who I was he put his head down. Again after talking to several other guest,we found they felt the rudeness of the employees also, they had pretty much the same opinion as we did, if you are trying to get an award for your hotel, customer service is #1 on the list.
Would we go back.......................NO WAY!!! There are plenty of other nice places with the kind of service we expect. .

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2007

I would definitely recommend this resort. The staff was helpful and honored our request to stay in the Sable Building (we are not owners). The unit was extremely clean, large bedrooms and baths, well appointed and very, very comfortable (2 bedroom unit) which overlooked the pool, waterslide, etc. Inside the unit we never heard a sound even when the pool had several people using it.. I think this resort has something for everyone thanks to the planned events by the management and amenities (mini golf, gym, spa, etc.) available. The area was safe and very close to convenience shopping, casino, etc. located right outside the resort. Due to being just a jump from I-95 it made getting anywhere convenient and within 15 minutes from anywhere you may need to go. We really enjoyed the beach (at the sister resort), Las Olas Boulevard and Riverwalk, Casino, etc. Thanks so much for a great time.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and very well appointed
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Aire
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2007

Do you realize this place is on the edge of the ghetto? Anyone giving this place a rating higher than 3.0 obviously did so at gunpoint, or at the promise of a fully comp'ed stay! While the "resort" is so-so, the surrounding area has a lot to be desired. You can walk to a few restaurants (Ruby Tuesdays (LOL), Scoogins (Geezers talking with their mouths full and fighting over the salad bar) and Rotelli's (a nice pizza chain). A Broward Sheriff's Deputy was murdered at gunpoint one block away. Guards stationed at the gates scrutinize you as come and go. Rush hour traffic 24/7 running past the busy intersection. If they could pick this place up and drop it on the beach, I'd give it a 4. How Wyndham execs could tour this property and decide to purchase is beyond me. Stay away if you value your life and the safety of your family/valuables!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommonCentsTraveler
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2007

I would consider the room/bldg (Areca) that I receive would be equivalent to a 2 star hotel with a few add amenities since it is a timeshare property. The full kitchen and large bathroom were the best features on the property. The worse features were the stained sheets, discolored towels, aged furniture and spotty cable.

Since I am an RCI member on an exchange at a Wyndham property, it was explained that we(RCI members) get the pleasure of staying in the oldest bldg which equals oldest furniture with worst views(parking lots) . HOWEVER, that does not prevent them trying to sale you a timeshare and showing you the better rooms in the other bldgs. Don’t expect to get a mid week cleaning either, apparently they only clean your room (i.e.linens) if stay over 7 days, which seems unreasonable. The property was gates and seemed secure. The location if you don’t require beachfront properties is really convenient to most everything. (Restaurants, I-95, FL Turnpike, Beach, Grocery stores) Also you will have access to parking at the beachfront Wyndham properties.

Bottom line would I stay there again????
NO at the Areca building but YES at the Sable Palms building.

  • Liked — Full kitchen and large bathroom
  • Disliked — Stained sheets, discolored towels, aged furniture and spotty cable.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2007

We got back from our Ft. Lauderdale trip about a month ago! We miss it already. We stayed at the Palm-Aire Resort using our points. We have 2 children 6 years and 2 years and they had a blast. The staff at Palm Aire was very friendly. Gave us great tips on restaurants in the area and sights to see.
They have a great little playground perfect for our 2 year old. And they loved the pool! (Don't let the picture fool you. The pool does not look that big in person.) Food shopping was very easy to do. Great Walmart almost across the street. Area was perfectly safe despite some of the reviews! We rented a car for the week and got around very easily. We drove to the sister resort for the beach. One of the afternoons we were very lucky to see 1 of 3 manitees swim through waist deep water along the shore! The hubby and I had a great time on a date night to the Hard Rock Casino! We got home and realized that my hubby forgot his wallet in the room safe and the staff was very very helpful! They sent security to retrieve the wallet and sent it next day air by UPS. We were very impressed!
We'll definitely be back!

  • Liked — great location
  • Disliked — checkin was exactly at 4pm no early accomadations were made.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Palm-Aire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Palm-Aire

Address: 2601 Palm Aire Drive North, Pompano Beach, FL 33069 (Formerly Palm Aire Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Pompano Beach
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Palm-Aire 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Wyndham Palm-Aire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Palm-Aire Hotel Pompano Beach
Wyndham Pompano Beach
Palm Aire Resort
Pompano Beach Wyndham
Palmaire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Palm-Aire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;