We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The English Ladies gem........” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Flamingo Villas

Save Saved
You added Royal Flamingo Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Flamingo Villas
1225 Hillsboro Mile (Rte. A1A), Hillsboro Beach, Pompano Beach, FL 33062   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 35 hotels in Pompano Beach
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The English Ladies gem........”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Four ladies of a certain age, spent a week in a villa overlooking the intercoastal waterways. The perfect spot to relax.The villa was light and roomy and fully equipped , we spoke to the owner and a remodel for next year is on the cards . The staff were most helpful, the villa in an ideal position, the beach, sea and pool very inviting, a most relaxing place to spend time. The evening was spent having a sundowner watching the boats and yachts pass by waiting for the magnificent sunset. The charm of the place was most welcome. We walked to the local shops and restaurants and caught the local community bus to the shopping mall (no charge). It was a relaxing fun and wonderful holiday. I will certainly return with my husband as I know he would love it.

Room Tip: The Intercoastal side of the development is quieter,with beautiful gardens and space. It has the lat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    11
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
33
24
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wheaton, Illinois
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

My cousin and I stayed in Villa V right near A1A. Short, pleasant walk to pool, private beach/ocean or to intercostal for a cigar provided varied options. Ususally didn't bother to put on sandals! Spent most of our time "hanging-out" on private porch playing guitar and playing cards. Yet, ventured out occasionally to some of the top golf courses in South FL w/ the money we saved by staying in a one bedroom unit and not eating in restaurants.

Spartan dining? No-way. Kitchen was well equiped and grilled most nights conveniently just off porch. While an HD large-screen, cable TV was great for watching our occasional favorite sporting events and blue-ray DVD's movies, we mostly used cable TV and its theatre-style speakers for playing music provided by the cable provider. WI-FI allowed us stay in touch with business partners and clients.

Although we had only a 1 bedroom, a blow-up bed was more than sufficent, which was easily moved to the bedroom each morning. Our villa was tastefully beach-house decorated, clean and well-maintained. The grounds were attractively maintained, and interaction with other guests reminded me of being on a very small cruiseliner.

Office staff very friendly and responsive. Parking car immediately next to villa was an under-estimated convenience.

Road noise wasn't an issue, as porch was well-screened from the road with tropical vegitation -- actually had a dinner party on our porch one night w/ outside guests!

If staying in a high-rise box is not your thing, I highly recommend this 50's style, oasis-like blast from he past. Suggestion: Would like to see RFV add a hot-tub on the intercostal. Regardless, we'll be back.

Room Tip: Look a Villas if possible before selecting, or discuss w/ office staff the unique features of each v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

RFV is about 10 minutes north of Ft. Lauderdale, about a 20 minute drive from the airport. RFV consists of individual villa units straddling Rte A1A with the Atlantic Ocean (with a private beach) on one side of the road and the Intercoastal Waterway on the other. We had a unit with a great view of the Waterway which allowed for interesting views of the yachts motoring by. The units remind me of Old Florida, like places I haven't stayed in Florida since the 80's and have mostly disappeared to be replaced by hi rise condo units. The units with views are especially choice because of having a lot of space around them-- for us a whole lawn extending down the water, a BBQ area and the shuffleboard court (also turned out to be fun). I think the units directly on the road and in between would be less enjoyable and were a bit congested, but no more so than a condo or apartment complex.
The unit itself had a great kitchen with anything you could possibly need to cook, a reasonable sized living room with a smallish dining room and a large bedroom. There were wall mounted large screen tv's with a good choice of channels as well. The decorating/furnishings were a little dated, but that's not that important to me and it fit with the overall feel.
I gave only average for the service because oddly there was no service on Sundays and I was only there for a 3 day weekend.
I would definitely go back again, but only with one of the waterfront units.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012 via mobile

I would recommend renting a car for this vacation. There are so many neat restaurants and stores to explore. Fort lauderdale is very near by. Beautiful beach and right next door! Super relaxing with a fully stocked kitchen and a grocery store close by.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

The best place in Florida, me and my wife enjoyed it very much! It is clean and nice! Great people, Janice and Elaine were great!
We will go back for sure!
N. and K from Boston!

Room Tip: Room R or Room C
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

We loved everything about our stay at the Royal Flamingos Villas. Our Villa was perfect (two bedroom). The Villa was updated with new appliances in the kitchen and flat screen t.v.'s in each room. We were a 100 yards from the inner coastal waterway (and able to see some beautiful sunsets) and only a short walk to the beach. The pool had just been completed and was beautiful. Plus, there was a private beach and the ocean was fantastic (great sand bar around 25 yards out). The room was cleaned spotless each day. Grills are provided for some great outdoor cooking. The location is great, very close to Deerfield Beach and a ten minute drive to Boca (or about a $14 cab ride). All in all, a perfect stay and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilford, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

11/4/2011.This was the first time I stayed at Royal Flamingo and it was fabulous.The grounds were meticulously manicured and the villa was spotless and beautiful.The beach was gorgeous and litter free.I had a minor problem with my reservation due to my booking site but management went to great lenghts to make sure I was totally satisfied with my stay.I want to thank the management and team for making this my favorite vacation destination.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Flamingo Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Flamingo Villas

Address: 1225 Hillsboro Mile (Rte. A1A), Hillsboro Beach, Pompano Beach, FL 33062
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pompano Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Pompano Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Flamingo Villas are conveniently located between Boca Raton and Fort Lauderdale. You won’t find a more beautifully secluded, laid back property on the entire gold coast. The Royal Flamingo Villas offers there 300-foot private ocean beach, a heated pool, expansive tropical grounds, picturesque patios, thatched-roof tiki huts ideal for seaside picnics and so much more. Each of there villas are stylishly decorated, incredibly spacious and full of all the amenities we know and love. And best of all, the villas are minutes away from excellent restaurants, bustling nightlife, great shopping and exciting ocean activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Royal Flamingo Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Flamingo Villas Hotel Pompano Beach
Royal Flamingo Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Flamingo Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.