We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Past it's prime” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ronny Dee Resort Motel

Save Saved
You added Ronny Dee Resort Motel to your Saves list
Ronny Dee Resort Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ronny Dee Resort Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   717 S. Ocean Blvd., Pompano Beach, FL 33062   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 35 hotels in Pompano Beach
NJcpltrvl
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Past it's prime”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

This weekend I needed a place to stay and an internet search turned up this place. I called and was disappointed to find out there was no access to the pool pictured on their website, however the price was right so I took a chance. When I got there I found it was not in the best area and not as good as pictured. A closer look revealed 2 very sketchy people sitting outside one of the rooms and it looked more like homeless people were being housed there.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    9
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
6
6
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Tennessee
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The hotel is a bit of a throw back to days gone by which we found relaxing. I was in Ft. Lauderdale for business and brought my wife for her to relax by the ocean and pool. The GM is a great guy who somehow remembers every guest's first name. It's more a retro look which also brought back fond childhood memories of vacations long gone by. It's a simple 2 minute walk across South Ocean Blvd (A-1A) to the beach. The property is walking distance from a number of restaurants and typical beach area retail. Only challenge can be parking in the front as backing out onto A-1A can be tricky, but no big deal. Great stay...had been driving by this place for years when we used to stay at a Holiday Inn property just down the road which no longer stands. Glad we stopped this time! Note: you do pay for the room upon check-in.

Room Tip: if a room with a full kitchen is available, consider asking for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The Ronny Dee Resort Motel has all the comforts of home at a value price. The kitchenette and bathroom were reminiscent of the 70's but all the amenities were there and both were very clean. Our beds were very comfortable and our room faced onto the poolside patio. We didn't get to try the pool but the water felt warm and it appeared very inviting and clean. The location is only a block back from the beach, a 5 min walk at the most. The owner, Richard, reccommended a great pizza restaurant that we probably would have missed without his suggestion. We most likely will return on our next visit to Pompano Beach.

Room Tip: Ask for poolside for a more pleasant view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmingdale, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We were visiting friends in the area, so we just needed a place to sleep. We were not impressed at all! One window in our room had looseleaf paper taped to it to act like a shade--enough said! There seemed to be some long term residents at the motel that made us a little uncomfortable. There was no safe or hairdryer in the room. We left our valuables with our friends--we did not feel comfortable leaving anything in the room. We have stayed at many budget hotels in the past, but we just didn't feel safe staying at this one. I would not recommend this hotel.

It is in a nice location in Pompano Beach, close to beach, restaurants, bars and shops, and the pool area was clean and the staff was nice, but I would not be comfortable staying there again.

Room Tip: across or down the street at another place
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Ronny Dee is a very reasonably priced small family operation. A great value, location and pool. Only a few steps from the beach and you don't have to stay in one those expensive cement tower hotels. The rooms are nice and clean. This is a perfect place to just relax and enjoy the sunshine. The owners are extremely friendly and make you feel very welcome and always willing to accomodate your requests. Our entire family has been going there for many years and can't wait to return. You always see return guests year after year. I would recommend the Ronny Dee to anyone looking for a great value. Nice place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narragansett
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We've been going the the Ronny Dee Motel with family for many years. The current owners are nice people originally from New England. The rooms are reasonably priced and we love to plan family trips there. They have a nice pool and just a short walk to the beach. Many of the guests are return customers and a friendly bunch.

Room Tip: There's a 2 bedroom apartment for rent that works well with families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I booked this room at the last minute and because of that ended up in the last room available. We ended up on the tenant side where the rooms were a total disaster. Plaster falling of the walls no smoke detector, ceiling tiles falling down, lamp shades filthy, no security lock on the door, toilet seat broken, toilet loose, stained toilet, slept with our clothes on with towels over the pillows and covered only with the sheet. Bed spread probably never washed. We arrived there late at nite tried to find something else nothing available. A few cocktails before bedtime eased the shock. We did consider sleeping in the car. thank god we only booked one nite.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ronny Dee Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ronny Dee Resort Motel

Address: 717 S. Ocean Blvd., Pompano Beach, FL 33062
Location: United States > Florida > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 35 hotels in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ronny Dee Resort Motel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Ronny Dee Resort Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ronny Dee Hotel Pompano Beach
Ronny Dee Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ronny Dee Resort Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.