We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Orchid Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Orchid Cafe
1180 S. Powerline Rd, Pompano Beach, FL
954-979-1955
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 300 restaurants in Pompano Beach
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Thai, Continental
Dining options: Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We accidentily walked in, and were not sure what to expect, as the location wasn't very inviting. Once inside, the atmosphere, the decor, design et cetera is not good. That is a fact, and the owners are selling themselves short, because the service and the food is superb and not expensive at all. Fo our 4 year old we were able to pull from different courses on the menu and my wife and I had amazing curry. Quantity is good, price is good, the person serving us was very friendly. All in ll worth a visit, but please tell them the owners they need to upgrade the interior!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    6
    7
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Joseph, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Very good food, incl. curries and desserts. Nicely presented and fresh. Waiter/co-owner was friendly and accommodating (food made to order, ie. vegetarian, etc.). A pleasant experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Food & Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The Thai entrees were very fresh and tasted wonderful. The waiter asked how spicy we wished the entrees to be, and they were spiced just right for our tastes. The server was very attentive, and offered to split the soup into 2 portions which were just the right size to have with our entrees. This is a family owned business, and their attention to detail shows. The furnishings were nothing outstanding, but the food certainly was. This will be worth a repeat visit the next time we're in the area. Prices are very reasonable.

I suggest calling ahead to be sure they are open. I know they are closed on Monday's.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fresh & Real”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Jamie, his brother and mother have a wonderful resturant on Powerline Rd and the Foos could not be better. All menu items are fresh and cooked to order. Their chicken fried rice is the absoulute best and the fried bannanas and Thai donuts are a very special end to a delicious dinner. Service is personal and very good. A gem in the neighborhood!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dania Beach, FL
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“CONVENIENT THAI FOOD”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This Thai place offers delicious meals like pad thai, fresh basil, fresh vegetables, and so on. You can have them with meat, chicken, seafood, or tofu. Service is fast and nice. Lunch specials are very affordable and the restaurant has a nice atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orchid Cafe also viewed

Pompano Beach, FL
Pompano Beach, FL
 

Been to Orchid Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchid Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.