We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion

Red Lion
49 Sway Road, Morriston, Swansea, Wales
1792761870
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 3 Restaurants in Morriston
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Swansea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

You get what you pay for and its clean and tidy for a weatherspoons chain. Big portions if your a starver and on a budget.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    33
    22
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“always good pub grub & good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Wide selection on the menu. Helpfully all the menu options have the calorie value against each item!
Service is good and the pub has a nice welcoming atmosphere. Always reliable for a descent pub meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Gone down hill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Called in mid day, salmon salad and sirloin ordered. Salmon was dry and I could have bought better in lidle! Portions are tiny and whats worse..... Served on horrendous old fashioned plates that my great gran used to have!!!! Sa1 beefeater from now on me thinks!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent prices for good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Been here a number if times and if your looking for a good quality meal at a reasonable price then look no further.... Curry nights on Thursdays are as good as you'll get from your takeaway at a much better price, though get there early or you'll end up missing out

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Value for money!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

On the off chance my Friend and I called in for a meal one evening. It was a Thursday night and the theme of the menu was "Curry Night". I'm not sure wether you could order other alternatives off the menu but everyone seemed to be eating the various Currys on offer. The offer was a curry of choice, rice, nan bread,poppadoms and chutney sauce accompanied by a drink ie lager wine or soft drink all for £ 6.49.
We opted for the chicken tikka masala and the chicken jalfrezi , both were very tasty and spicy. We both also had a glass of Merlot , lovely!
Staff were attentive and tables cleared promptly. The whole place is very spacious with plenty of seating available. It was very busy there and seemed very popular with all ages.
The car park outside was large and access to the building disabled friendly.
I will definately return again possibly in the daytime with my Husband who is disabled. They have theme days on the menu so there are always special offers on ie steak on Tuesday, fish on Friday etc. also the choice of dishes apart from the themes was extensive.
Give it a go, for the price you can't go wrong!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Lion also viewed

 
Llanelli, Carmarthenshire
 

Been to Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.