We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Florida Weekend Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft Lauderdale - Plantation

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft Lauderdale - Plantation to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft Lauderdale - Plantation
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1701 North University Drive, Plantation, FL 33322   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #6 of 14 hotels in Plantation
New Rochelle, New York, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Florida Weekend Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I was on a short 3 day stay in Florida which had me moving between Fort Lauderdale and Miami. The front desk was great with everything I needed. Room service was very helpful. The pool, terrace and fitness center were excellent too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLLPL33322, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft Lauderdale - Plantation, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest;

Thank you for being our guest. We are happy to hear that you found everything
to your liking. Please come back soon and recommend us to your friends.

Sincerely,

Armando Valdes, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    56
    24
    4
    11
See reviews for
50
35
6
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Clean, convenient, comfortable, great staff, great breakfast, good value for the money. That about says it all. I will definitely go back when I return to Florida and will look for another Holiday Inn Express when traveling anywhere again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLLPL33322, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft Lauderdale - Plantation, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest;

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Please recommend
us to your friends and yes please come back again when you are in the area.

Sincerely,

Armando Valdes, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This property is clean, with very helpful staff. The rooms are very clean and the hotel is very close to the the Sawgrass Outlet that has lots of high end shops.
We travelled with 2 other families and had a great time at this location as it was not too far from the airport.
The rooms were clean, and the beds with fresh linen.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLLPL33322, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft Lauderdale - Plantation, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest;

Thank you for staying with us. We are glad to hear that your stay was so
satisfactory. Please come again and recommend us to your friends.

Sincerely,

Armando Valdes, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed here back in December/January before I took off to travel. It was a pleasant, quiet stay then, as it is today. One of the girls, who works at the front desk, remembers me from my stay back then. The staff is pleasant, prompt to fix issues and accommodating to make your stay comfortable.

Check-In time is 3 PM. Check-Out time is 11 AM. If you are using a debit card, they do place an additional $25.00 hold along with the amount of your entire stay.

The rooms are clean. The beds are firm and clean. AC is controlled by a thermostat on the wall. The showers have non-slip mats. All of the rooms have a refrigerator. You have to pay extra to get a room with a microwave though. The breakfast is the typical breakfast of any Holiday Inn.

There are several restaurants in the vicinity. Many of them deliver. There is an Indian restaurant at the hotel next door. I definitely recommend checking them out. The Broward mall is about 10 minutes away. The Sawgrass mall is about 20 minutes away. I595 is about 10 minutes south. The Florida turnpike is about 10 minutes east on Sunrise Blvd and I95 is about 20 minutes east on Sunrise Blvd.

A comfortable stay every time with helpful staff in a convenient location. I will definitely come back to this location for future stays!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLLPL33322, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft Lauderdale - Plantation, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest;

Thank you for the kind words. We look forward to
your next stay with us.

Armando Valdes, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

A group of us stayed pre-cruise, and all enjoyed the hotel. Outdoor pool was fine for the kids, breakfast was plentiful, stores and amenities close by. Staff were very helpful. We left our cars there for the week, no problem. About 20 minute drive to the Everglades Cruise terminal. Would stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLLPL33322, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft Lauderdale - Plantation, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest;

Thank you for staying with us. Hope you had a
great cruise.

Armando Valdes, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express, Plantation in Fort Lauderdale March 08-10 2013.

The standard room was your regular standard size and enough for 2 nights. I was there with my husband and my 16 year old in advance of our cruise. We had picked the Plantation area because of its proximity to great shopping. Broward Mall is only a few minutes away and The Colonnade/Sawgrass Mall about 15 minutes by car. You will need a car or a taxi to get out for dinner however. There was nothing decent close by.

My favourite feature in the room was the beds. The firm matreses were obviously new enough and the sheets were crisp. Very comfortable! The rooms are also very quiet. On our first morning, I was disappointed to find out that breakfast is only served until 10:00. On my first morning on vacation, I can tell you I wasn’t ready for breakfast before 10:00! When we got there, the nice breakfast lady was putting everything away but went out of her way to help me find something to carry back to our room where my son was still asleep. I was very impressed by her attention and how much she wanted to make sure we would have enough food! That helped make my stay there more pleasant.

I did attempt to continue my usual exercise routine. A gym is a prerequisite when we select a hotel. This one was pathetic. One treadmill, one un-plugged elliptical and one un-plugged exercise bike. “Luckily” the treadmill wasn’t being used so I was able to do something. The gym room has one small TV but no remote…and none of the machine had docking for IPods either. In our day and age, it seemed odd for a Holiday Inn Express to be so poorly equipped. Note that the hotel has a pool with long chaises but we didn't take advantage of it.

So all and all, the facility is clean and welcoming, the standard room was fine, the staff helpful but the gym was a no-go. The outlet shopping proximity is awesome if you have a car!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLLPL33322, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft Lauderdale - Plantation, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest;

Thank you for your kind words and for your remarks concerning the gym.
We are in the process of upgrading our equipment to better serve our
customers.

Sincerely,

Armando Valdes, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed here for one night before our cruise, because the price was good. We booked through Hotwire. Great room, got to do some shopping nearby. We had to rent a car since there was no shuttle from the airport or to the cruise port, but it was cheaper to rent a car than to arrange a shuttle and gave us convenience. The room was great, executive looking and the breakfast was good. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLLPL33322, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft Lauderdale - Plantation, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest;

Thanks for the kind words. I think you have found the winning
combination for a pre cruise stay. staying with us saves you
plenty for you to go shopping with.

Thanks,

Armando Valdes, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft Lauderdale - Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft Lauderdale - Plantation

Address: 1701 North University Drive, Plantation, FL 33322
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Plantation
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Plantation
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft Lauderdale - Plantation 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Plantation is set in a beautiful tropical environment, just minutes from Sawgrass Mills shopping mall, Sawgrass Corporate Park, the Bank Atlantic Center and only minutes from Ft. Lauderdale airport. The hotel is adjacent to the regional headquarters of Motorola, and within minutes of major offices for the following corporations: Nortel, American Express, Bell South, Nova SE University and the Sawgrass Corporate Park. We're just six miles west of Ft. Lauderdale in the flourishing Plantation area, less than 4 miles from Sawgrass Mills Mall and within twenty five minutes of the beach, Ft. Lauderdale Airport, Museum of Discovery and Science, Dolphin Stadium, Sawgrass Mills Outlet Mall (3 miles), Broward Mall (2 miles), Bank Atlantic Center (4 miles) and Broward Performing Arts Center. Visit Plantation, FL and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Tingo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft Lauderdale - Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Ft Lauderdale - Plantation
Holiday Inn Express Plantation
Holiday Inn Plantation
Plantation Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft Lauderdale - Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.