We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does not get better than this express!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft Lauderdale - Plantation

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft Lauderdale - Plantation to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft Lauderdale - Plantation
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1701 North University Drive, Plantation, FL 33322   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 14 hotels in Plantation
Miami
1 review
“Does not get better than this express!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

I have traveled all over the world and am a Platinum member with Holiday Inn. This is one of the best expresses out there. The service is exceptional. The staff is incredible. Especially the front desk staff. I will always stay at this hotel when I am in the area.

You have got a great hotel!

Room Tip: Suites are awesome. Don't miss the breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    50
    22
    3
    11
See reviews for
44
31
6
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
YYZ
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

The room itself was comfortable, we had a good sleep. Not a bad location if you have a car. Sawgrass Mills was about 10-15 minutes drive from there. The room felt a little dirty, especially the bathroom. We stayed on a Friday night, so we had breakfast there on Saturday. The breakfast area was crazy busy. We couldn't even find a table! We didn't go in the pool because there were quite a few bugs and leaves floating on top. Anyway, it was only 1 night. I probably wouldn't go back. There is another Holiday Inn on the same street (3003 North University Drive, Sunrise, FL) that is a lot better.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft Lauderdale - Plantation, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
We are glad you chose the Holiday Inn Express Plantation for your recent trip to the area. I just checked the pool and it is free of debris. In Florida sometimes leaves and other materials may be found in the pool. We do our very best to maintain cleanliness and it is swept often by our staff. We have seating in our breakfast area for around 80 people. Should we happen to have a large group you are always welcome to call down as sometimes they choose to dine together. We do our very best to control the flow to allow all guests to have an enjoyable “Express Start” experience.

We do hope you give us another opportunity. I hope to see you soon.

Warm Regards,
Michael Ridgewell
954-472-5600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We went to Ft. Lauderdale to attend a friends wedding on April 26, 2012. We check into our suite which was really nice. My boyfriend went to use the toilet and it was just flithy with prior poop from the prior guest. Called front desk to report the bathroom issues and with attitude, the response was "Sorry but we'll get something to clean it the next day" Ewww, that was just gross. Next day, I need to use the iron and it wasn't working. Went walking on the floor to find a cleaning personnel and one of the cleaning staff was able to find me another iron but when I went to plug it to use, again, not working. Worst about that is the iron had a stick that said "Rm 1234, not working iron". WTH?!? Called front desk to report this problem and the hotel supervisor or mgr came to the room with maintenance with another iron and finally got a working iron.

There are only 2 wastebasket for the entire suite, bed was very uncomfortable to sleep in. Too firm and my back was hurting alot during the stay there.

Breakfast was decent. Area where the hotel resides not too great. You would need to travel far in order to do any fun activities.

As for stay there again, Not again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft Lauderdale - Plantation, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Thank you choosing the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Ft. Lauderdale- Plantation on your recent trip to Ft. Lauderdale. I apologize we were unable to exceed your expectations during your stay. We take all comments very seriously and your comments have been researched and looked into to provide a better stay experience for all guests. It is our understanding that the front desk supervisor offered to send someone up to clean your room. but that you declined because it was late. Regarding the iron, the executive housekeeper advised me that the iron was new out of the box. We apologize for the difficulties We do not have a room 1234 at our property. We do issue 2 waste receptacles in our suites which are fully serviced everyday with housekeeping. All of our rooms are brand new as we just completed a Multi-Million dollar renovation. Our brand new bedding may be a bit of a challenge from some guest.. I apologize you did not get a good night’s rest. We are 5 Miles from Saw Grass Mills Mall, the second largest mall in Florida and about 12 Miles from major activities including downtown and the beach. I am glad you enjoyed our complimentary hot breakfast.

Should you like to speak further with me about your stay please give me a call. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Warm Regards,

Michael Ridgewell
954-472-5600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

This is a good example of what HIExpress is trying for. Nice clean, modern, well maintained hotel.

Junior Suite had plenty of room, couch, chair, living space. Nice big comfy beds, wet bar, shower/toilet + vanity area.

Two buildings with nice lobbies, doors kept locked at all times for security.

Central location in Broward County, price was a little high probably due to Spring Break.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft Lauderdale - Plantation, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
From all of the staff thank you for staying with us. We are glad you enjoyed our brand new hotel. During our season rates do tend to fluctuate. We are always offering discounts to our travelers for certain memberships and residency discounts. Please give me a call should you find yourself in the area again.

Warm Regards,
Michael Ridgewell
954-472-5600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

This hotel was well located for the business I was doing locally. The front desk staff was about as nice as you'd expect from such a hotel. The rooms were acceptable and totally clean especially considering the caliber of the hotel. The best thing about this hotel was the Indian hotel that's located next door.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft Lauderdale - Plantation, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Good Day. Thank you very much for posting about your positive stay experience with us here at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Ft. Lauderdale, Plantation. We are glad you were able to enjoy the overall cleanliness and experience of our hotel. We look forward to providing you with accommodations for a future stay.

Warm Regards,
Michael Ridgewell
954-472-5600 x6144
fom@expressplantation.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is clean and we had a very good sleep. The hotel has an outdoor pool and it was a cheap cab ride to the Sawgrassmall and to the Bank Atlantic Center. But it was a 50.00 cab ride to get there from FLL Airport. It was walking distance to some local restaurants. Overall not to bad.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft Lauderdale - Plantation, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time out of your busy schedule to review our hotel. We are very glad you enjoyed your sleep in one of our brand new guest rooms as well as found use of the local activities. Should you decide to return again in the future please give us a call as we do have transportation to and from the Airport and Cruise port at significantly discounted rates. We hope to have you join us in the near future and if I may be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to call.


Warm Regards,
Michael Ridgewell
954-472-5600 x6144
fom@expressplantation.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, GA
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

This is the first H.I.Express I have seen with a conference center. A very nice property with very attentive staff. The positive attitude of the staff really helped to make this a memorable stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft Lauderdale - Plantation, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the use of our meeting space. We look forward to being able to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Michael Ridgewell
954-472-5600 x6144
fom@expressplantation.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft Lauderdale - Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft Lauderdale - Plantation

Address: 1701 North University Drive, Plantation, FL 33322
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Plantation
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Plantation
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft Lauderdale - Plantation 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Plantation is set in a beautiful tropical environment, just minutes from Sawgrass Mills shopping mall, Sawgrass Corporate Park, the Bank Atlantic Center and only minutes from Ft. Lauderdale airport. The hotel is adjacent to the regional headquarters of Motorola, and within minutes of major offices for the following corporations: Nortel, American Express, Bell South, Nova SE University and the Sawgrass Corporate Park. We're just six miles west of Ft. Lauderdale in the flourishing Plantation area, less than 4 miles from Sawgrass Mills Mall and within twenty five minutes of the beach, Ft. Lauderdale Airport, Museum of Discovery and Science, Dolphin Stadium, Sawgrass Mills Outlet Mall (3 miles), Broward Mall (2 miles), Bank Atlantic Center (4 miles) and Broward Performing Arts Center. Visit Plantation, FL and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft Lauderdale - Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Ft Lauderdale - Plantation
Holiday Inn Express Plantation
Holiday Inn Plantation
Plantation Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft Lauderdale - Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.