We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, Clean room, Great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Ft. Lauderdale Plantation

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Ft. Lauderdale Plantation to your Saves list
Residence Inn Ft. Lauderdale Plantation
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   130 N University Drive, Plantation, FL 33324   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Plantation
GreenLeadersBronze level
Somerset, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good value, Clean room, Great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We stayed at the hotel for a week. The breakfast and weeknight meals are very good. The room was clean, though probably could use an update. The kitchen made staying inexpensively easy. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashleigh R, General Manager at Residence Inn Ft. Lauderdale Plantation, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
marvs5,

Thank you for being our guest! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    96
    47
    26
    14
See reviews for
118
56
17
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Although the hotel is barely adequate, the website states that the property is pet friendly. That is a blatant lie. They tolerate pets, but only upon payment of a $100 NON refundable fee. In most cases, that is more than the room charge for the night. Although we have been loyal Marriott clients, we may have to rethink future travel plans and find a property that is truly pet friendly. PS, you should consider that fish, birds and snakes are potentially considered pets. I dare say that a fish is considerably less intrusive that some couples and their kids.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashleigh R, General Manager at Residence Inn Ft. Lauderdale Plantation, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
PETERtheK,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are a pet friendly hotel, that does require a $100 non-refundable fee for standard sanitation purposes, as advertised on our website, I'm sorry that you did not find these regulations acceptable. I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay despite this, and I hope to see you the next time your bussiness travels bring you to Ft. Lauderdale.
Sincerely,

Ashleigh R
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed here in Janurary 2013 for 1 week and enjoyed our stay. The manager's dinners were OK and a nice bonus. We especially enjoyed the fresh fruit that was offered with the hot breakfasts everyday. It was about a 20 minute drive to the beach, which is what we came for. The kids (teenagers) made friends with the hotel cat, whom they named "Furr-sty" (he was very fuzzy and thirsty). The large 2 bedroom suite was fine. The staff was helpful and pleasant. Overall, a nice stay for a family.

Room Tip: Get a suite if you have kids
See more room tips
Green Features: The towels were scruffy but I was glad they were using environmentally friendly techniques.
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Mt
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The two front desk staff we dealt with were very friendly and helpful, even after our stay when we wanted to change the billing to our Marriott Visa. We got a very good internet rate for our stay of one night and they upgraded us to a 1-bedroom. The hotel was very busy when we were here, with most parking spots taken in the evening. This meant the evening and morning meal services were fairly busy, but the seating area was large enough to handle everyone. The evening reception was a very good meal of hamburgers and the fixings, although pouring soda from pitchers wasn't very convenient. Breakfast also was good. There was a computer to use in the lobby, but the location wasn't very convenient and they were doing very long computer updates, so I wasn't able to use it very much. About 30 minutes from the beach, which didn't leave us time in the evening to go there. Right across a couple major roads is a large mall. Due to the major roads and a gas station nearby, there isn't a lot of quiet area to walk.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashleigh R, General Manager at Residence Inn Ft. Lauderdale Plantation, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
ClarkCreek,
We're very happy to hear that everything went well with your stay, and we appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback! We hope to see you the next time you come to visit the Ft. Lauderdale area!
Sincerely,

Ashleigh R
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Beds are very comfortable - I usually have trouble falling asleep --- not here!! Plenty of room in the room... Staff was very friendly... Breakfast was great!! The only draw back was the location. If you are going to Ft. Lauderdale - for the beach - this hotel is about 30 minutes from the beach.

Room Tip: We had a 2 bedroom suite - full kitchen and living room... 2 bathrooms... water in shower was alwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador, San Salvador, El Salvador
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

When we travel to Florida we like to stay in Ft. Lauderdale, this hotel lobby and restaurant was recently renovated, staff is very nice, rooms are clean. It is well located near malls, you can go to Miami from here its not far.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elizabeth, colorado
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Soooo....let me preface this review on the premise that I have stayed at tons of Residence Inns. This is why this stay outperformed the others. Check in was a breeze and went without a problem, room was great but it was the service that mattered. I was missing a wine opener in my room and called the front desk for a replacement..without a dispute Marriott found a replacement and delivered without a hesitation. Absolutely enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: As always...away from the elevator and pool. Be aware of the improvements at any specific hotel and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Ft. Lauderdale Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Ft. Lauderdale Plantation

Address: 130 N University Drive, Plantation, FL 33324
Location: United States > Florida > Plantation
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Plantation
#2 Business Hotel in Plantation
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Ft. Lauderdale Plantation 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Plantation was recently renovated and features the ideal amenities to make it the perfect extended stay Fort Lauderdale hotel. Conveniently located off I-595, this Plantation hotel is just 15 minutes from the Fort Lauderdale International Airport and the Fort Lauderdale Cruise Ports. Guests staying at this hotel also appreciate the close proximity to travel destinations such as the BB&T Center, Sun Life Stadium, and downtown Miami. The renovated lobby offers comfy seating, a flat-screen TV, and a complimentary breakfast buffet offering a variety of fruits, cereals, and entrees including Belgian waffles. The spacious guest rooms offer all the amenities to make you feel at home including, free WiFi, Flat-Screen HD TVs, and a fully-equipped kitchen with stainless steel appliances. Guests love to maintain their active lifestyle by playing tennis or basketball on the sports court, getting their work out in on the road in the fitness center, and soaking in the Florida sun at the outdoor pool. Local travel is easy with the free shuttle service, making this the perfect Fort Lauderdale/Plantation Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Marriott, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Residence Inn Ft. Lauderdale Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Ft. Lauderdale Plantation Hotel Plantation
Residence Inn Plantation
Plantation Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Ft. Lauderdale Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.