We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It must have been a very nice hotel once” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   311 N University Drive, Plantation, FL 33324   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #4 of 14 hotels in Plantation
Heredia, Costa Rica
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“It must have been a very nice hotel once”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

It's a shame a Sheraton hotel is in such a state of abandonment. The rooms are very nice, with a separate living space, but they haven't been taken care of for a long time. The staff has no interest of being there and they are quick to dismiss any request or complaint. The lobby is very nice, but the carpets and furniture on the other floors are old and dirty. The cleaning personnel barely makes your bed, but definitely don't clean very much. On the 3rd of our stay they made the bed, but left the comforter on the floor as well as the decorative pillows; they didn't take the trash from our trashcans until that 3rd day when we called to complain, and instead of apologizing they sent a man that didn't speak English with extra bedding and to take the trash. I guess this is just the usual. Additionally, you see 2 people on the reception all the time, but every time you call from a room they don't pick up the phone, so you have to call 2 or 3 times to get someone to answer. It's really a shame, a very nice hotel but with no management.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    161
    187
    67
    32
    13
See reviews for
140
138
37
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
miami
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel, great service. Housekeeping staff is very helpful. Hotel is kept clean. I would recommend this hotel to anyone in the Broward county area. I had to stay here for a week and a half and it was great. The pool and gym are awesome as well.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I must say that if you're staying in the area this is the perfect hotel. Although it is connected to an abandoned mall, the interior/exterior of the hotel is still amazing. The pool on the rooftop was gorgeous along with the AMAZING view. I stay in a suite (room 439 I think) and I must say I loved my room. Having a jacuzzi in the beautiful bathroom was a plus and I used it every night. The huge king bed was also a plus. The staff were very friendly. The location of the hotel was also good because a few minutes away was the Broward Mall. University drive on the whole really was a good road in that many stores I visited was located along there. If you're in the Plantation area, do stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCortijo, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
We are glad you fell in love with our property. You can count on us again when your travel plans take you back to South Florida.

regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Overnight stay with our dogs. Amazing room with separate living space. Two TVs, couch, huge plush king size bed, gorgeous double sink vanity and nice toiletries. We also has room service for dinner which was yummy. Most definitely would stay here again!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Spent one night here prior to Caribbean cruise. Very friendly staff, clean surroundings and close to shopping mall which was a pleaser to my wife and daughter. If there is a complaint to be made it would have to do with parking, returned to hotel after shopping at about 9:30pm and had to park a little distance from the lobby in a poorly lit area which made me a little worried.

Room Tip: Rooms away from elevator area are quieter due to less traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed here for a few weeks. It was a cheap hotel in the sense we used cash and points so kept costs down. As platinum guests, we got free small buffet breakfast which was the same everyday and included continental plus eggs, bacon, potatoes and pancakes. We had a couple of issues during our stay which we're taken care of immediately by the mgmt. We also had to switch rooms as our Internet was non-existent in our room. It was very spotty but was fine once we switched rooms. Location is walking distance to Walgreens and Westfield mall. Sawgrass outlet mall ( best mall) is about 15 minutes drive. It's an average three star hotel. Don't go with high expectations and you won't be disappointed. Pool is great and food is cheap by the pool. Hot dogs $4.00....beer ... $4.00 etc.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Dont go until renovated.
This hotel felt tired and neglected.
Location is not very good.
Very nousy and hard to het to due to messy road construction.
Rooms are outdated and windows do not open.
Guest bathrooms in lobby need repair badly.
Staff was very friendly!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West

Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West Hotel Plantation
Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West Hotel
Sheraton Plantation
Plantation Sheraton
Address: 311 N University Drive, Plantation, FL 33324
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Plantation
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Plantation
#6 Family Hotel in Plantation
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Suites Plantation, Fort Lauderdale West, is all-suite, full-service hotel within walking distance to the Broward Mall, close to major office complexes, and just 10 minutes from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Starwood, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Otel, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.