We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depend on what you like??” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   311 N University Drive, Plantation, FL 33324   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #5 of 14 hotels in Plantation
Gainesville, Florida, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Depend on what you like??”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Things likable about this hotel-big bedroom with living room divider, room size, big bathroom area, Thick towels, 2 tv's with remotes movie and games on tv,roof top pool with a view,sauna,large meeting rooms,location to shopping,restaurants comfort bed with clean white linens,happy hour nice bar area., friendly, helpful,good service staff, good service housekeeping staff, The soup was good with fresh big shrimp.star buck coffee used in the room coffee maker.Free covered parking and outside parking. Plus all the other good things other say about this hotel on this site.free internet
Now the things to consider about this hotel--- need to do some updating/renov. carpets, furniture.
In the past I used to heavy book this hotel.I was so sadden :( to see the hotel is not what it used to be. The area around the hotel gone down, all the pot holes in surrounding parking lots. I miss the fashion mall :(
A lot of kids at hotel so kind of noisy.
But I did have a good hotel stay. Staff made me smile -- Thank you

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCortijo, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Jadacaresclub,

Thanks for your review, I can tell you are a long time friend of the Sheraton Suites Plantation. Thanks for your detail comments about our property. The new ownership of the hotel has been already working on some renovations/improvements for the property and on the other hand; I have seen the ownership of the the building next to us very actively working on the future use of that building, their office building is schedule to open this fall.
We hope to see you again and that you like "our new look" once renovations are completed.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    175
    208
    75
    32
    17
See reviews for
164
152
37
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This hotel is very nice and not that expensive,
They have a nice gym and a pool on the 9th floor.
They are very clean the only thing is that the breakfast was not included and when I made the reservation it says free continental breakfast.
other than that it is very nice hotel in a nice area (mall across the street, Walgreens,bank,hospital)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCortijo, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
YaelR,

Is very nice of you to take time to write a great review about our hotel, We try to price it correctly to fit our mix of business/leisure travelers.
See you again soon!!

David Cortijo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Booked this room for family as they were visiting from out of state and there was no room in our small apartment. This was a super place! CLEAN and crisp. Huge Bedroom with crisp white linens and a bed that I was told they slept like babies on. Also Nice large bathroom with nice amenities. Large separate living room, with a mini kitchenette (sink, fridge, microwave, and coffee maker). This would;d be a super place for extended stays. More like a small 1- bedroom apartment. Super lobby with a nice bar and sitting area. Free USA Today. Free 3-MILE shuttle that ill get you to almost anywhere in Plantation. Good workout room, and super rooftop pool. Close to shopping and nearby office parks, right in the middle of a residential suburb of Fort Lauderdale. Front desk and management are awesome. This will be our go-to property when we have guests from out of twon!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Providence Island
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed in the Two Bedroom Suite that comprises of actually 3 rooms in one.. a room with 1 King Bed and full size bathroom, a living room, and a room with two double beds and a bathroom. This was the perfect size factoring that it was a few adults and kids, it can hold 7 guest easy. I was very very amazed, I enjoyed it to the fullest. Then the gym and pool on the 9th floor was great...very nice gym and pool.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCortijo, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear WorldTraveler1900

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us. That is what Sheraton is all about, staying connected with friends and family.
Come back see us again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
386 helpful votes 386 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We needed a few nights prior to a cruise to relax in Ft. Lauderdale. We were a large group and this all suite hotel fit the bill. Rates we had included a very nice breakfast. Beds were good, bathrooms well laid out and internet relatively fast. Coffee makers in the rooms were a nice touch. Also the pool on the roof was nice after a day of shopping.

We love to shop so we planned 3 days at Sawgrass mills which is one of the largest outlet malls in the world. It is 15 mintues away from this hotel...dangerous ;) We went there for three days and filled two suitcases.

During the evenings, we wanted to go out and have a nice dinner and not have to drink and drive. The hotel van kindly agreed to drop us at some local restaurants....of course we tipped.

Overall this hotel provides tremendous value and a very comfortable sleeping environment. Ft. Lauderdale is a $20 away to the beach. So you have many options.

Enjoy, we cannot find fault with this hotel and have stayed several times now. We also found the front desk staff to be lovely!

Safe travels to all!

Room Tip: Pick a room not too close to the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCortijo, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear NYCshopper,

Thanks for your review!! Yes we are dangerously close to Sawgrass Mills Mall and I am sure 3 days were good enough to study the mall and "do some damage".
Thanks for taking care of our bellman as he took you our for diner locally.

...you know where we are...

Will be waiting for you!
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there pre-cruise on 5/25/13. On the plus side, the rooms are spacious- offering adequate room & privacy for 4 persons. The general room layout is great! The service is hit or miss. I made 2 reservations (1 for me, 1 for another family), & they checked in first. Upon check in they were told the hotel was @ capacity & everything was booked. Ok, popular stay... Tony from NY took us to the mall & have us recommendations for dinner. He was extremely helpful & even assisted us in our transportation to the ship. On the other hand, young Tony (in the morning) scowled @ our request to take us to McDonalds for breakfast....to which a more mature gentleman told him- "we aim to make our guests happy".
Check in went smooth for the most part. We were told that since the hotel was @ capacity, that we wouldn't be able to be near our companions- ok, no problem. However, our room overlooked a wall, which extended past my point of rubber necking abilities to see anything but blank space & air exchange equipment- Not Cool!! Thank god it was only one night & no one was closterphobic!
We went to the roof top pool for a bit- fair, not any thing special. Next, I called down to the front desk to poltely inquire about breakfast (our travel companions thought it was included). I was immediately admonished & told "that is one reason why I don't mention breakfast as people think it's included!" I quietly told her I didn't think so as I had made the reservations & that I would let our friends know. Well @ 10:30pm she decided she would call our friends & after walk g them & their young child up, she continued to scold her as to breakfast as she didn't want her supervisor told of a misunderstanding!!! Hello!!!! What ever happened to customer service!!! Misunderstandings happen & since both reservations were paid for with my credit card, I was the one to deal with it. My friend reported to me via text what was going on & I was appalled at best. She refuses to stay there again because she couldn't go back to sleep after being awakened.
In short, this place has great potential, but needs some serious hospitality training for its younger staff!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCortijo, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Catalina217

Thanks for your honest review of your recent visit to our property. We will use your review as part of our ongoing training as this clearly shows several opportunities for improvement. I will try to reach out to you to get some more details in order to prevent this from happening again in the future.

regards
David Cortijo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

For the price, this is a great place. The staff is ULTRA friendly, especially front desk, bartender, and security. The area is VERY safe, a large mall and tons of great restaurants within a mile or so. Sometimes people get a little picky about small thing (eg..a tile was cracked or there was a mark on the floorboard...lighten up). great amenities...9 th floor rooftop pool/hottub and workout room. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCortijo, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dave S

Thanks for this great review, We are very happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us. See us again soon please.

regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West

Address: 311 N University Drive, Plantation, FL 33324
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Plantation
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Plantation
#5 Romantic Hotel in Plantation
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Suites Plantation, Fort Lauderdale West, is all-suite, full-service hotel within walking distance to the Broward Mall, close to major office complexes, and just 10 minutes from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Starwood, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West Hotel Plantation
Sheraton Plantation
Plantation Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.