We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel with security issues” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West to your Saves list
Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   311 N University Drive, Plantation, FL 33324   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Plantation
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel with security issues”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

We had negotiated a corporate rate for 100 nights given a project my company was working on. The rooms are clean, well appointed and comfortable. The lobby is clean, restaurant has a great food, and the Internet has decent bandwidth. This had us going well until later the first week when we noticed a new BMW that was sitting on blocks. (Picture Uploaded) This proceeded a set of sirens and police in the lobby the night before. I inquired at the front desk regarding the security and they stated when the cruise passengers are laying over, it attracts a different element around the hotel.

The evening following, a deranged individual attempted to open the drivers door of a female employee who was picking me up in front of the hotel. He only left when I was approaching the car and my employee was freaking out by the attempted entry into her vehicle. When I returned into the hotel I noticed a very old and asleep security guard slumped over in his chair. At this point I cut my stay short to avoid the hassle AND liability. If you are a male or strong female who's only staying one or two nights between Mon-Thus this hotel is great. Otherwise it becomes seedy over the weekend with the cruisers.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCortijo, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Mkristian,

Thanks for your review, we take our guest safety very seriously. The appropriate department managers have been made aware of your experience.
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    263
    95
    38
    18
See reviews for
209
186
43
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Homosassa, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This hotel offered an excellent package for an overnight stay, with breakfast, transportation to Port Everglades and free parking for our 10 day cruise. Our suite was spacious, clean and very well maintained. The bedding was a little too firm for out taste, but that is just personal preference.We found that every one of the hotel staff to be extremely friendly and helpful.
Beautiful lobby, nice lounge, excellent breakfast! I highly recommend this facility.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCortijo, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Saints2

Thanks for your kind review. We are glad to be part of your trip. Please stop by and see us again!

Regards
David Cortijo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Great value for nice suites. Little aged but spacious rooms with good bed and additional sofa bed. Kitchenette with Starbucks coffee.Nice & accommodating staff. Great breakfast buffet. Ample parking. Very good location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCortijo, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Wimster,
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers, We are glad to see you enjoyed what our facility and staff offers. Please keep us in mind for when your travel plans bring you back to South Florida.

Regards
David Cortijo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This property is not far from the university in Plantation, FL. The hotel has great 2 room suites and is clean and well-appointed. It is in walking distance to many restaurants. Staff was most helpful when checking in. Parking is free and most all hotels in the Miami area charge at least $15 a day to park a vehicle. So when driving to a cruise and staying overnight, stay here and then head for the Port of Miami the next morning, you will be there in about 20 minutes. Or if you want to tour Miami by day, stay here at night and tour during the day, a better buy than many budget hotels in Miami.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCortijo, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Albuquerque108,

We are delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location makes us a great point of contact wherever you go in South Florida.

See you soon!!!
David Cortijo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We returned for the second time to spend three nights at this Sheraton Suites hotel having been greatly impressed by everything it offers the last time were were there which was some 18 months' ago. The prime reason for our visit was to shop and dine in some of the excellent restaurants in the vicinity and all our expectations were more than satisfied. The reception staff are welcoming and the suites spacious and incredibly clean and comfortable. We will certainly return!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCortijo, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
JeniferandPeter,

Thanks making us part of your South Florida trip, We are excited to see you enjoyed our hotel and local attractions. Lots of new things are about to happen for our hotel, you will like it even more very soon...

Regards
David Cortijo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bath
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

From check-in to check-out it's everything you could want from a hotel. Welcoming lobby, friendly reception staff and a superb room/suite. From walking into the swish lobbby everything just got better! We arrived early after a tiring previous night and drive, the staff pointed us in the direction of the pool and suggested coffee (which was superb) The pool was spacious, lots of loungers and towels. We were given a choice of floors/ location and the suite we had was spacious and well equipped. We slept very well in this hotel. Reception staff suggested we check with them to see if the room could be prepped a bit early for us, and it was . Maid service was second to none, superbly cleaned every day and toiletries, coffee, linens replenished daily.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCortijo, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
LovetotravelBath,

Thanks for your great review. we are very excited to see our staff was able to make that connection with you and help make your stay a memorable one. Hope to be your host again in a near future!!

Regards
David Cortijo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbury, Connecticut
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotels dazzles from the moment you walk in the door.

The lobby is impeccably decorated and everything shines. The staff is consummately professional and friendly. Frankly, I felt a bit underdressed for my arrival at this very classy place.

The room was superb. It was indeed a "suite" consisting of a parlor/kitchenette, bathroom and bedroom. If needed, all areas could be closed off from one another. The room was spotless and beautifully appointed. The bed was gigantic and very comfortable.

The breakfast buffet was great, although a little pricey for breakfast fare. Then again, there was no need to buy lunch after such a hearty meal.

Be aware of the location however. In traffic, Fort Lauderdale beach is about 1/2 hour away.

This is, without a doubt, one of the nicest hotels I have ever visited. To top it all off, I got an excellent rate through Hotwire.

Room Tip: This hotel is rated 3 1/2 stars. Watch for that designation if your are bidding blind on a hotel in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCortijo, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear REGT,

Is very flattering to receive such great recommendation from such an experience traveler. Thanks for your great comments; please stop by and visit us again!!
By the way… that really big comfortable bed is a Sheraton exclusive “Sheraton Sweet Sleeper” it is also sold for personal use thru the Starwood Website.

Warm Regards
David Cortijo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West

Address: 311 N University Drive, Plantation, FL 33324
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Plantation
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Plantation
#4 Business Hotel in Plantation
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Suites Plantation, Fort Lauderdale West, is all-suite, full-service hotel within walking distance to the Broward Mall, close to major office complexes, and just 10 minutes from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Starwood, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West Hotel Plantation
Sheraton Plantation
Plantation Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.