We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent Hotel for Family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West to your Saves list
Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   311 N University Drive, Plantation, FL 33324   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Plantation
Venezuela
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excelent Hotel for Family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Every time i come to South Florida i stay on this hotel, great location, excelent rooms, i love it. Close to Broward mall, supermarkets, all kinds of food places. I totally recomend it for family traveling with small children. The rooms are huge, a small sink, minifrige, microwave. The only flaw i could think of is the lack of free wi-fi inside rooms. But overall it worth every penny

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    231
    82
    34
    17
See reviews for
179
169
39
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Was here for a week. Pool very nice, staff pleasant (though could use more people at high times, seemed overwhelmed at busy times). Would like to know housekeeping protocols ... Everything replenished daily, but floor / carpet / sinks never seems to be cleaned daily. Everything sticky by week's end. Otherwise fine.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Top Contributor
281 reviews 281 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Nice business property located in business/residential area

Lots of food choices in area and about 20minutes to water taxi in Lauderdale

Not the spot for someone looking for beach but a nice base for this neck of the woods

Room Tip: We asked for quiet room #541 was great-end of hall and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Nice hotel. Very well maintain. Very nice size. Good beds with very nice pillows. Very close to Saw grass mall and also to Broward mall. There is also an Ikea nearby.. You can also find some nice desktops to browse your mail.

Room Tip: Try to get a room near elevator. Sometime distance in some rooms are far from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a one bedroom suite with 2 double beds before flying out the next morning with my family. There are pros and cons to this hotel. To begin with, the hotel is located is what appears to be a shuttered mall. It probably was a nice location when the mall was open. The lobby was nice and was greeted by a friendly and warm staff. Once we arrived at our room, we were met with a nice layout which included a small living area separated by sliding double doors. The furniture had seen better days but the beds were comfortable. The room could use a good coat of paint due to looking fairly dirty. The big plus to this location is it's only about 10 minutes to the airport. However with that said, we did run in to an issue involving bedbugs which is a big sticking point. I had one of my kids stay on the pull out sofa bed for the evening. The next morning, he awoke to bites all up and down his arm. I did notify the front desk, so hopefully the issue will be addressed and quickly.... if not, it was room 622 if people want to avoid it.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Rooms are very clean and laid out like none I've stayed in before. The suite has doors separating the beds from the living area and the bath. The bar/kitchen (microwave) was laid out well, equipped right and CLEAN!
Staff helped us for an extremely late check in and were so friendly and glad that we were there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I recently stayed here for 3 nights while on a business trip. The rooms themselves were great - very large, all suites with a microwave, mini fridge, and coffee maker along with two flat screen TVs and a sitting area. No complaints there.

A few issues did occur, however, when we stayed there. Apparently they had recently done something to the rooftop hot tub which resulted in an over abundance of some chemical, probably chlorine. After myself and some of my colleagues went in there one night, we noticed our bathing suits had literally been stripped of their color! Not only that, our skin was dry, red, and itchy and even after showering multiple times, our hair and skin reeked like chlorine (our business colleagues the next day commented on it, that's how strong it was!) The management is in the process of working it out with us but the fact that it even happened is beyond acceptable - my family owned a pool and testing the pH balance is SIMPLE so the fact that the maintenance failed to do so and in turn affected multiple people's health and well being is a horrible offence.

In addition, I have to mention that the service in the on-site restaurant is ridiculous. It's a buffet for breakfast and we went three mornings since it was included in our rate and they honestly were either under-staffed or under-trained (or both) because it took an obscene amount of time for every request we made. Ask for coffee - you get it 10 minutes later. Ask for your bill - well, you ought to just do that at the beginning of your breakfast. EVERY morning we had to ask for it multiple times as it seemed the servers kept forgetting about us!

Overall, I really did like the hotel and would stay there again as long as the management provides a satisfactory resolution to the hot tub incident. In the future, I would just skip the restaurant and grab breakfast somewhere else since I don't normally have 45 minutes to spare for a buffet with slow service.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West

Address: 311 N University Drive, Plantation, FL 33324
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Plantation
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Plantation
#4 Business Hotel in Plantation
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Suites Plantation, Fort Lauderdale West, is all-suite, full-service hotel within walking distance to the Broward Mall, close to major office complexes, and just 10 minutes from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West Hotel Plantation
Sheraton Plantation
Plantation Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.