We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It served it's purpose” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West to your Saves list
Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   311 N University Drive, Plantation, FL 33324   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Plantation
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“It served it's purpose”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a one bedroom suite with 2 double beds before flying out the next morning with my family. There are pros and cons to this hotel. To begin with, the hotel is located is what appears to be a shuttered mall. It probably was a nice location when the mall was open. The lobby was nice and was greeted by a friendly and warm staff. Once we arrived at our room, we were met with a nice layout which included a small living area separated by sliding double doors. The furniture had seen better days but the beds were comfortable. The room could use a good coat of paint due to looking fairly dirty. The big plus to this location is it's only about 10 minutes to the airport. However with that said, we did run in to an issue involving bedbugs which is a big sticking point. I had one of my kids stay on the pull out sofa bed for the evening. The next morning, he awoke to bites all up and down his arm. I did notify the front desk, so hopefully the issue will be addressed and quickly.... if not, it was room 622 if people want to avoid it.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    263
    95
    38
    18
See reviews for
209
186
43
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Rooms are very clean and laid out like none I've stayed in before. The suite has doors separating the beds from the living area and the bath. The bar/kitchen (microwave) was laid out well, equipped right and CLEAN!
Staff helped us for an extremely late check in and were so friendly and glad that we were there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I recently stayed here for 3 nights while on a business trip. The rooms themselves were great - very large, all suites with a microwave, mini fridge, and coffee maker along with two flat screen TVs and a sitting area. No complaints there.

A few issues did occur, however, when we stayed there. Apparently they had recently done something to the rooftop hot tub which resulted in an over abundance of some chemical, probably chlorine. After myself and some of my colleagues went in there one night, we noticed our bathing suits had literally been stripped of their color! Not only that, our skin was dry, red, and itchy and even after showering multiple times, our hair and skin reeked like chlorine (our business colleagues the next day commented on it, that's how strong it was!) The management is in the process of working it out with us but the fact that it even happened is beyond acceptable - my family owned a pool and testing the pH balance is SIMPLE so the fact that the maintenance failed to do so and in turn affected multiple people's health and well being is a horrible offence.

In addition, I have to mention that the service in the on-site restaurant is ridiculous. It's a buffet for breakfast and we went three mornings since it was included in our rate and they honestly were either under-staffed or under-trained (or both) because it took an obscene amount of time for every request we made. Ask for coffee - you get it 10 minutes later. Ask for your bill - well, you ought to just do that at the beginning of your breakfast. EVERY morning we had to ask for it multiple times as it seemed the servers kept forgetting about us!

Overall, I really did like the hotel and would stay there again as long as the management provides a satisfactory resolution to the hot tub incident. In the future, I would just skip the restaurant and grab breakfast somewhere else since I don't normally have 45 minutes to spare for a buffet with slow service.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights before our cruise from Miami. Since we flew into FLL late, we decided to stay near FLL. So easy to get to by rental car. One exit off I-595 and you're there. This hotel is about 9 stories and is on a busy highway. But there are sidewalks, so walking is possible. The rooms are suites, with plenty of room for all our pre-cruise re-arranging of suitcases. There's a little kitchenette area w/ microwave and mini-fridge. The room was clean and quiet. Staff was friendly. And great news - internet is now free in the room! I asked if this was for SPG members only, but the clerk said no, they just started this service for everyone. There is a vacant mall attached to this hotel. But 1 block away, you can walk to the large Westfield Mall, where you will find jcp, Sears, Dillard's, and lots of other smaller mall stores. A few more blocks down the street is a Marshall's Home Goods and Kohl's. Perfect location for picking up last minute cruise things. Also, right next door to the hotel is a Walgreen's. We walked over there one night and felt safe. Also, all sorts of restaurants nearby. Pool and fitness rooms were on the top floor. Not a resort location, but very convenient and comfortable.

Room Tip: One elevator for a square hotel with courtyard, so if you don't want to walk a long way, ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veracruz, Mexico
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Staff were very friendly, it´s my first day and th rooms are great, spacious, large bath, 2 TVs, efficient kitchenette, and confortable living area with a folding door to provide separation from the bedroom if desired, free wi-fi in the room.

I´ve heard there´s a roof top pool, today I will visit the gym and steam room and tomorrow to the pool!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, CA
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I stayed here for a few days before a cruise. I had stayed in the area before, so I was familiar with it. The hotel itself is decent enough. In fact, the rooms are suites, with living and sleeping areas. I found the front desk staff friendly, but several times I couldn't get through on the phone-- from my room! Free parking, free internet in the lobby and a nice work out room and pool on the top floor are all benefits. The oddest aspect of this hotel is that it is attached to a defunct mall, so it seems oddly empty around it. It is a hike to find anything outside the hotel, like a Starbuck's. I got a great rate through Hotwire, and recommend that others look for deals.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We've stayed at the Sheraton Suites for four nights and liked the place. We had a spacious suite with two queen beds and a double sofa bed for our family. The rooms are very clean, the staff is very nice and friendly and they would allow us even a late checkout.
Parking is free and there is a lot of space, so this hotel is great to be recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West

Address: 311 N University Drive, Plantation, FL 33324
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Plantation
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Plantation
#4 Business Hotel in Plantation
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Suites Plantation, Fort Lauderdale West, is all-suite, full-service hotel within walking distance to the Broward Mall, close to major office complexes, and just 10 minutes from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West Hotel Plantation
Sheraton Plantation
Plantation Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.