We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Neighborhood Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of J Alexanders Restaurant

J Alexanders Restaurant
8550 W Broward Blvd, Plantation, FL 33324
(954) 916-8841
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 212 Restaurants in Plantation
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Neighborhood Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Used to eat there at least once a week. Great salads & food in Plantation, (not many great restaurants). In these times where money is tight, it is a little pricey. The drinks are always the best! Spending $10 or $11 for a martini, puts a damper on your bill,as with all the other drinks. Thank goodness I'm a one drink girl! It's tough always waiting at least 30 min.for dinner after a long day at work. If you go, the smoked salmon is to die for, (appetizer), but they usually run out, so go early, if you can.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    89
    31
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, UT
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good food and atmosphere for a business dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

This was my first trip to J Alexanders and the waiter said the prime rib was one of their specialties so I ordered that with chilled asparagus on the side. My table also split a southwestern variation of spinach/artichoke dip that was quite good.

The prime rib was good but didn't stand out. When I placed the order I asked for it to be finished off on the grill which they forgot to do and then they didn't bring the horseradish I requested. Other than that the service was quick and pretty good.

We were having a business discussion over this meal and even though the restaurant was pretty full our booth gave us plenty of seperation to have our conversation easily. For that reason I would try this location for a business dinner again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The ambiance, friendly staff and food were top quality. It's not a restaurant who wants to get rid of you in a few minutes but takes all the time you want.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Heroic efforts by the waiter couldn't save the experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Looking for a good place for dinner and all our usual favorites being booked, we followed the recommendation of our hotel concierge to eat here. The front desk advised us crisply that we were looking at an hour's wait so we turned to leave, but then one member of the party noticed the empty tables outside and asked if we could sit there. 'Of course,' we were told, so we wondered why we hadn't been offered the option to begin with. A party of five is not insignificant revenue. The waiter was entertaining, devoted and helpful, but the food was very so-so. In fact the roast chicken was so surprisingly greasy and heavy that it went largely untouched, and the steak lovers were unimpressed with their orders. The side of Israeli couscous sounded interesting, but the seasoning screamed 'powdered soup mix' so loudly it was deafening. Prices were so-so. $22 for the half roast chicken.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food but felt rushed!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Love J Alexander's Restaurants due to the consistent good food and atmosphere. So it all comes down to the people. Stopped in for dinner and felt rushed by our waiter at all times. I will think next before returning.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J Alexanders Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to J Alexanders Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J Alexanders Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.