We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel - Great Service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Plantation Fort Lauderdale

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Plantation Fort Lauderdale to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Plantation Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1230 South Pine Island Rd., Plantation, FL 33324   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #2 of 14 hotels in Plantation
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel - Great Service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We were in Plantation for a family wedding. The couple had suggested and reserved rooms at the Hyatt but we got a much better rate at the Renaissance. Check in went smoothly and the room was great. The bedding could use some help. At this nice of a hotel I would have expected at least as good as a Hampton, Double Tree or Embassy Suites. The mattress was very hard and the pillows small foam with a mix of two softer pillows.

The highlight of our overnight was Sunday brunch at the restaurant. Called Bin 595 the breakfast buffet was superior and when considering the price, $15.95, which includes coffee and fresh squeezed OJ, a downright bargain.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    165
    126
    30
    15
    12
See reviews for
79
101
26
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeville, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

we had reserved two rooms for the meeting we were in town to attend. the hotel was fully booked and so people were being asked to wait for their rooms to be serviced before getting their room keys. standing there with two young kids anxious to get into the pool and enjoy the Florida weather, the check in agent recognized the situation at hand and stepped away for a bit and came back with two room keys for adjoining rooms that we could enter immediately. Being responsive to special needs is huge in my book. .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenelizondo, Director of Sales at Renaissance Plantation Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We are extremely happy that your family was able to have a delightful experience with us! Each ambassador at the Renaissance-Plantation Hotel takes great pride in providing exceptional service that we deliver for all of our guests. We appreciate the great review and look forward to welcoming you back!

Delightfully
Kenneth Elizondo
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We have stayed here many times, and stayed again in February 2013 when in town for the Jimmy Buffet concert. It seems the level of service/friendliness has dropped at this property.

When I checked in, the clerk was efficient, but nothing more, and I did overhear another clerk let another guest know about restaurant hours, etc. The clerk checking me in did not let me know about any of the facilities at the property. I am Platinum Premier with Marriott Rewards, but was not offered my Platinum arrival gift. I reminded the clerk that I had requested additional feather pillows and she said she would have them sent to the room. I'm glad I said something at check-in as they were not in my room, but delivered about ten minutes after we got to our room. This property always gave us coupons for free breakfast on weekends when the concierge lounge was closed. I inquired and was told they no longer do that. I was given a pre-printed voucher, specifically for Marriott Rewards Members, to receive breakfast for the two of us at a discounted rate. Our stay was for two nights, but maybe she somehow knew we were leaving very early that last morning!

The morning after I checked in I stopped at the front desk to let them know I had not received my Platinum gift, and the clerk was very friendly and stated she wanted to make sure my number was on the reservation, which I knew it was. She promptly asked which gift I would like.

The concierge lounge at this property closes at 1100 on Friday and does not reopen until Sunday evening. Unlike many other properties, they actually lock the lounge. I was looking forward to a cold bottle of water when we arrived, but no such luck! It would be nice if they left the lounge unlocked, even if they didn't have the water and soft drinks available. There is a computer and printer in the lounge, and we needed to print something, but couldn't get in. There are two computers and printers, free of charge, just off the lobby. Fortunately there was no line to use them when my husband went down to print.

I was given a room on the concierge (ninth) floor. The room was quiet and decent-sized. There was a safe, mini-fridge, coffee maker (with amenities), and a bottle of water in the room. There were ample Aveda amenities in the bathroom. Room was clean and comfortable, and towels nice. I had free Wi-Fi due to my status. I had problems logging on - Instructions were to put in first and last name, as well as room number. I received several error messages, so I called down to let them know. I was given a code to use, which was valid for all devices the entire length of our stay. The next morning my husband had problems when he tried to use my name and the room number. I began to wonder if they somehow had my name misspelled! When I stopped at the desk in the morning, the clerk checked to make sure my name was spelled correctly and then told me that another guest was having the same problem. She thanked me for letting her know about the problem. There is free Wi-Fi in the lobby.

A big reason we stayed here is because of the pool. We were only in town for one day and wanted to get some sun without having to go to the beach. The pool gets sun for most of the day, so we grabbed a couple chairs and made a day of it. Would be nice if the hotel posted some "no smoking" signs. If I'm not mistaken, the pool area is supposed to be no smoking, like the rest of the hotel. There is a phone at the pool and you can order food and drinks for delivery. This is not a resort, so there are no pool servers/attendants wandering around waiting to take orders.

As others have stated, there aren't many restaurants around the hotel, but there are quite a few you can get to in a few minutes if you have a car. I believe there is a Starbucks in the hotel. The property is convenient to the Ft. Lauderdale airport - About a ten minute drive.

When we got to our floor, I could smell what seemed to be a "new carpet smell". I could smell it in our room also. I didn't notice it so much the next day as I guess I got used to it, but it was powerful that first night. The hotel has been recently updated, as evidenced in the common areas. During past stays there always seemed to be someone in the lobby to great you as you came and went, but I didn't see that this time around. We checked out around 0415 and had no problems. I had not received my bill under the door, and the clerk had no problems pulling up my statement. I'm sure we'll be back, I just miss some of the perks!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenelizondo, Director of Sales at Renaissance Plantation Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thanks much for sharing your experiences with us. We will consider your feedback and take a look at some of those items commented on. Please let us know in advance should you return and allow us to prepare for your arrival to ensure you have the most delightful stay. Again, thank you for your comments and look forward to seeing you again.

Delightfully
Kenneth Elizondo
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We are locals who had gotten a room for one night to celebrate a birthday. The hotel has a lot of high end decor in it's lobby and rooms, I found it to be pretty clean overall. No free Wifi and a couple of other things were a little off considering the rates. We went down to the front desk at night to ask for a taxi to the hard rock, and the concierge "navigator" warned us that the taxi's would charge $40 each way. If I wasn't from the area I probably wouldn't have known better, but I know it's only 8 miles away, and no milage rate was that ridiculous. He of course "Knew a guy" with a shuttle service that would charge less, and called for us. Twenty long minutes later, a plain white van pulled up and drove us to the hard rock. It was $20. We ended up taking a cab back to the hotel because the shuttle service decided theyweren't availible after 11. The cab was $20. It wasn't a huge deal, but it just left a bad taste in my mouth that this guy was trying to scam people to use a service that he probably gets a kickback from, and if I was a tourist I wouldn't have known any better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed one night at the Renaissance Plantation Fort Lauderdale and it is a beautiful hotels. The showers were newly renovated and comfortable and the room was large. The lobby is large and nicely done. The hotel is conveniently located near the highway and is a short drive from the largest outlet mall in the US and many restaurants.

The hotel has a Starbucks and a restaurant but breakfast is not included in the price. If you do not mind spending $10 (each) on a muffin and a coffee at Starbucks than that's fine but for the price pf $200 a night breakfast should ABSOLUTELY be included. Also should be included is an Internet connection. What's with those hotels (and airports) that charge you extra for this very basic service?

The hotel was quite and comfortable but we were lucky. In the room next to us was a couple and we could hear every conversation they had. Lucky for us they were quiet and went to sleep early. The walls are so thin that a average conversation can be easily heard. Not good if you have party people occupying the room next to you.

Room Tip: Try to get a corner room so your bed is not against an adjacent wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patchogue, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Beautiful Renaissance hotel, just 10 minutes to FLL. I had a brief stay New Year's Eve after returning from a cruise, in which I just needed a nice, modern hotel close to the airport.

I was upgraded to concierge based on my rewards status; thank you Renaissance! Hard to find anything wrong with this hotel other than the immediate surrounds are not very interesting (corporate DHL, etc.). Otherwise, I would return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I was booked here for a business trip. Accommodated with an eay check in after a red eye. Three different times I failed to receive a wake up call. Once missing a business dinner then again this AM. I asked person at front desk for a survey to fill out and was directed to post on Trip Advisor. Front desk folks could not have been nicer and apologized for "blips" as a new system was in the process of being installed. Very clean property. Room attended to with care. Food in concierge lounge was cold every AM. They are trying but.....

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance Plantation Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Plantation Fort Lauderdale

Address: 1230 South Pine Island Rd., Plantation, FL 33324
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Plantation
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Plantation
#2 Romantic Hotel in Plantation
#3 Family Hotel in Plantation
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Plantation Fort Lauderdale 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Renaissance Fort Lauderdale-Plantation boasts style and sophistication. Located adjacent to the Jacaranda Golf Club, this luxury hotel features unique amenities such as an outdoor resort-style pool,onsite restaurant Bin595 and more than 10,000 sq. ft. of beautifully-appointed event space. Modern guestrooms feature Renaissance PLUSH luxury bedding, microwave and mini-fridges and WiFI. This Ft. Lauderdale boutique hotel is just minutes from all South Florida has to offer including Sun Life Stadium, Sawgrass Mills Mall and the BB&T Center. As a member of the Florida Green Lodging program, Renaissance Plantation hotel has been awarded the prestigious Energy Star label for efforts in protecting our environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Renaissance Plantation Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Plantation Fort Lauderdale Hotel Plantation
Plantation Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Plantation Fort Lauderdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.