We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff is good, but the hotel itself is substandard and overpriced” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Fort Lauderdale / Plantation

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Place Fort Lauderdale / Plantation
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8530 West Broward Boulevard, Plantation, FL 33324   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Pre/Post Cruise Package
Ranked #5 of 14 hotels in Plantation
Nassau, New Providence Island
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“The staff is good, but the hotel itself is substandard and overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

While it is true that the staff is very helpful, the hotel is Spartan at best. The rooms only have views of the parking lot, and the property has only ONE handicap parking space. The amenities were minimal and were not even properly provided (no shampoo, no shower cap, no pad of paper with a pen for taking phone notes). The only real meal (other than pre-packaged sandwiches etc.) available was breakfast, and that was certainly nothing to write home about. It was heavy on carbs and low on protein. The cramped and bare breakfast room/bar is a joke, as is the tiny minimalist lobby. The tub in the room was so small that there wouldn't even be enough room to bathe a dog, much less an adult. There was very little drawer space, e.g. not even a drawer or open storage space in the nightstand. The shower head was separating from the wall, and the toilet had to be coaxed to stop its water from running continuously. The room's air conditioner/heater was very noisy especially when it was cycling on and off. There is NO WAY this Hyatt is worth $159/night, much less $179/night. There is not even a Cleveland Clinic rate, to visit which is why we go to FL twice a year. It's more like a $129/night hotel. In addition, the website and the automated phone "help" defaults to booking your stay at the airport Hyatt and NOT the Plantation Hyatt, even if you specify "Plantation!!!" Next time we're in the area, we'll be sure to stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: There is no good room, to my knowledge. All rooms only have a view of the parking lot, all have the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattPlace G, General Manager at Hyatt Place Fort Lauderdale / Plantation, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We apologize that you found the hotel less than satisfying.

I will be addressing your issues with the housekeeping staff as we do provide complimentary shampoo, conditioner, soap, pens, pads and had lotion. In addition, we do have a 24/7 menu available for purchase along with a full bar. All of the items on this menu are prepared fresh to order.

Again, we apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us overall.

Safe Travels!

Sean Pischeda
General Manager
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    90
    40
    20
    18
See reviews for
76
76
11
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I recently stayed at the Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale/Plantation while on a business trip. I came in late in the evening with colleagues and departed early the next morning, but I did get a chance to enjoy your incredible staff! My colleague and I had a couple of glasses of wine in the bar area before retiring for the evening. The staff on duty that evening was GREAT! They were entertaining, very relaxing, helpful with local eating/restaurants, etc. They acted like real people - very refreshing. The next morning was no different! Great service at breakfast, assisted with questions...just very good service.

Aside from the terrific staff, Hyatt Place is generally one of my favorite hotel chains. All of the rooms are remodeled, spacious, clean and this was no exception. I would definitely recommend this location or the chain itself.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattPlace G, General Manager at Hyatt Place Fort Lauderdale / Plantation, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay especially the "Awesome Staff".

We appreciate you recommeding the hotel to others as well. We will look forward to having you as our guest again in the future.

Safe Travels!

Sean Pischeda
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Entire staff was wonderful from beginning to end. Stayed for our anniversary and hubby's birthday. We will make sure we come to this hotel each time we are in town. Was near everything. 15-20 minutes away from Sawgrass Mills, Fort Lauderdale Beach, North Miami, restaurants are in walking distance. It was just amazing. You can tell everyone works as a team which is important. Room was awesome. Very spacious. Made you feel like you were in a mini condo. Housekeeping was great. The front desk went above and beyond. You'll love it. I promise. Free breakfast and WiFi too :)

Room Tip: request a top floor away from elevator. we love that :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattPlace G, General Manager at Hyatt Place Fort Lauderdale / Plantation, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the Hyatt Place Fort Lauderdale/Plantation. WE are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us especially the staff service.

I am so estatic to see that you think our hotel is the "Best Hotel in Plantaiton/Fort Lauderdale". We are looking forward to having you as our guest again in the future.

Safe Travels!

Sean Pischeda
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I am a huge reader of reviews and rarely leave one unless the situation warrants. I love the Hyatt place brand and especially my recent stay in Plantation Florida. I am highly allergic to down and neglected to inform the hotel upon arrival. The situation was quickly rectified mostly by an employee named Joey from the front desk who took it upon himself to make sure all was perfect. His attitude toward myself and my family was exemplary in every way. We were greeted with a smile from Joey and his coworkers every time we exited and entered the premises.
This brand continues to impress and will gladly seek out this hotel in every city I travel to.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattPlace G, General Manager at Hyatt Place Fort Lauderdale / Plantation, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I am so estatic to see that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us, especially the service Joey provided.

I will ensure that we recognize him for the service he provided to you and your family. We are looking forward to having you as our guest again upon your return to the Greater Fort Lauderdale Area.

Safe Travels!

Sean Pischeda
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at the property for 4 days on a business trip and can say with confidence I will return again. The staff is the best part of this property, as they are extremely helpful, courteous, professional and treat you like you are guests in their home. They even leave individually wrapped rice crispy treats by the entrance/exit during the day so you always have a little treat. It's little touches like this that made this property shine.

PROS: GREAT breakfast, nice business center amenities, shuttle bus (however, it smelled,) the most comfortable beds EVER, great room layout with fridge and HUGE seating area (and more), room amenities are perfect for business travel because of the roomy desk and great media inputs in the room, bar in lobby along with 24/7 menu to order food and snacks (food is good!)

CONS: The hotel smelled a little when I walked in, kinda damp and muggy but not too bad (it is South Florida I suppose,) the AC unit in the room was a little disruptive because of the noise it made, the commode/shower room of the bathroom (vanity is on outside) was TINY and had no fan so if someone did #2 there was NO escaping it. The toilet was so close to tub that the shower curtain was actually draped over you as you sat down to do your business.

Even with these cons, I will return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattPlace G, General Manager at Hyatt Place Fort Lauderdale / Plantation, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you took to post a review regarding your recent stay at the Hyatt Place Fort Lauderdale/Plantaiton. We are estatic to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Please know we are addressing the issue with the air conditioning units in the rooms. We have already replaced a majority of the units and will continue to do so throughout the year.

We are looking forward to having you as our guest again in the future.

Safe Travels!

Sean Pischeda
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel the night before flying home after a Key West vacation. I booked only a few days prior after cancelling a reservation at the filthy airport Hilton. So glad we did. Check-in was a breeze, staff was super friendly and helpful, parking was free, breakfast was included, and the room was spacious, updated, and comfortable. Mini fridge in the room kept our drinks cold. The huge flatscreen TV was a nice addition. The bed was comfortable. One drawback was the slightly outdated shower, although the water pressure was amazing. We drove to a nearby pub for dinner and got a good night’s sleep before making the quick drive to the airport in the morning. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattPlace G, General Manager at Hyatt Place Fort Lauderdale / Plantation, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the staff servcie, room and hotel amenities.

We are looking forward to having you as our guest again in the future.

Safe Travels!

Sean Pischeda
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Pros: The hotel has excellent curb appeal: it look excellent inside and out. Everything is brand new. Staff is very nice even though it took a long time to check in as the computer systems were down. Rooms are mostly beautiful(except for the bathroom/vanity) - EXACTLY like the photo. I was extremely pleased with the breakfast items: they has a bit of a premium feel to them.

Cons: Even though I have years of experience with hotel & motel AC units, it was literally IMPOSSIBLE to get a good setting on the AC unit. The unit would not let me manually adjust the fan setting to high, low or automatic. In the end, there were only two options: freezing cold or very humid and hot. Nothing in between.

The other con is that the are for having breakfast was very small. Way too small to ever get a seat if you were not there very early. If there is no way to put in more seats, they should provide trays to take up to rooms to have breakfast.

The bathroom/vanity is not as nice as the rest of the room - seems to be a cheaper buld.

Might or might not stay again - the AC was the biggest problem for the personally. Would depend on the price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattPlace G, General Manager at Hyatt Place Fort Lauderdale / Plantation, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the Hyatt Place Fort Lauderdale/Plantation. We are so pleased to know that overall you enjoyed your stay with us.

Please know that we are addressing the issues with the air conditioning units in the rooms. We have already replaced many of the units and will continue to do so each month.

We hope that if your travels bring you back to our area, you will be our guest again.

Safe Travels!

Sean Pischeda
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Fort Lauderdale / Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Fort Lauderdale / Plantation

Address: 8530 West Broward Boulevard, Plantation, FL 33324
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Plantation
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Plantation
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Fort Lauderdale / Plantation 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place Fort Lauderdale/Plantation is located just minutes from Sawgrass Outlet Mall, Las Olas Blvd., Downtown Fort Lauderdale, beaches, casinos, shopping and restaurants. The Hyatt Place has food service available 24-hours a day, 7 days a week. We offer a complimentary hot and cold breakfast featuring our Signature "Hot Skillet" Breakfast Sandwiches. The hotel features a 24-hour fitness center, outdoor heated pool, 24-hour business center, and complimentary parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hyatt Place Fort Lauderdale / Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Fort Lauderdale/Plantation Hotel Plantation
Hyatt Place Plantation
Hyatt Plantation
Plantation Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Fort Lauderdale / Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.