We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent BBQ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grandpa Johnson's Barbecue

Grandpa Johnson's Barbecue
1401 W Dr Martin Luther Kng Jr, Plant City, FL 33563-5027
(813) 759-0009
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 105 Restaurants in Plant City
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

My brother-in-law recommended this place for local BBQ and we were not disappointed. I had the ribs and brisket, both were excellent. I had the collard greens and sweet potato casserole as my sides, also very good. My son didn't care for the mac and cheese but he said his burger was awesome. There was a very large crowd for lunch but the service was excellent. Definitely recommend.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    20
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
medway
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Does what it says on the tin”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

A local BBQ establishment where the food was tasty and customer service was friendly. Do not expect gourmet cuisine

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plant City, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great Family Restaurant in Plant City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Grandpa Johnsons Barbecue is a family owned and operated restaurant in Plant City. We have eaten here many times and each time the food has been wonderful, the restaurant has been clean and the service has been impeccable. It is one of our favorites in Plant City and very popular with the locals. The food, as the name implies, is barbecue- but not just any old barbecue- theirs is slow roasted and cooked to perfection. Make sure that you try the Sweet Potato Casserole~ YUM~ more like a dessert. They serve everything from salads to sandwiches, of course barbecue chicken, pork, etc. Prices are very reasonable and you won't go away hungry, I promise! They also cater for those big family gatherings or special events.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Florida
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Long time customer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

We eat here often and have never been disappointed. I like the pork sandwich platter, my husband loves their smoked chicken wings. I always get the grits with tomato gravy and potato salad, my husband gets the collard greens and apple slaw. Their rolls are a yeasty warm treat. I also have gotten their stuffed baked potato a few times and it is really good too. Sweet little servers are always on hand to help you with your every need here. Like the family atmosphere...and love the food here.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Okay Local Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

The service was friendly. They were slow to bring food and it wasn't that busy and it was just lunch. The beef and pork were okay, the turkey not quite as good. The collard greens were perfect as was the killer sweet potatoe casserole. The apple jubilee was not so good. It was canned apples served with walnuts, very little breading, and ice cream. This was served in a tall mug--just strange.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grandpa Johnson's Barbecue also viewed

 

Been to Grandpa Johnson's Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grandpa Johnson's Barbecue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.